Developing your strategy

0 5
Avatar for MichMae99
3 years ago

Hi, because I have nothing to do I ended up buying thursday a book and was happy when it arrived yesterday. After a long road trip back from the southern part of VA, I was happy to be back in my house and reading something funny.



Photo source:https://www.google.com/search?q=strategies&client=ms-android-huawei-rev1&prmd=ivbn&sxsrf=ALeKk01CEcGPHOI9jG2DQAa04k55qr1-4g:1602321058798&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwiU4ZmM16nsAhXJA4gKHbJWDeMQ_AUoAXoECBkQAQ&biw=424&bih=779#imgrc=ryjwDGbL8NvINM&imgdii=YyCx1vEQncu_LM

I had seen a post about this book and loved the images that were shown.

Later on a friend and I going into work looked it up and were dying about some of the the things that Cooper gets into, but then of course we also got mad and then sad, because though this is humor, it still stings.

Yes, women are often talked down to by colleagues, ignored for saying something, but kudos are given out when a male colleague repeats the same comment ten minutes later. We are often told to not get wound up when someone is doing something shitty to us, and called a bitch behind our backs when we refuse to let someone walk all over us. Yes, it is 2018 and the more things change, the more they stay the same.

This book reminds me of Yes Please by Amy Poehler, both are bright books which include places for the owner of the book to write, scribble, doodle, etc.

There are twelve chapters in this book (FYI they are very short due to the illustrations, so don't worry about getting bored) with a funny introduction and conclusion.

Chapter 2: Communication-How to Talk Like A Man but Still be Seen as a Woman is the one chapter that ticked me off the most though (I still laughed). Probably because every scenario in there has happened to me. Oh you said something that got totally ignored and a male colleague is praised for saying it fifteen minutes later. Do you worry about talking too loud and forceful though when your male colleague does it, somehow he's considering charismatic and a leader of the future?

Chapter 4: Authenticity-How to Bring Your True Self to Work and Then Hide it Completely made me giggle the most though. I remember being new to the government and being told I needed to bring in pictures (I was not married and didn't have kids--still don't) to make me more approachable. A manager said this to me. I remember thinking who cares what is going on at home, it's not like you will ever meet these people!

Chapter 7: Negotiation-Gaslighting for Beginners and Chapter 8: Harassment-How to be Harassed Without Hurting his Career were also had some funny side by sides.

The side by sides showing how to do things incorrectly and the right way to do things in this book should be pull outs that you can stick on a fridge or in your cube somewhere.

This book is obviously humor.

1
$ 0.04
$ 0.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for MichMae99
3 years ago

Comments