Is it Just Me or is Germany Falling Apart?

12 37

I don't even remember anymore how many nights I wasn't able to sleep, because hundreds of people are "partying" in the streets.

It must have been probably around 10 nights in a row. It's definitely taking a toll on me.

I do have to get up reasonably early due to work -- while those who keep me up are sleeping and recovering for the next "all nighter".

I talked to the police. They said many, many residents have already complained about the noise before my call. I called around 1:30 AM. The police said they can't do anything about it. They don't have enough personnel. Now it is 3:30 AM and I have to get up in 4 hours. The music and screams are even louder now than they were before. It sounds like my next-door neighbors are having a loud party -- but actually the noise comes from a distance of about 300 meters.

I live about 300 meters away from the university main building whose front yard the crowd has elected to be their night club. I cannot imagine how loud it must be for the people who live closer to that building. After all, the university main building is in the middle of the city. And many residents live close by.

The university main building is located at the end of a bike road. A bike road that the city was very proud to spend a lot of money on. Its goal is to promote using bicycles as a means of transportation in the city rather than a car. For days this bike road is barely visible under a layer of scattered broken glass from the nightly parties. I guess I should install a broom to the front of my bicycle if I want to use the bike road.

In Germany, the tuition is paid for by the taxpayers. The same taxpayers who cannot sleep at night while many of the students are partying.

Many of the students don't have to work. The taxpayer works in their stead. Not just to cover their tuition. And the bike road. And soon the daily sweeps of said bike road. The taxpayer also sponsors the living expenses of a good portion of the students. Therefore, many students can afford to party all night long. The taxpayers can't.

Am I being cynical? Maybe. How would you think and feel about all of this if you hadn't slept more than a few hours per night for 10 days in a row?

I feel like it's another reason to move... Preferably to another country.

Any suggestions?

7
$ 2.16
$ 1.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
$ 0.05 from @Glez
+ 1
Sponsors of MoreGainStrategies
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I cannot think of a better country to suggest. Even in Philippines it happens. But I like the idea how your tax are being used for education. What I can say is discipline starts at home so those parents of these kids could've check on them on late night to ask them to come home. Its weird that the Police cannot do anything as well. Here its part of the Law that beyond 6pm we should stop loud music especially its still Pandemic so if in case neighbors are partying within the family having karaoke its fine during morning at 8am to 6pm..beyond those times it should be silent. In respect to those working from home at night and those workers who need to travel early to work in the office too...

$ 0.05
2 years ago

These laws do make a lot of sense. I believe that in Germany there is a similar law, too. However, it seems that nowadays, many people don't care. And those who are bothered, can't do anything about it.

To be honest, I believe that the police is scared to do something about it... There must have been hundreds of people in that party.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm or maybe someone who has the power is behind it? Coz why the hell would they be afraid of going there look for the owner and ask to either put the music at a lower volume or just stop what theyre doing coz not everyone is like a vampire

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is possible that some powerful people are behind this.

My thinking is that the police will be ignored if they show up with only a few people. They could try to stop the party or tell everyone to be quiet, but people may not listen to them.

I have a feeling that many "young people" have a hostile attitude towards the police. They might start throwing beer bottles or stones at them. πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Moral decadence among youths is caused majorly by Laziness and no sense of responsibility. Had it been they work themselves to pay their fees or the watch how their parents work hard to pay, they won't spend every night partying.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You are absolutely right. πŸ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is more than a bummer and annoyance. Even more so that law enforcers cannot, or do not, do anything about it. Why can't someone with authority go to such parties and tell them about the ruckus they are causing? But yes, I agree that the pandemic has either made people empathetic, sympathetic or apathetic, which is probably most applicable in your case.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I agree with you. πŸ‘

I think that the police will be ignored if they show up with only a few officers. The police could try to stop the party or tell everyone to be quiet, but the party goers may not listen to them.

My gut feeling is that many "young people" in Germany have a hostile attitude towards the police. The party goers might start throwing beer bottles -- or even stones -- at the police officers. πŸ™ˆ

PS: Im not sure why the system does not allow me to post this comment. I have been changing it now for 10 minutes and It just won't allow me to post it. Maybe now it works as I wrote this unnecessary para eat the end...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm able to see the comment now... Wonder what is not appropriate in your previous ones...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The problem was that I copied this reply from a reply that I wrote to someone else. I changed a bit here and there, but the site didn't let me post it. πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May I ask if remember right based on your context...

if I remember correctly, unlike USA (with their student loans), πŸ‡©πŸ‡ͺGermany has total free tuition up to college right? πŸ€”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In Germany, public schools are completely free and public universities are almost free. The students pay a small fee for a train ticket, a swimming pool ticket and things like that. In total, it's less than $1,000 per year.

$ 0.00
2 years ago