Personal goal set ideas

0 11
Avatar for Mimakter
3 years ago

I had a revelation a few years ago.

I was in my bedroom, on the top floor of my parents’ old house in London, lying on the couch.

The atmosphere was a little grey.

My eyes were open, staring unblinkingly through the window at nothing in particular.

Presumably, the sheer banality of the moment forced an uncomfortable thought:

“There has to be more than this.”

Am I making the most of my time? What’s my aim in life? Am I spending my days in ways that inspire me, motivate me, and bring me joy? Am I living my best life?  

The answer was a resounding ‘no’.

Since then, I’ve tried to make my life fuller, more adventurous, and altogether my own.

Are you in a similar pursuit? If so, then goal-setting is sure to help. After all, you have to know what you want in order to get it! Having a clearly laid-out list of goals in life has been a big part of my own pursuit of creating a fuller life for myself.

Anyone reading this may be looking for some life-goal inspiration of their own.

If that’s you, then keep reading for the coming list of 100 life goals. I hope they provide some ideas for anyone looking to cultivate an incredible life.

Personal goal ideas can be a powerful means of finding your aim in life.

THE VALUE OF PERSONAL GOAL IDEAS: FINDING AN AIM IN LIFE

Everyone always talks about the importance of having goals.

But why? What makes them so valuable?

For me, goals are a fundamental part of achieving a sense of direction.

With direction comes purpose. And with purpose, everything in life feels easier.

Goals create a sense of trajectory. Setting one is the first step to making something happen. For a firework to explode upwards into the sky, someone must point it there first.

If you’re looking for your aim in life, then establishing goals can help you find it. A particular goal you settle on may even become your life’s aim.

That’s the purpose of a good goal. It’s a target. A honing beacon. A compass bearing. Something to work towards.

Any challenges down the road are more easily navigated with the guiding hand of a goal. You know what you’re moving towards. Goals become your north star.

For me, a life without goals feels passive. You’re treading water instead of moving incisively through it. Sure, there’s always a need for stillness and centeredness too.

But I find progress to be a recipe for positivity. By putting words to a desire you become empowered to make it happen.

Of course, any goal is only the start of the journey. But, like buying a plane ticket, it’s a vital first step to getting to your destination.

AREAS OF LIFE TO SET GOALS

I don’t think there’s any one correct area of life to set goals.

It comes down to your priorities, interests, hobbies, personality, past experiences and so on. All of these are obviously individual to each of us. Goals follow suit.

That said, for whatever reason, I naturally started grouping these goals into certain areas as I went. I quickly realised how big the number 100 is! The goals seemed to veer automatically into particular areas of life.

I decided to run with it! As a result (and to give a bit more structure to this post), I’ve split the list to come into the following areas of life to set goals:

  1. Education

  2. Health and Fitness

  3. Personal Growth

  4. Personal Wellness

  5. Creativity

  6. Family and Relationships

  7. New Experiences

  8. Work and Finance

  9. Travel

Feeling stuck in life? Wondering what you’re doing with it?

1
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Mimakter
3 years ago

Comments