Why I Don't Like Batman Movies: About the Correlation Between Characters & Their Environment

10 558
Avatar for Mictorrani
2 years ago
Topics: Film, Movies, Comics, Batman, Literature, ...

Some time ago, I watched a Batman film. I am not a great fan of that sort of films, and – in spite of my interest in bats - not of Batman. In my opinion, the film was terribly bad. Afterwards, I thought more about the reason why. I have been into all sorts of writing and visual art, and I have considerable experience of all stages of film-making as well. I dare say that I know how to tell a good story – and quite frankly, the Batman stories are not all that bad. So why was the Batman film, all Batman films, so bad?

In my childhood, there were Batman comic books. They were at least readable. The stories were typical superhero stories of the time, quite average, but I remember that the graphics fascinated me. There were also small collectible cards with Batman scenes distributed as premiums in chewing gum packages. During a time, those Batman cards fascinated me immensely. They were colourful, often with a dramatic composition. Today, I would deem them as rather primitive, but I was 4-5 years old at the time, and those cards were “Batman” to me; they shaped my view of this character more than the comics and their stories. To me, Batman became, visual art, not literature. And that's where it stopped. Batman, especially the cards, might have influenced my graphical development at an early stage, but otherwise he left me quite indifferent.

Yet, the story of Batman is a modern myth of a sort that is quite well suited for comic books, with its unique combination of text and pictures. It doesn't really work in any other medium, and it definitely doesn't work well as a film.

In order for a story to be credible - and it must credible to an extent to be a good story - the characters must be credible in their specific environment. It doesn't mean that a story must be realistic, just that there must be a correlation between characters and environment that, however imaginative, makes the story credible just there, in that imagined “reality”. “The Lord of the Rings”, for instance, is by all standards unrealistic and fanciful. But it is a masterpiece, and here I refer to Tolkien's literary original as well as to Peter Jackson's film trilogy. The story is perfectly credible in that specific environment.

For Batman that works fairly well as a comic, but comics have a high tolerance to such imbalance. When making a film with real actors (not an animated film), however, this factor becomes crucial. Peter Jackson managed it perfectly in “The Lord of the Rings”, but for Batman it became a catastrophe. Everything seems just ridiculous. Indeed, a fancifully dressed or masked superhero in a (relatively) contemporary, American city has no credibility at all. That's why, in my opinion, Batman, Superman, and Spider-man are all artistic failures as films. The characters are not compatible with their respective environments.

Graphically, however, Batman is the most interesting of these, due to the bat symbolism. It is very suggestive. But why has Batman, or his civil ego, Bruce Wayne, chosen the bat as his symbol? It is not entirely clear. Several explanations have been indicated.

In the movie, Batman Begins, Bruce claims to choose the symbol because he feared bats as a child. Either he wanted to instigate the same fear in the criminals he fought against, or he would use his own fear and get stronger by controlling it.

There is also a story of a bat flying through the glass of a window, inspiring Bruce to the symbol.

On the other hand, one explanation is given in Detective comics 235, 1956, where it is shown how Bruce finds a masquerade costume which has belonged to his father - a bat-man suit.

Despite my documented interest in bats, Batman has never been a part of that specific interest. Not even for the symbolism. As a symbol, the bat for Batman is graphically effective, but the connection is vague and not quite credible.

Finally, it should be noted that originally Batman was created in 1939, by Bill Finger and Bob Kane.

(Searching for images of Batman for this article, I found nothing interesting that was free from valid copyright, so I refrain from including illustrations. Those who are interested can easily find images on internet.)

(This article is based on material previously published in Meriondho Leo and in my e-book “The Promethean Fire”, 2018.)

Copyright © 2016, 2018, 2020 Meleonymica/Mictorrani. All Rights Reserved.

Here you can find my articles about History of Literature, of Art, and about Television & Film.

All my writings on Read.Cash, sorted by topic.

Read also: What You Need to Know about Copyright

4
$ 23.67
$ 22.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @wrabbiter
$ 0.01 from @Kaya
+ 1
Sponsors of Mictorrani
empty
empty
Avatar for Mictorrani
2 years ago
Topics: Film, Movies, Comics, Batman, Literature, ...

Comments

Ah, that's it? Nothing more? Somehow the article seems incomplete to me. Lol. Too bad you don't like Batman. I don't really like Batman that much but the fantasy and comic books genre are interesting to me.

For me, Batman Begins is one of the trilogy of the best Batman movies out there. It has a darker more "realistic" tone which I believe is now the standard for DC movies. All the better for people like me who like such. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some Fantasy I like. But for that too "there must be a correlation between characters and environment that, however imaginative, makes the story credible just there, in that imagined “reality”, as I wrote about above. That was really the point of this article. I think Batman movies are lacking such a correlation. However, much pure fantasy has it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do not like Batman movies too.I only watch action,comedy and criminal films with famous actors.I admit,lately,I do not have time for movies.I am too much busy and I can not find 2 hours free time for watching.Maybe in future I will.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In understand that exactly, movies are not a top priority for me either.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you're referring to the Joel Schumacher Batman Films, I agree that they are terrible. But If you're referring to the Christopher Nolan Batman Films, you have no basis for telling they're terrible, except maybe for your own tastes, which would be a good explanation in itself already. I agree with you that comic book stories can't be done more effectively outside of the print medium. But if we are to choose a set of films that truly revolutionized the way superheroes are depicted on screen, nothing is better than The Dark Knight Trilogy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you to the extent that the Dark Knight Trilogy is much better than the others, but I still think they, too, suffer a lack of correlation between characters & their environment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Then I think no superhero movie is ever good enough for you. By reading your post again, the more appropriate title should be "Why I Don't Like Superhero Movies." You are trying to single out Batman although your perspective for all the other superhero movies is just the same, please don't be unfair. I'm just referring to your own words. "That's why, in my opinion, Batman, Superman, and Spider-man are all artistic failures as films"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right, in my opinion all so-called super hero movies suffer the same flaw. I am not TRYING to single out Batman, I DO single out Batman, because it was Batman who made me consider what was wrong with these movies, why I didn't like them, despite sometimes acceptable stories. This is an example of the individual to illustrate the general, and it is not limited to superhero movies or even to movies. The really important part of the title is the second line: "About the Correlation Between Characters & Their Environment". Batman is a good and well-known example.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The new generation grown up seeing batman avengers and some many 'man' and 'woman' will call you oldie. just a joke.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, joke or not, you might be right. But I don't really care if they do. You would be surprised over how "modern" even "futuristic" I can be sometimes. Read this: https://read.cash/@Mictorrani/old-fashioned-or-modern-dont-care-about-zeitgeist-care-about-quality-a3d429bc

$ 0.00
2 years ago