How to Cook

0 7
Avatar for MichMae99
3 years ago

I know so many people who tell me they can't cook, they don't know how, it's too hard, and it's not. If I could teach all the people I know and love how easy it is to have real, good, actual food, I'd be a very happy woman. Since I can't come into your kitchens and show you how few steps it takes to make something that tastes fifteen times better than takeout and is so much better for you and costs half as much.

How to cook? Simply read recipe books, subscribe to any food related platforms and search for delicious foods you can begin with..

Photo source:https://www.google.com/search?q=cook+book&client=ms-android-huawei-rev1&prmd=isvn&sxsrf=ALeKk02eDG2RTbLp8CKsmdem3hezFNJA7g:1602296207438&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwi-ppPC-qjsAhUJx4sBHQhvB8kQ_AUoAXoECBUQAQ#imgrc=VCPLZNRW4T2rLM&imgdii=AlC7e_Hww8aKHM

One of the good things about Bittman is that he doesn't cook the way your mother cooked. (If your mother did cook this way? Contact me immediately; I'm not too old for adoption.) He's clear and easy to read and he explains things and he generally makes me way less crazy than the Joy of Cooking (I own four copies of three different editions of that one, because people keep buying it for me, and I never use it. I don't even pick it up and read it. Yes. I read cookbooks for fun, but that's an entirely different post.

Photo source: https://www.google.com/search?q=foods&tbm=isch&ved=2ahUKEwj1g_Lu-qjsAhV0I6YKHaoRCx8Q2-cCegQIABAC&oq=foods&gs_lcp=ChJtb2JpbGUtZ3dzLXdpei1pbWcQAzIECCMQJzIFCAAQsQMyAggAMgIIADICCAA6BAgAEBM6CAgAEAgQHhATUMAfWL0vYKszaABwAHgBgAG4AYgB8QuSAQQwLjExmAEAoAEBwAEB&sclient=mobile-gws-wiz-img&ei=7RmBX7XZD_TGmAWqo6z4AQ&bih=779&biw=424&client=ms-android-huawei-rev1&prmd=ivsn#imgrc=OymBCgbh_ClB6M&imgdii=uNst4xcGGaialM

Pick something that sounds too delicious, just one thing, and make it. And then pick something else. Put a post-it note on the ones that actually do turn out to be yummy. Write in the margins. Leave yourself notes that you really can't stand capers but everything else in this recipe rocked. Don't worry if the butter splatters on the page or the tomatoes drip. Brush it off, let it dry and see how many more pages you can get dirty.


Do I still eat take-out? Oh, hell, yes. But it's usually something I love but that the rest of the family is ambivalent about--curry or sushi or pesto (THERE'S GREEN STUFF ON YOUR SPAGHETTI, MOM, WOW THAT'S NASTY.) And most of the time, when I'm dead-tired from work, it's still faster to make soup and muffins than it is to call out for delivery, or stop somewhere and get something.

And yeah, I subscribe to the Food Is Love way of life, but not in that psychotic, OMG, if you don't eat 5 helpings of everything she's slaved in the kitchen to make, you hate your mother/grandmother/crazy Aunt Sally way. It's love in the way that you're important and valuable enough to deserve something that tastes fabulous and nourishes you.

4
$ 0.31
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for MichMae99
3 years ago

Comments