Music Blog #2

0 18
Avatar for Misenum
3 years ago
Topics: Music

It's been a busy year for me and it has definitely reflected in my listening habits. This year has definitely had a good handful of albums I liked, although I've consumed less and less music as this long year has dragged on. A few albums I enjoyed this year

The New Few

The ever-changing band now calling themselves Osees has released two albums this year that have found their way to my eardrums. The first is called Protean Threat which is an interesting mishmash of short and medium-length tracks with a loud psychedelic/punk sound. Overall it is pleasant enough although outside of a few tracks it's a bit repetitive and samey. I'd recommend the song Toadstool as one of the best tracks from the album. Overall, I'd rate it a 6/10.

The second album to come from Osees this year is called Metamorphosed. This is the more interesting of the two in my opinion. The first side is a few short psychedelic-punk tracks that are energetic and lively enough and don't overstay their welcome. This is followed by the best track on the album in my opinion, called The Virologist, which is a fourteen-minute homage to Krautrock with a bit of modern flair thrown in for good measure. This is followed by the twenty-three-minute track I Got A Lot which also follows the Krautrock style. Although it is a bit too repetitive and doesn't quite reach the psychedelic heights Krautrock is known for. Overall, I'd give this album a 7.5/10.

Another obvious one is King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard's new album K.G. If you're a fan definitely check it out if you haven't already. I won't cover too much as I'm sure people have elsewhere. Overall a solid album that isn't revolutionary by the standards of KGLW. 8/10

Comment on your favorite albums that have come out this year below. Also recommendations for albums you think I should listen to or review would be appreciated.

0
$ 0.00
Avatar for Misenum
3 years ago
Topics: Music

Comments