Why Should You Always Write under a Pseudonym?

20 2158
Avatar for Mictorrani
4 years ago (Last updated: 3 years ago)

As an experienced writer, I am sometimes asked why I use various pseudonyms, and not my "real" name. Supposedly that is quite clear for those of you who already know me from what I write; it is a part of my ideological framework. But for the sake of clarity, and for those who do not know me from before, I will spend some words on this subject.

I strongly oppose the notion of a name as "real" or "not real". The only name that can be in some sense "unreal" or "false", is one used with the intention of impersonating another existing person, a sort of identity theft. I certainly do my best to avoid being confused with namesakes or almost namesakes.

I also dislike the word "pseudonym"; "pseudo-" is a prefix implying something not being genuine, and there is nothing false or dishonest with a name just because it has not been recognised by a state, or is known to it. It is still a name, as genuine as anything written in a birth certificate or a passport. You are still you, and I am still I, no matter what names we assign to ourselves. The state is not a God with supreme right to define reality.

"Nome de plume" or "pen name" is a more fitting, less derogatory term. But it still marks a difference from something implicitly understood as more genuine.

I once suggested we simply call it "nym", name. The name in a passport, or other document of state, could be called "civil name". However, although with reservations, I bow to general usage; let's call it a pseudonym so people understand to what we refer.

For any publicly visible activity, it is wise to use a pseudonym. That is a matter of general privacy, of course, but in some cases it can also be a matter of life and death. Many writers have been persecuted for what they write, and some have been killed.

People can be indirectly affected too. I know well a poor young girl who was poisoned, because another person could not come and fetch her from a situation that grew dangerous. She got a serious brain damage and will never again get well. The man who would have fetched her could not come in time. He was refused a visa for something he had written years before, something that happened to be politically sensitive just there and then.

One single time in his life something had by mistake been published under a nym that could be traced to his civil name.

That man was I. Parts of the girl's mental abilities were lost as a consequence.

Since then I am more convinced than ever that writing should always be under a pseudonym, and its connection to one's civil identity should be concealed from public view.

Something that is innocuous today, can next month, year, or decade be deadly; or even pose a danger for one's descendants a century from now.

Of course that will not happen in most cases, but trying to predict what will be sensitive in the future, is as impossible as foreseeing the weather on a specific day twenty years from now. The irrationality of the human mind is boundless.

And, in the end, using a pseudonym costs no money or energy, takes no extra time, is not difficult; and the general privacy advantages are immediate. For me there is no disadvantage, no sacrifice. The choice is easy.

(This article is based on material previously published in Meriondho Leo.)

Copyright © 2020 Meleonymica/Mictorrani. All Rights Reserved.

Here you find all my writings about Privacy.

You find all my articles on Read.Cash, sorted by topic, here.

24
$ 6.11
$ 5.00 from @Read.Cash
$ 0.01 from @AA-Admiral
Sponsors of Mictorrani
empty
empty
Avatar for Mictorrani
4 years ago (Last updated: 3 years ago)

Comments

It feels like i should have created a pseudonym for myself even in the times that i actually called myself an artist... reading this made me suddenly scared for all the art I've sold before and text I've written. Though none of them touched delicate topics but then you emphasized on privacy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are so good writer.This articale is also so good.Keep writting.You are unique writter and this articale is also unique.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks. You are welcome to read more of my articles.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Also there are certain legal issues if your employer sees your work outside and if there is a different point of view. Always better to use a pseudonym.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, there are many aspects of this and a using a pseudonym is almost always the best alternative.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A good article. Too bad I didn't read your article earlier, then I would have thought of a unique name for my accounts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Totally agree. Always publish under a "nym" :) We also prefer to keep ourselves anonymous for quite the same reasons. We don't want to be associated with our work in the real life, because many people see anything related to cryptocurrencies as scam and everyone related as scammers.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Obviously, we are kindred spirits in that respect.

Thanks for the donation. It was nice to see my first article here cause some response. The whole thing of publishing here is an interesting experiment, but I really didn't expect anything. It is better to enter with no expectations.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Well, the site is pretty small, so I think your expectations are pretty correct :)

$ 0.00
4 years ago

What is small can grow.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

This article gave me a new perspective on using those name terms. I definitely agree on the point of this article. Also what you said about the irrationality of human mind is definitely true. We can observe that in our society nowadays.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. You are a very perceptive reader and think of what you read. I wish all readers were like that!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. I'll take that as a compliment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is a compliment :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Using pseudonyms doesn't mean we are not proud of ourselves or we are afraid to expose ourselves in case of some words we used that might hurt someone's feelings.... I like your article. Good job

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for this articles

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is very informative. Thank you for sharing this article. I never knew the reason why there are writers using pseudonyms until in read your article. I am a fan. Please publish more articles about being a writer because I want to learn more. I am not a writer myself. I am here so i can earn while expressing myself through an article. Looking forward to read more articles from you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Had you never considered that writers and other artists could use a pseudonym for the purpose of privacy? Well, some use it for privacy, some use it for other reasons.

$ 0.00
3 years ago