Music Blog #1

0 28
Avatar for Misenum
3 years ago

This has been a fairly interesting week in terms of new releases. On the 24th, King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard dropped their latest live album, Chunky Shrapnel, and I must say that I love it. It has a great start with a live rendition of one of my favorite songs by them, The River that is followed by Wah Wah. It has a few short interludes that are interesting, alongside their fantastic live tracks. The production quality is up there as well. If you're a fan of King Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard I'd highly recommend this album. It's currently on Spotify and other streaming services alongside an accompanying documentary about their 2019 tour of Europe.

Another album was released on the 24th that impressed me was Double Sun by a band called Kanaan. They're a band out of Norway and have released some great instrumental psychedelic albums. Double Sun is their second album to be released this year and I would recommend them to anyone who is into space rock or psychedelic soundscapes.

Alongside these newer albums, I'd like to mention an older album I've stumbled across recently that I can't stop listening to. Mainstream by Quiet Sun. Its a mostly instrumental progressive rock album that was released in 1975. Phil Manzanera from Roxy Music plays guitar on this album and it really does shine. It's a fantastic jazz-rock/canterbury album that's full of distorted guitars and frenetic drumming. The first track, Sol Caliente, is incredible and the album is worth a listen if what I've said so far sounds enticing. I would say it's been my favorite album this past month or so.

That's what I've been listening to this week. Any recommendations or suggestions? What have you been listening to while stuck at home? Comment below.

3
$ 0.00

Comments