Guide to Intermittent Fasting

0 10
Avatar for MichMae99
3 years ago

If you find the notion of fasting intimidating. It pretty much matches my experience exactly: Eating is largely a psychological issue, not a physical one. There are obviously some caveats to that, such as people who are (literally) in a state of genuine starvation and undernourishment, pregnant women, children, and so on. But for most of us, most of the time, we don't need to eat, we're just used to eating.


Photo source:https://www.google.com/search?q=fasting&client=ms-android-huawei-rev1&prmd=ivn&sxsrf=ALeKk03UiCiO6HTL83IsCdBRa_SLbyVIMg:1602463846286&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwj_28qC663sAhUShZQKHQYeD5YQ_AUoAXoECBsQAQ&biw=424&bih=779#imgrc=-YnXCrwIhj0VtM


The real tips, for those having trouble in fasting, are to realize things like:

Even a little bit of fasting is better than none—our skinnier parents and grandparents used to do well eating "3 squares a day" with a 12 hour fast between dinner and breakfast, versus eating six times a day and never going more than a couple hours, while awake, without food;

Fasting just a little bit more is really easy. Just skipping breakfast (when bodies tend to be less hungry anyway) makes it easy to "fast" for 16-18 hours.

The more you fast, the better the results. There's no limit to the amount of fasting you can do: If you want more, you fast more (unlike, say, a diet pill or exercise or just about anything else which has a hard limit on how much you can increase).

Photo source:https://www.google.com/search?q=fasting&client=ms-android-huawei-rev1&prmd=ivn&sxsrf=ALeKk00wATE7Iu_B1Didz-zqxTaCAKBgRw:1602464105502&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwjy9pf-663sAhVOBKYKHe9JATcQ_AUoAXoECBwQAQ&biw=424&bih=779#imgrc=WajE93gDTx-rQM&imgdii=LKNj6yLCjeThbM


Fasting does NOT make you tired, it does not impair your thinking, it does not weaken you, and this is pretty obvious when you think about it. If missing a meal (or two or three!) left you in a dull, weak state, the human race would have died out after the first brontosaurus (I know, but I'm on a roll!) escaped the hunting party.

The longer you fast, perhaps surprisingly, the easier it is.

The more frequently you fast, the easier it is. I don't even notice a 24-36 hour fast any more. I'm just out of the habit of eating. (And most of the eating I do now is social...well, with a few habits left.)

Critically, the benefits here are not limited to weight loss. Fasting reduces (or eliminates!) many of the symptoms associated with obesity and diabetes (type 2, especially, type 1 is trickier, obviously), but also is promising with some kinds of cancer, with Alzheimer's and a lot of other diseases.

On a related note, I discovered recently that the Charlie Foundation for Ketogenic Therapies, whose promotion of the diet for pediatric epilepsy saved my oldest daughter's life, has apparently discovered the diet also has applicability for certain kinds of cancer and Alzheimer's.

I think, maybe, the human body wasn't really designed to use carbohydrates as its primary fuel source. CHO seems to be a good way to pack on fat for the lean winter times, much the way hibernating mammals do. But we probably never evolved to have a lot of carbs, every day, all year 'round.

I haven't done that much low-carb while fasting. When I have it's been successful, but it hasn't seemed necessary, at least not yet.

I still drink diet Coke. There's some concern that artificial sweeteners trigger much of the same body responses that eating does, so it may make fasting harder. I'd definitely cut it out if I were having trouble fasting. And I may cut it out anyway, but I don't find the actual evidence compelling.

The big one for me, not covered here, is sleep: I have found that I cannot fast if I am not sleeping. My oldest likes to wake me up at night sometimes (often consecutive nights) and when sleep-deprived, I either eat or go mad. So I've opted, mostly, to eat on those days, since going mad gets me in trouble with the Authorities.

Anyway, it's worth a shot, in my opinion, even if you don't need or want to lose weight. (Unless you're ridiculously low body fat, like 4%.) There are many time-honored benefits to fasting, not the least of which might be a reduced anxiety about "needing" to eat. Also, this is probably the cheapest, easiest diet you've ever had: It costs nothing and takes no time to prepare.

1
$ 0.37
$ 0.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for MichMae99
3 years ago

Comments