In Between Lines

1 12
Avatar for MjAcato
3 years ago
Topics: Story, English, 2020

Story

I stared at the letters tattooed into my right forearm. I had no memory how I had got it or why I was in a hospital gown or why I was floating at the edge of a muddy, river bank. I had absolutely no memory of who I was.

My dark, half opened eyes fell on the rays of the rising sun which was being reflecting from a piece of mirror kept there. My mind was completely blank and I felt to have got born in a new world.

Half an hour passed and then my ears heard a very fearful voice of a couple who wear in search of their son.

"How can God curse my child? It's too much. Even I don't know where's my girl, how's my girl." The mother mumbled.

Father interrupted in the middle-"Don't think too much. Everything's fine. I'm here to consult with a nurse. Stay Calm."

They consulted the Hospital Manager but did not get any appropriate clue. After a while, a nurse came and directed them into my room.

They ran towards me wailing heavily. I was really surprised to know that they were mine.

"Who asked you to fall in these things? Have you forgotten that you are still a kid?" shrieked my Mom with her weepy eyes.

I did not even shake my mouth. "What we're you dreaming at the edge of that river bank, Aadya? " A small memory strikes my mind but wasn't able to figure it out. My legs were deeply injured and my left eye was swollen a bit. My ankle was also swollen, a major sprain.

I was unable to move my legs freely. I simply looked both of their faces but didn't replied back anything. I was back to home after spending three hours lying unconscious in the hospital.

They lost bundles of money and I was with "lost memory. "

"No work, no study. Just lie down and be moody." My sort of thinking be like. I was at cloud nine.

"Wait a minute. But I don't wanna be a fatso just lying down in the bed! "I muttered looking at the mirror. But at the same time-"To gain something, need to loose something."

The sun was going to set.

"Are you fine now! No need to be scared. Just relax."My mother interrupted entering my room.

I simply nodded my head. She patted my shoulders, a tight hug and left the room. I slept. But my father became restless day by day.

He wanted to work on this mysterical incident. He felt as if a sword was hanging on her daughter's head. That's how he started his mission of investigation.

To be continued...


"The important thing is not to stop questioning. Curiosity has its own reason for existence. One cannot help but be in awe when he contemplates the mysteries of eternity, of life, of the marvelous structure of reality. It is enough if one tries merely to comprehend a little of this mystery each day."

—"Old Man's Advice to Youth: 'Never Lose a Holy Curiosity.'" LIFE Magazine (2 May 1955) p. 64

"There is always a pleasure in unravelling a mystery, in catching at the gossamer clue which will guide to certainty."

—ELIZABETH GASKELL, Mary Barton


And that's it! I hope you enjoyed the first part of this story. I hope you were hooked by it also. If you have something to tell, kindly write it in the comment section below. If you want to read more, you may consider subscribing to my profile to get updates for the upcoming posts.

2
$ 0.51
$ 0.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for MjAcato
3 years ago
Topics: Story, English, 2020

Comments

Kinda got confused at the end of whos the protagonist. is it still the person narrating or her father?
Anyway, good work would wait for the next chapter :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago