Life of fisherfolks

7 34
Avatar for MizLhaine
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Reality, Money, Thoughts, Motivation, ...

Early in the morning, I saw them prepare their motorboats ready to go to the sea to catch fish. 3-4 hours later, I saw them return with a news of success of catching fishes or not having any catch at all. The neighborhood would know the news and if it's a good catch, everyone have a share. They would then go to fish buyers to sell their catch and go back home with a bag of basic needs such as rice, condiments, noodles and other essentials.

For how many times of spending time in the place of my parents-in-law I observed and interacted with some of the fisherfolks, their wives and even their kids. I saw the simplicity in their lives, yet they are happy and are very generous to the people around. They said its their practice to really share their catch whenever possible. And for me that attitude is very commendable.

When they have a good catch, oftentimes they would sell it all and leave nothing for there consumption because according to them, they need the cash to buy for other necessities and for their supplies for another sea trip. Their wives would find ways to have viand for their meal. Even the kids are helping by getting seashells and also getting small fishes through small nets near the seashore.

Since catching fish is what they do for a living, every time they don't have a catch would sometimes mean no budget for basic needs and this may lead them to have debt in stores so that they could have their needs for that day. They also settle to financiers, who finance their fishing needs and in return, the financier will be the one to buy their catch and get a portion for the financing. With these, fisherfolks could not have a seller power for the price of fish that they catch. The financier's price will be followed. Because of their debts they cannot go away with the financiers and supposedly sell their fishes for a bit higher price.

Whenever, we go to their place we look forward to buy some fishes too, it's a way of helping them, sometimes we could buy but sometimes we cannot because they are really obliged to prioritize the financiers for their catch. So, my husband thought of project that could provide another means of catching fish to his fisherfolk friends. They then decided to have the Bubo/Fish Trap project which they work together hand in hand, we buy the materials needed, they facilitated the making of the fish traps and they were also in-charge in placing them over the ocean as well as the harvesting part. They decided to have an equal share to whatever they can get from their catch. They harvested twice already and we are so happy that the Fish Traps have a catch and we can have fresh fishes at the same time helping fisherfolks to have another means of having income or food.

Actual catch from the Bubo/fishtrap

Fresh catch from the fishtraps

By this experience, I can really say that happiness is a choice, these fisherfolks are happy in their simple living. They are happy that through their labor they can provide the needs of their family in terms of shelter, food and clothes. There may be "bad days" in fishing but they say that they can never be hungry as long as the sea is there and they have the ability to work. Also, the happiness in sharing - some may ask say, these people don't have a lot but why are they still sharing it, yet they say, they are happy that they can share. With that, we are also committed to share small pasalubong(bread or other foods) to them whenever we go there for a visit.

I am really grateful to the Almighty One for the real life experiences I have that gave me realizations and life lessons that helped me in my day to day living. How about you? Are you also happy of simple joys in life? I would really love to hear and read your thoughts.


Word of Thanks

Thanks to all the upvotes that you have given me in the last article I published I am overwhelmed and happy about it. I am glad also to say that I have my 2nd sponsor @immaryandmerry, they are now two with @CryptoMax . I am excited for more sponsorships this April(I am claiming it!). For those newbies, don't be discouraged, just enjoy writing and focus to long term return of writing!

Links

If you have a passion in writing you are very much welcome in read.cash

👉https://read.cash/r/MizLhaine

And if you want shorter messages, see you in Noise

👉https://noise.cash/u/MizLhaine

If you want to see journal and planner contents in YouTube here's my channel link.

👉https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCu2M8zyZYYwY3Bzkmwro1Tg

Thanks and see you around.

6
$ 0.79
$ 0.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
+ 1
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Reality, Money, Thoughts, Motivation, ...

Comments

That was a nice initiative you did there! (the fish trap)

I always love seeing people na "payak" lang ang pamumuhay. They do not need luxury. They are living a simple life and they are already contented about it. And that's just so nice. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree, I am thinking of sharing my future BCH income to those fisherfolks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's nice! Soon! :))

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ang fresh ng mga isda 😍🤤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes super! Good for 1 week consumption na sya. Di na kami bumili ng isda for the week.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ganda ng place near the sea. Masarap talaga pag fresh Seafoods. Congrats for your Sponsorship. I will not sponsor but I'm here to upvote. 😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, super ganda talaga ng dagat, I am happy na pareho tayo near sa dagat, nakakarelate ka dito, Salamat sa upvotes! Alam na alam ko the you are my number 1 supporter since day 1. lab lab.

$ 0.00
3 years ago