OC-detector Not Reliable Right Now!

19 72
Avatar for Mictorrani
3 years ago

A couple of days ago I published an article, "The Sacred Crocodiles of Egypt". I did not get any EXC badge on that, which was weird, since it was original content indeed. I emailed @Read.Cash. After a while I received this reply:

"Regarding EXC check - you triggered a weird bug. It has been fixed and your article has been marked EXC."

Today @Gwenie submitted an article to one of my communities. When I should open it, it was not there. She told me she had unpublished it because she had got no EXC badge. However, I had it in my moderation queue, and it was marked as non-OC by the OC -detector. When I opened it to see what it had found, it did not state any reference to any site.

As it happens, I have had much to do with @Gwenie and I know she would not steal material, so I immediately suspected the same bug I had myself encountered a couple of days earlier. I suggested her to email @Read.Cash, which she did, and she received the following reply:

"We're experiencing some capacity problems (traffic exploded) so a lot of things are breaking down. Sorry. We'll look into it when time permits, but rest assured there's no penalty for not getting the badge due to our fault."

At that point I approved @Gwenie's article, because I know her and that she is trustworthy. But that is not something I can do for everyone who submits articles, only for those I know as honest from before.

This is also something moderators and authors must know, the OC-detector is not reliable right now. Beware especially if it doesn't state any reference to where it has found something it marks as non-OC.

If you, as an author, are denied the EXC badge, although you know you should have had it, take a note and email Read.Cash when they have sorted out the present capacity problem. I'm sure they will solve the problem afterwards.

As for moderation of my communities; rather than risking to reject perfectly good and honest material, I may have to delay some approvals until things have been sorted out. I hope submitting authors are understanding about that.

I also urge moderators to be careful about this. Something marked as non-OC can still be OC. Don't rely on that unless you get a reference to where the OC-detector found a match.

Copyright © 2020 Meleonymica/Mictorrani. All Rights Reserved.

(If you liked this, please consider leaving a tip, either here or via CoinTr.ee)

You find all my writings on Read.Cash, sorted by topic, here.

19
$ 0.29
$ 0.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Arnavaria
Sponsors of Mictorrani
empty
empty
Avatar for Mictorrani
3 years ago

Comments

It was a help but never 100% reliable. We checked several posts with other plagiarism checkers which confirmed what we thought. They all did. This besides of the fact post posted before the exc started (which was after the OC) are not checked at all. I am sure my content is exclusive from the very first post and so is yours. I am happy with the OC see it as a help but the exc says nothing to me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, I have never relied solely on OC detector or EXC either, but they are a help and a non-OC mark from the OC-detector is normally a serious indication. An OC mark, however, has never been reliable, the detector doesn't find cleverly made plagiarisms.

Yet I think it is important to spread information of the present state of things, because many moderators rely completely on the OC-detector.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They are indeed. I am sure the problem will be solved and if some post is approved and turned out to be plagiarism it can be removed from the community or? It was not possible with a short message I noted yesterday.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A post can be removed, I have done so a couple of times when I too late discovered plagiarism.

A Short message can be removed. If you look at the little grey square with three dots to the right, put the marker over it, and you get alternatives. Perhaps it is difficult for you who use a mobile phone, I'm not sure how it looks then, I never use readcash on a mobile phone.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for letting me know. It gave me an error message. In a few days we'll check the communities again. 👍🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think it was 100% relaiable.I check all the post before accepting.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, it is not reliable, apparently, and especially not now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope I don't fall victim of this system issue anytime soon

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, if you do, you at least know that something can be wrong, so you can complain.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😢

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There are three OC states: blue, orange and gray (or no marks at all). Blue - OK, orange - failed, gray - the check wasn't done. I think you are mixing gray state with orange state. Click them, they have descriptions.

But in the end, yes, we can't compete with plagiarism detecting companies. They have people dedicated to that, we - don't. We can't also use them, since they are pretty expensive (~$0.20 per check! So, about $2500/month at our current usage, just for articles, nvm comments and posts). Free ones won't allow us to use them at our scale. So we had to create our own.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was orange and it stated that it had found matches in the following places, and then it was blank, no places given.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Was it maybe an article from about two-three weeks ago?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, the article was posted today.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Can you share the URL? Here or via email. Thanks!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was this article. It's what I describe in the article. https://read.cash/@Gwenie/nine-types-of-intelligence-b97d4ec9

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks! We'll look at it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the heads up and for taking the time to notify read.cash.

They published a short post earlier about the increasing in traffic and it seems they are working hard to resolve the problem and the issues it has been causing - https://read.cash/c/readcash-f4d8/post-23ec05e9

All good advice; thanks again

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, the exploding traffic causes many problems.

$ 0.00
3 years ago