Teaching kids to save while they are young

8 32
Avatar for MizLhaine
3 years ago

Do your kids have piggy banks?or should we say, do you have piggy banks? Do you still believe in the value of savings for the future?

When I was still young, we have a ceramic coin bank and understand that it is used for saving. I started to put some coins on it but there was a time that we don’t have something for snacks/food, since its ceramic I open it with a knife. And I became afraid, because it cannot be turned back anymore, its already broken. My mother scolded me and from that time on, I can’t anymore recall if we have used again coin banks for savings.

As we all know, piggy banks are usually used for savings especially for kids. It is a practice from the past that is still present until now.  Most of the time, we load it with loose coins and rarely with bills. I have seen some success stories in social media about how piggy banks helped them in time of lockdown, also in saving for something they want to buy. I am inspired and amazed how they do it. Some of them save a specific amount a day, some put extras at the same time. But whatever technique they are using, the important thing is their motivation of saving a penny.

I want to share with you our experiences in teaching our kids to save even at their young age.

Meet Yela, Bluie and Pinky

It was last January that we bought them Piggy Banks because my 3 kids started to receive money from their grandparents, uncle, aunt or even from us. The 2 kids said they want to buy a bike but we told them we don’t have enough money for the bike they want to buy. So, we told them that they should save for it through Piggy banks. So everyday, they expect that they will have coins for the piggy bank, sometimes they are given by their aunt, grandparents and us. We also give them rewards for chores being done, for behaving properly for a day and also for school achievements. I always see them happily putting coins in their piggy banks and look forward that it became heavier each day. They even gave names for their piggy banks, Bluie, Pinky and Yela. With this practice, they will learn to have accountability at the same time the feeling of fulfillment because they earn some of their savings through rewards.

We set time that they will open their piggies on December with the following allocations: 10% for church giving (the tithe), 20% for the savings and 70% for needs and wants. If the money they have will not suffice for the bike then that’s the time that we will add up an amount. The 20% savings will be deposited to their bank accounts. I open a Junior Savings accounts for my kids both for BDO and to a cooperative. I also saved for them, every month, I tried to deposit in their accounts from 100-200 pesos every time I have extra and it makes me happy that at the end of the year, the small amounts deposited every month will now be accumulated.

So why are we teaching our kids to save? For them to know the value of saving and that it could be used for emergency and future needs and even buying what they want. We have savings because of the following:

1.       For future use. Our kids will be growing and their need will also be increasing. These savings could be used for their schooling and other future needs.

2.       For emergency cases. Life in this world is uncertain, we didn’t know what might happen next. So if there are emergency cases, savings can help. In a seminar I once attended, the emergency fund should be 3-6 months of your salary per month and at the moment, we are not yet there.

So what now?

I commit that a portion of my BCH income for both noise.cash and read.cash will be added to savings of my kids. I know it is not that big but when it is accumulated it could be a help for them in the future.

As I continue to write for this platform, I hope I can improve and at the same time inspire others with our experiences .

So let me know about your thoughts, practices in savings. I would love to connect with you.

@MizLhaine

4
$ 1.15
$ 1.00 from @ErdoganTalk
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.05 from @kingofreview
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
3 years ago

Comments

Children can not understand money before they are about 7

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's interesting! the reason why my 6 and 4 year old just put coinsanywhere, before we have the coin bank. Thanks for the upvote!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What a great way of teaching the kids the importance of savings. I can see that you are such a good parent teaching your kids the right way. I also love the allocation! You didn't forget to bring back the tithes for the Lord. :)

Earning from here and noise.cash could be a great help for the savings of your kids too. Just like what you have said, when it all adds up, it can be a huge sum too.

Your kids surely have a bright future ahead of then not only because you are a great parent but because at such a young age you are teaching them things that can really be helpful for them in the future.

May the Lord continue to bless you and your whole family po. Always and in all ways. :) *This is such a nice article to read. I'll make sure to be looking forward for more. :)

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you very much for the kinds words. It is a blessing to have kids and it is always my prayer, our prayer that the Lord will guide us how to raise them. It is really important to raise our kids and teach them while young so that they will apply it n the future. Thanks for dropping by, you inspired me more to write.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed, raising your kids with God's guidance is the best way. And aww, i'm glad I was able to inspired you. See you around! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

See you around, to more articles to read and write.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My mother was always giving us 100 pesos per week but she didn't give 100 pesos per week and I'm now the one who will give her 100 pesos because of my earnings here on noise.cash and read.cash.

We set time that they will open their piggies on December with the following allocations: 10% for church giving (the tithe), 20% for the savings and 70% for needs and wants.

I think you must hold your BCH ate as your savings and when we will expound the term savings, I think they should invest at BCH and it's better to invest now before it's too late. I mean they said that BCH could reach $30,000 by this year and I think you should invest before it's too late. I'm not a financial advisor and I don't have a fixed salary but I think you should hold and buy po your bch

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, that's good to give back to your mom. Thanks for the tips on holding the BCH, actually I am not so familiar with it pa, but I am reading the #1BCH and also intend to read some ways to invest. Salamat ulit.

$ 0.00
3 years ago