[Working Student] Back when I was working and studying at the same time

1 25
Avatar for Mhaytham18
2 years ago

When I started working, it started when I was in my 2nd year of high school. During my first year of high school, I was still studying so close to our home that I could only walk to school. Even though there is a distance, I can just walk because there is no one to take me. I only take my father on the tricycle when he’s not busy. But when I was in my 2nd year of high school, I decided that I would just work so that mama and papa wouldn't have a hard time because we had a lot of siblings and some of us were also studying then. At first my dad didn't want me to work because I was far away from them but I was the one who insisted on working because I wanted to be able to finish school on my own. Because of poverty, my parents forced me to be a working student.

It wasn't easy when I was working because before I went to school every day I worked a lot. I wake up early in the morning around 4:30 am to start my task. The first thing I will do is wake up and sweep inside and outside of the big house, then water the plants, then bath the dog and then wipe the car, then I polish in their shoes and then feed 10 chickens before I can take a bath. and at 7am I will finish my task at home. Then have breakfast and just wash the dishes before leaving the house for school. And that's my task every day.

On Friday night, I floorwaxed up and down the floor so that the next day I would just mop and then bathe my boss's dog and about 10 chickens again. Every weekday I wash my school uniform at night before I go to sleep after everything I do at home. I can sleep at night 11-11: 30pm after what I do then wake up at 4:30 am. And that was my life as a working student when I was still in high school.

When I was in college, I was even more tired because I was still awake at that time and they had a convenience store business. That's why when I was in college I couldn't graduate for 4 years because my subjects weren't fully loaded. Instead of 9 subjects, my boss gave me only five. Then in the evening we go home 9: 30-10pm then I can't sleep right away even though I'm very tired I want to rest but because I can't sleep when the housework isn't finished I'll finish first and then wash my uniform in school before bed.

But unfortunately I got sick when I was in 2nd year college 2nd semester so I was able to stop and leave my job. I'm sad because I didn't really finish my own efforts on studying. So when I recovered from the pain I had a fever and a cough and couldn't walk so I left my work and ask my boss permission to leave. So when I recovered, my mother and father tried to send me in school to graduate my course. Even though my parents were struggling they put up with it for me. It's a good thing that my mother's niece, who worked in Hong Kong, offered my allowance weekly, so my parents don't have any more difficulty.

And at last, from year 2011-2016 I graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration Major in Financial Management. And that is because of the Lord who guided and helped me besides my family. So when I graduated I went to Manila to look for a job. At the mercy of the Lord, I found a job in just 1 week. At first my company was just under the agency akd I was an ADMIN for ly first job and after the end of contract I applied at the main office and I was re-entered as an ACCOUNTANT and was also promoted as HR and then HR OFFICER. Then thanks to God.

So today, I told myself that I don't want my siblings to work while studying. So I tried to get them to study without working. So now, I send my siblings to school.

And that is my happiness to help them.

Thanks for reading. Godbless you all.

2
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @CrisAnn-09129833223
Avatar for Mhaytham18
2 years ago

Comments

Being working student is not really easy, but despite of everything you fulfill all of your dreams.

$ 0.07
2 years ago