First day in special school

2 40
Avatar for Midelight
2 years ago
Topics: Story

Seeing life around me, its full of different people with different challenges of life among which many have seen the Handicap people as no value added one, what can someone with no eyes offered himself talk less of the society where he belong. A female being with one hand is limited in life, these people especially those sitting on wheel chair beg around for money, yes that is the only thing they can do or who will employ somebody that is totally dependent on another person as a worker. What can they do?

One will always find these people in a secluded place especially in the market begging for alms or in from of worship centres like mosques and churches where they can be noticed by people going to worship. Some of them can be irritating due to the degree of their disability.

I know a boy in my community then that always go house to house begging for food, he is mentally retarded and physically handicap that he couldn't cope with learning and having difficulty in talking.

Little children in the street always make jest of him and they see him as a funny creature, most of the times they will always frustrate him till he cries.

Stigmatization everywhere.

I finished secondary school, sat for JAMB with the aim of gaining admission to the university and nothing less as we all do, I did the exam and I passed but unfortunately I wasn't given admission to study my proposed course in my desired institution. I felt bad within my self and make up my mind to wait til the following year. In the course of my waiting a sister of mine introduced me to a college of education in my home town where I will be awarded a lesser certificate with what I aspired for, Though I have been hearing about the school but have never been there before. She talked with my mum and she agreed that I should go and put in since it is just three years, I put in for admission and I was admitted.

That faithful day I went to submit my credentials for the admission, when I got to the school entrance, I read through the name of the school again ( Federal College of Education (Special), the first of it kind in the sub-sahara. The special in bracket caught my attention and I began to ruminate within me what the special could mean, like what can be special in this school of low qualifications, "If the famous schools that I know did not add special to their own name" so why this kind of a school.

I entered into the school and ask for their admission office where I will submit my details for admission.

On getting there, I met with some aspirants too, some came to check their name on the admission list, some for payment and the likes. We all understand how we felt on the first time processing admission ( jambito), so i entered the appropriate room to fulfill my mission and go back home.While I was still with the personnel attending to us, A guy came in as if he was called and started demonstrating with his hands (can't he talk, I asked within me) and the man attending to me begins to do same. I got carried away, Immediately the man collected the file he was holding and started sorting them out, I moved a little bit backward as if I was directed to do so.

They finished what they want to do, and as the guy was going, I keep on looking at him like I should call him and meet him personally. The man called my attention by saying are you not doing the submission again and I return to him and not long I finished what I am in for.

As I was going back home, the scene begins to play in my head as if I was watching movie.Could this boy also be an aspirant was the thought that filled my heart, how will he cope, has he ever been in school before like all of us, or could it be that he is the special the school name carried.

Pen down here

Hoping to drop more

Thanks for reading

Am a special Educator 😍

We teach the special people and not the DISABLED

ABILITY IN DISABILITY

3
$ 0.07
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.02 from @Bounty19
Avatar for Midelight
2 years ago
Topics: Story

Comments

It made me remember a man mum used to tell us about, he's blind and he was aher coursemate when she was doing her second degree. He use tape recorder and typewriter in class. And he is blind

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes they are able Mum never lies

$ 0.00
2 years ago