You don't have to be great to start

10 41
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
1 year ago

 ****

Free image from unsplash by Jukan tateisi

For the past few weeks, I have been trying my best to write. But I always end up with only a title or an idea of what to write. This has been going around since I last published the last article I wrote.

 And, to be honest, I couldn't make up any words that would make an impact on everyone who read my article. And also something that would make my future self proud. 

 It was tough. One evening, I was browsing on my read account. And I was like, Oh golly wow, people are still writing articles and improving their stories, plus earning satoshis. And I am here and don't even know how to start or get back from where I left.

How about watching movies?

Then, out of nowhere, I got this idea. How about I watch movies that are either extremely sad or fantastic and write reviews about them in the form of recommendations? I bet people would love them. Since, I also look for movie recommendations to see if a film is worth seeing.

 Well, days have passed I've watched 3 movies for 3 consecutive days, and here's the catch. I've watched them and when the time came I was supposed to make a comparison of the movies and write a recommendation. Which was good? Is it a 10/10 or was it bad? What genre is it again? I can't write a recommendation. 

 So in my mind, "Oh, probably looking for a format would help." So I tried to look for a movie recommendation format online. I watch YouTube videos on how to make your writing perfect and lit.

 However, watching while following instructions is not my cup of tea.I prefer them in black and white. I mean-written so my mind can fully figure out what the rules are to follow.

 Afterwards, I searched for a movie recommendation on Medium. It was quite fabulous, but then again—I had to search for the movie I watched online because I didn't know that I was supposed to know who was the director and what genre he was trying to portray. Is he political or is he a feminist? Or does he like science and hate God?

 More so, I need to know the characters involved, even suggest who could be better for the role. And that's where I stopped.The only characters that have captured my mind since childhood were Jet Li, Jackie Chan, James Bond and Angielina Jolie. And well, I'm a fan of Annelease on how to get away with murder. But I don't know what her real name is.

 It's actually a pity.So, yeah, I thought making a movie recommendation was similar to writing a reaction paper like I learned in school. But as it turns out, it requires an in-depth study of the movie. You couldn't have missed a part where deep words are like foreseeing the future of the movie. You must also pay attention to the music, beat, sound, and cinematography.

So I stopped thinking much about writing a recommendation. I realized that when I watched a movie, I didn't pay attention to how the characters portrayed the act. I was solely focusing on the story itself and how the movie made me feel. When I watch Jackie Chan movies, damn, his movies are way more hilarious and focused on martial arts. Was I supposed to learn something from his movies? Do I have to take them personally?

To be honest? I'm not sure. I must have enjoyed his movies, laughed heartily, and forgotten about loopholes. But he keeps me entertained, and isn't that the most important part?

And long story short I am still left without any movie recommendations to write and offer.

And now what?

So I suddenly thought, "What if I start from something random so that I can at least start over?"

And yes, here I come, I start and don't let my fear of having to create something unworthy stop me from writing again. I stopped myself from overthinking and hit the publish button. Because sometimes,

"You don't need to be great to start, but you can become great when you take the first step and start"

So, if you want to be something someday, START NOW! It is the only way forward.

8
$ 7.86
$ 7.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jnavedan
$ 0.05 from @Unity
+ 1
Sponsors of Meyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

"You don't need to be great to start, but you can become great when you take the first step and start." Love this. Like you, I usually focus a lot on a movie's story just as how exciting it is already haha. But you know, you can still create a reflection of what you've learned as a whole to save a day here in read, just elaborate your thoughts. 💗

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Movie lovers actually love to read recommendations so its a good topic to write! Btw, what genre do you prefer to watch?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes yes, actually I really love watching fantasy movies🤩

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm more of a scifi, thriller, horror and mystery. And movies of Jackie chan jet li, james bond. 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are correct. A start can be any day and any time. I hesitated for being in live videos for many years until I started one day. In December 2021, I started being on LinkedIn and Facebook Live.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Congrats! You are brave enough to that!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To be honest ,when I was a newbie on this platform ,I can finish my article for four days of creating it 😂And now I can finish it by 1-2 hours 😁

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Oh wow! You are doing great! 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm. I can relate, though I was sick. And when I wanted to start, I seem to be lost of words and ideas on how to start again. Luckily, I was motivated to do it even so.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Glad to hear that! Do it! Haha. Do it now! Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago