Polyandrion - Some Secrets Are Best Left Alone

1 21
Avatar for Mi_cha_el
2 years ago

Do you believe in monsters?

I do!

never really gave it much thought when I was younger.

Not being superstitious or having an over excited imagination, I was a pretty sceptical audience to any one who wanted to convince me ot aliens, gods, ghosts and things that go bump in the night.

I lived a pretty normal life so far, that is, until the housing crisis hit and rents went up, forcing many people to move from our modest city by the bay.

I'm 35 now, and have been in the process of readjusting to my new surroundings, a little town called, Polyandrion.

I thought it was an interesting name, but still have no idea what it means.

The only reason I moved to this little town of 13,000 people, is because ot the ad I answered in a regional paper I picked up for packing glass and breakables.

I didn't see the irony of the ad, because, again, I don't believe in luck and l do not entertain flukes.

I believe for every action, there is a reaction. A cause and an effect. Chance is for feeble minds.

We are in control.

The ad was in a paper that was more than a month old, and part of a thick Sunday issue. Moreover, I had picked up several stacks ot paper.

The irony, is that, number one, it caught my eye. Number two, it applied to me, and number three, it was the only ad that did out of all the papers I picked up.

It was too perfect! I should have known something was wrong, My skepticism failed m . I guess I wanted it too much. I needed it. It was like a life rope thrown to me, when all was lost.

I mailed in my application for the County Internal Auditor, including all my credentials and my Bachelor's degree in Business and Accounting.

Within a week, I received a letter from the County Clerks office happily accepting my application, and requesting my expertise as soon as possible.

I mailed back my confirmation, with my move out date, and an estimation regarding time of arrival, with my cell phone number.

I had a 1989 XJS Chocolate, maroon colored Jaguar that I used as a trade in for a Ford Explorer XLT with 36,000 Miles on it.

The Jag was in really good shape, so I only paid the difference of about $6,000.00 dollars, on top of the fact that the rep at the dealership really wanted my car.

The move went off without a hitch, and everything I wanted to take, fit perfectly into the little U-Haul trailer I rented. The Ford drove smooth as silk, with no problems and I only had to stop four times for gas.

1800 miles later, I pulled up to the the apartment complex that consisted of 13 units, including the Manager's Office, where I signed a lease for six months just prior to my move.

There weren't many places for rent in the same town that I'd be working, and I felt fortunate to find this cozy one bedroom, full kitchen, full bath, with patio for the measly S600.00 dollars a month they were asking.

Utilities include trash and water, so all I have to pay for 1S power and gas, which shouldn't exceed another one hundred, fifty dollars. Add cable and phone, gas and insurance, food and everyday living expenses, I am only gonna bc paying about $1400.00 a month, where as, in the city l paid almost $2200.00.

On top of that, I will be making over five dollars an hour more, than my old job for a private accounting firm. I saw my parking slot, Unit f#6, and parked my now dusty Ford explorer.

Stepping out and stretching my tense muscles, A middle aged, not so friendly red haired woman in a tired, dull looking red and black plaid sweater and Worn out denim jeans, came out of her unit to greet me.

She looked sad and bored at the same time, and I wanted to get the formalities done with her as quick as possible.

I stopped at into the dusky, dimly lit, office and almost choked on the stale, intrusive, lingering cigarette smoke that permeated the air and everything around It.

With teary eyes, I signed the rest of the paper work, got the key code for the laundry room and pool, got my door key, and left with a disguised desperation to get away as fast as I could.

Stepping back outside was like diving into a fresh pool ot water, as the light breeze blew the remnants ot stench off my windbreaker.

The apartment was quant, but big enough for the little possessions I have acquired in my lite. I'm not really a needy man. I like a few creature comforts... My Scotch, My Cherry tobacco with my pipe, my telescope, a good thick steak once in a while, and my collection of Classical music that I listen to while I'm crunching numbers.

I never was exceptional at anything...

except for math. I flew through Algebra, Trigonometry, Geometry, Calculous, and Advanced Algebra in school, while achieving B's in all my other courses.

I didn't know what I wanted to be, so when a high school buddy told me of the accounting firm he worked at, and that they needed a brainiac like me, I submitted my first application. I was hired immediately, and since then, have had a half a dozen accounting jobs.

During the course ot my employment, I managed to earn my Bachelor's degree in Business and Accounting after 4 years of study. I am really good! opened up the windows, turned lights on all over the apartment, and started unloading my possessions. Within a few hours, I was unloaded, halt way arranged, and sitting on my recliner with chair, sipping a scotch on the rocks and smoking a nice fresh bowl of cherry tobacco.

I picked up my cell phone to order something for dinner, but my phone wasn't receiving any service.

I thought to myself, that's odd, I just payed the monthly bill before I left, and I've never had any problems in the several years as a customer with my carrier.

I started to dial the 6-1-1 that would get me to the carrier, when there was a tap on the glass from the patio door. I turned to see a young looking guy, maybe twenty-two, looking in at me with a strange but comical grin on his face.

His scruffy week old stubble, combined with his wild young eyes, told me right away, he was not to be taken seriously.

I opened the patio door, and he immediately said, ' Hi. I'm Ted. Welcome to the neighborhood. Have you seen my cat?

I shook my head, no. He shrugged, and let out a defeated, 'Oh. Well, if you do, I'm in unit #11. His name is Garfield, because he's a big fat tabby cat'

I nodded my head, and said, 'O.k.

He turned to leave, and as he was almost around the corner he said, 'Sec you later!

I went back to the kitchen counter where I left my phone, and it wasn't there.

I swore, I left it right there on the counter, when I was startled by the unexpected visit from my new neighbor.

I looked all over the kitchen. I went back to my chair, where my Scotch was waiting for me, the glass sweating from the difference in temperature between the ice cold Scotch and the warm summer air.

My trusty Sherlock Holmes style tobacco Pipe laying listless beside it.

I searched the room, the bathroom, my suitcases that I opened. I even went out to the Ford. No phone With my empty stomach growling, I locked up the apartment, having given up on my search for my cell phone, and got into the Ford for a little trip to town for some food.

I only had one glass of Scotch and wasn't feeling the effects of the alcohol yet, and I figured, the phone would show up, as things that get misplaced, always do. I still for the life of me can't figure out what I could have done with it. I thought I put it on the kitchen counter just before opening the patio door.

Brushing those thoughts aside, I saw a little burger joint, and pulled into the dusty gravel parking lot that was half full of vehicles.

Must be pretty good!

To be continued.

4
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @wrabbiter
Avatar for Mi_cha_el
2 years ago

Comments