I wasn't a fan, but I am now.

9 33
Avatar for Micontingsabit
2 years ago

I know, I know for my age yes, I know. I may be a little late bloomer.

Not all people might be so fond of Kpop, to be honest, I was too. I remember when I was in college, two of my friends were so fond of kpop. I can still remember them fan girling on BigBang, Shinee and Super Junior. As we were also friends with guys in our class, the guys loved watching the Gee Girls music video by Girls Generation. Then one of my co-workers loved to watch the MahBoy music video because of the dance steps. Yes, hahaha boys will be boys.

image from google

I didn't really like listening to kpop songs as I cannot understand the lyrics. I remember I told my friend who listens to SuperJunior that they love listening to their music but they can't understand the lyrics. Imagine that was around 2009 and after almost a decade I get to appreciate kpop.

Why? How? Let me tell you....

But let me thank my lovely sponsors. Go check them out!

Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

It starts with....

One thing, I don't know why. It doesn't even matter how hard you try.... CHAROT!

When I was working in one of the BPO companies in UP-Ayala Technohub, the engagement team arranged a dance number for a year-end party. After the first year-end performance, they find the group quite good and asked some members if they can stay and perform in other events too. Since I was kind of into dancing, even if I am not a great dancer, I tried to stay. I did stay and for two years we were permanent members of the group and tried to recruit more.

It was very nice to have a life-work balance in our workplace at least, that's why I loved our group and you get to have more friends too.

Going back to Kpop...

We had this one performance, the engagement team asked a band to perform. Of course they will rock songs and we did Kpop instead. Take note, our choreographer and also a Team Leader is gay but wasn't fond of Kpop too. He was indeed a choreographer, his forte is hiphop. Brainstorming happened, yadah yadah yadah and they ended up choosing a few songs and watched the music video. We also called our group Lima Force. Char!

Here are the songs that we used on our remix:

Bboom bboom - Momo Land

Boombayah - BlackPink

Replay - SHINee

Fire and Ice remix- BTS and RedVelvet

screenshot from our performance

Here's our costume...

Well, from there I started to appreciate Kpop songs. There was a point that I began fangirling SHINee too! I watched all of their music videos, tried to learn the dance too. But what I liked about SHINee was whenever they do a live performance, they also sing live. Other group that I started fangirling was SuperJunior. I just loved how they dance and how fun they are when there were together. Imagine they've been in the business for 15 years? I think.

Then when it comes to girl groups, I also liked a few groups. I don't like girl groups that dances or has pacutie songs. When it comes to good vocals, I go for MAMAMOO. For dance and steady vocals, ITZY. For dance, I go for Twice.

I appreciate Kpop groups with good vocals. Ever since I've been a fan of any artist or singers who can sing live well and dance at the same time.


That's all for today! I just want to remember our dancing days, now I only dance thru Tiktok with my little B!

Look for micontingsabit in Tiktok if you want to take a look. Charing!

If you have any Kpop dance recommendations, let me know. :)

lead image from unsplash.

some pictures are mine unless stated

BTW don't have time to proofread. hahahaha!

3
$ 0.44
$ 0.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Micontingsabit
2 years ago

Comments

Me, a Kpop lover since 2008. I supported few 2nd generation and 3rd generation Kpop artist, lalo na ang BTS nun 2013. Sa Shinee ang gusto ko si Onew.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

nako wala akong alam sa mga generation eklat eklat hahhaha. Onew din ako HAHAHHA.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha Onew tayo, apir!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sabi na e. Sa title palang na nabasa ko sa notif ko Korean na agad nasa isip ko. Hehe.

ㅏ녕 :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

nako di ako nagaaral naman magkorean. yung sayaw lang talaga nagustuhan ko sa kanila, naloka ako sa pagkakasabay sabay nila kahit di naman sila pareparehas ng galaw hahahah.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha nakakadala mga indak e hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

true! may massuggest ka ba na pwedeng masayaw hahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago