Polyandrion - Some Secrets Are Best Left Alone (Chapter Two)

1 16
Avatar for Mi_cha_el
2 years ago

The burger was real good, but the fries were kinda soggy like they weren't fried long enough. A little too salty for my taste as well. I ordered a mushroom swiss on a sesame seed kaiser bun, lightly toasted with sauted white onion and jalapeno pepper. The beef was fresh and prepared well. I would come back just because ot the burger.

I paid my S12.00 bill as I finished off my root beef. Leaving two dollars in the tip jar, I headed out to find a grocery store. I needed a few things to tide me over until l can go major shopping.

As I approached my Ford, it looked like it was leaning down on one knee, as if to let someone climb onto it's back, like a horse. I walked toward the passengers side wheel.

Great! A frickin' flat tire!

Kneeling down to search the tire for the remnants of a culprit, I discovered a two inch slash in the Sidewalk.

This was on purpose! But why? I don't know anyone here, and no one knows me, except for the little information that the county clerk's office has obtained from me.

Stunned by this unforseen Good year tire tragedy, I looked under the vehicle for the spare.

Good, well at least it has a spare and it is the same series of tire.

I popped the trunk, and found the jack and star bar to take the lug nuts oft.

I have very little mechanical aptitude, but at least I can change a tire and maintain my engine.

After a little effort, some dusty pants, and a skinned knuckle, I was driving down the main road that goes through town. Not many people were out, but the ones that were, creeped me out!

Every person I drove past, would stop what they were doing, and stare at me.

Expressionless, empty, pitiful faces that bared the resentment of life itself.

Even people driving in their cars would turn their heads to look at me briefly, as they were whizzing by.

Was I being paranoid? Maybe it was the affect of bad food, or worse yet, psilocybin. I laughed to myself, thinking the business I just came from dosed me. But what was with the slashed tire? Maybe the ordeal of the past few weeks has caught up With me, and I am just mentally fatigued. Pulled into a brightly lit parking lot that was for the local grocery store.

As I got out, I surveyed the area, and noticed surveillance cameras on the building. I thought to myself, Good. At least if something was to happen out here, it would be on camera.

No one really paid me no mind, which, after what I Experienced on the drive here, was a great relief.

I found my way through the modes little grocery store, and got some eggs, bread, cottage cheese, coffee, a few Marie Calendar's Pot Pics, some lunch meat and cheese, sugar, tea, some oranges and a few fresh veggies.

They had an aisle for hardware, so I bought some cleaners, thumb tacks, A new 9 volt battery for the smoke alarm,

and a new mop seen as how, I threw the old one away. I looked for some good Scotch, but they didn't have any good' stuff. I'm not an avid drinker, but when I do, I want the best I can get.

I inquired of a liquor store and was told it was about 6 miles from here.

I had a few more shots left at the apartment, and I had to go to that side of town the next day anyway, so I started my journey to my new home, As I drove, the same thing was happening!

People on the street would stop in their tracks, turn their heads and stare at me as I drove past. The same with the drivers of the other vehicles on the street.

I was a little concerned now. Why was everyone looking at me like that? And why, only while driving? People seemed normal when I was in the grocery store.

I focused on the road. I just wanted to get back.

After about 10 minutes, the buildings and people started to thin out, as I made my way to the outskirts of town, where the apartment complex is.

I felt relict, as I pulled into the driveway and parked my Ford, Unit #6 .

I shut the engine off, and sat there for a minute, trying to get the look of the people's faces out ot my mind.

I exited the S.U.V. as the trunk opened upon my fingers' command from inside the vehicle. I just love technology, but I know we're using it wrong It is too weaponized when it was intended to set us free. Free from hard labor. Free from endless days in front of an assembly line. Free from making mistakes at the grocery store. I'm starting to believe freedom is an illusion. Too much regulation. Too many ways to oppress people. Too many chiefs, and few indians.

I gathered up my groceries as looked around. It was getting dark, and the complex was still, except for some- one's television turned up obnoxiously loud. An occasional dog bark, and the early sound of crickets. I love that sound!

Not really a sound you hear in the city, and if there were crickets, the city's noise would drown them out.

I found myself a little excited that I got to fall asleep to the lulling, hypnotic sound of this otherwise known as, pestilence.

I brought all the grocery items up to the door, unlocked it and started to bring everything inside.

The Ford was locked up and I was grabbing the last two bags, when suddenly, a big furry animal jumped in front of me as l was coming through the front door.

I jolted backwards, ripping the paper bag that was in my lett hand, spilling the contents all over the floor.

I steadied myself, and looked to see a big orange cat, bigger than I'd ever seen, staring back at me. I cursed under my breath, and started to pick up the things that had fallen. When I looked up, the cat was gone.

I shut the door, locked it, and brought everything into the kitchen.

After a few minutes of deciding where to put everything, I closed the refrigerator, the pantry and went to sit down.

My chair feels so good on a tired body. I was too tired for a drink, so I went to my room, changed into some loose pajamas and brushed my teeth.

My bedroom was a decent sized room.

My queen sized bed, armour, and night table fit with plenty of room for not busting toes in the middle of the night.

I made my bed up, set my alarm for my usual 5 a.m. and climbed into bed.

As I turned off my bedstand light, I couldn't help but think of all those people staring at me. What ceric expressions on their faces. Like they were drained of happiness. Like seeing me was a reminder of their plight, what ever that may be.

I was too tired to ponder it any further and was asleep within minutes.

To be continued.

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for Mi_cha_el
2 years ago

Comments

Wow! I am also fans of zombie things

$ 0.00
2 years ago