A day in a life of a busy faculty

11 32
Avatar for MizLhaine
1 year ago

I usually see this in in YouTube Channels, documenting their lives for a day and I thought of sharing to you, a day in a life of a busy faculty.

For those who have known me here, I have introduced myself as an IT faculty. I have been working for more than 10 years in the academe.

Before the pandemic, we usually have face-to-face classes and we have met various students in different classes. I actually missed their noises in the classrooms. Now, classrooms are empty. We are confined in the office only.

I have an administrative designation that makes the load more heavier for me.

Now, graduation is coming and our days are more of finalizing the grades of our graduating students.

July 7, 2022 (Friday)

I wake up early, prepared food for our breakfast and ate with my kids before going to school.

When I arrived in the office, I saw a pile of hardbound Capstone Projects of our students. Some were for submission, some were for signing and some were for checking.

I saw in my desk some of the documents of my colleagues for signing.

I saw some internship narrative reports for checking.

I opened my computer and opened the Canvas LMS for checking the student outputs.

Image from Pixabay

I already had a handful for the morning, but I thought of doing it right away for things to be done. In situations like this, I do prioritization. I picked those things that needs immediate attention. What do you think would be my first move? If you answered signing of colleagues documents, you are right! Those documents needs signing and I should prioritize it for it to move to the next office.

After signing the documents, I checked student outputs in Canvas LMS because those were for completion. After finalizing the grades, I filled up a form and make it ready for submission to the registrar.

Next in line were the Capstone projects, I signed those that needs signing and endorse it to the next signatory, checked those that needs checking. I also filled up completion forms for the grades in Capstone.

At around 11:00AM I have finished some completion forms so I headed to the Registrar for submission of those. I wrote the student names in the completion book and then allow them to verify the grades.

I then went back to the office and submit documents needed for our possible promotion.

Past 12:00 noon, I took my lunch with my office mates who were also equally busy for submission of grades, checking outputs and other matters. We enjoyed the lunch together, amidst our busy schedule we decided to eat and pause for a while.

Time flies so fast, no more time for siesta! I dig in to the internship submissions and make their grades. After finalizing the grade, I filled up again the completion form. There were some interruptions like students looking for me for checking their actual outputs, students asking on what to do, students messaging me in Facebook on some concerns.

I finished the grades along with my colleague at almost 6:00PM. We hope that the Registrar's office was still open and yes, it really was, we then fill up again the book of completions and let the personnel verify for the grades.

At 7:00Pm, we were done! Though not totally because there are still few students not submitting their work.

This was the time we headed home. It was already late.

Closing thoughts

This is a glimpse of our busy life as a faculty during submission of grades, near graduation. Though there are lots of tasks but you will be surprised that at the end of the day you see yourself finishing things up. You just need to do it and have the determination to finish things the right way.

7-10-2022

~MizLhaine

6
$ 0.75
$ 0.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
$ 0.02 from @DennMarc
+ 3
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
1 year ago

Comments

i realized that teaching is not really for me especially that I don't like checking papers and projects.. salute to you..haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ate comsci student po ako, baka naman. Hahaha. Paturo po mag programming. Huhu.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Anong year ka na? San na school? Programming is one of my fave subjects, san ka ba nahihirapan?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

3rd year po. Uhm. Cavite SU. Maraming parts ako nahihirapan ate eh. Hahaha. Web dev lang kasi talaga forte ko. Tas nung nag game development kami, awit. Dehado na ko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What a busy day ,wag din kalimutang mag relax din. Have a blessed day.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes super busy talaga, after these graduation na naman. Pero yon nga dapat relax pa din para maalagaan pa din ang self.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At the end of the day, you are so productive.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yon nga din ang ipinagpasalamat ko kasi nga natapos talaga ang mga kailangang gawin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was indeed a busy day for your sis. Productive day.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It was a busy, productive day. When I went hope, I have no energy.hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naubos ang energy mo sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago