Aurora Borealis

5 26
Avatar for Monskins
3 years ago



I have a confession to make. I am synesthetic, I can see colors through sounds. Auras. Now, what fascinates me the most in the nature is the so called Aurora Borealis also known as northern lights. It is the magnetic field that is interacting with the charged particles from the sun. It is centered on earth’s magnetic poles. It is visible in roughly circular region around them. So, sometimes the auroras are visible farther south than one might expect, while on other places it seems places farther north. 



The auroral zone runs along the northern coast of Alaska, Northern Canada, Iceland, Scandinavia, Siberia. Auroras are visible on the south of the zone, but is likely less visible to occur the farther away you go. On the Southern Hemisphere it is mostly over Antarctica. To see it, you must go Tasmania.



When protons and electrons stream out from solar surface and slam into earth’s magnetic field Auroras are created. They move in Spirals along magnetic field lines, protons in one direction and electrons on the other. These particles hit the atmosphere. Air is made up of oxygen and nitrogen mostly. Oxygen at specific wavelength, it emits green, or red light. Nitrogen emits orange or red. The colors are so enthralling and utterly beautiful.

12
$ 0.12
$ 0.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Monskins
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Monskins
3 years ago

Comments

That sounds interesting though! To see aurora borealis through my naked eyes has been on my bucket list ever since.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow,they are so beautiful. I want to see them sometime.please subscribe back.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love the aurora boreal, really i have all my life waiting for saw this fenomenous with my eyes. thanks for the content.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me too. I have not seen it yet in person. I hope to see it when I travel someday where it is located and seen clearly by my eyes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They are a very fascinating natural phenomenon. I think the best chance to see them is to travel to Norway or Finland

$ 0.00
3 years ago