Things I learned in my writing journey.

15 51
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
1 year ago
Image free from unsplash by Kenny Eliason

If you want to pursue writing—like me—and are having trouble finding a topic to write about, and it gets even harder when you commit to writing daily. Oftentimes, you black out by pressuring yourself to produce quality articles with flashy ideas. In the end, it makes you unproductive and makes you quit writing.

But as I have been writing on and off for over a year, I want to share the things I have learned from this journey—things I didn't know when I first started writing. And I hope this might encourage someone who wants to write---to write.

Allow yourself to make mistakes and learn.

Here's the catch: Do you know that since you are still trying to build your own writing character, you are allowed to make mistakes? There is not much pressure on your table, "because" you are a beginner, you don't know a lot of things and you are still in the process of learning. You are allowed to try to write every idea you have in whatever genre you like, and to discover which topic you are best at.

I remember when I first started to work on my first job after getting my college degree. I didn't know the whole part of my job and I actually learned everything along the way. You learn from mistakes, so take note of them and be sure to not commit the same thing again. Which, by the way, will become your edge in your next endeavors.

Accept criticism and learn from it.

When someone corrects you for the way you write, take it in a positive light. It does mean you are getting attention. You probably have good writing skills that catch their attention, and they want to continue hearing your ideas.

 It was quite an advantage for me to start to read Cash because it has a good community, is nice and engaging. Another thing is they share a lot of their experience that you can learn from.

Read more, learn more.

I used to create lengthy paragraphs in my previous article, which I immediately improved when I read the article of Laurenceuuu. In his article, you will get some ideas on how to avoid making boring articles. For example is cutting each of the paragraph into two or three sentences to give your audience a break and understand what you wanted to imply on your content.

The more you read, the more you learn, the more ideas you have. The more ideas you have, the more likely you won't have a hard time creating daily articles while also improving your content.

When you consistently read, you eventually recognized which articles are worth reading. You start to notice patterns, and you discover the hidden treasure technique to better writing.

Be creative. Create your own challenge and be consistent.

I noticed that people create challenges to spice up their writing game. I hadn't tried this idea before, which was my mistake. I struggled really hard to compose a 4-minute article, so I skipped a day or two to create another one. Since I want to commit to writing consistently, I might consider creating my own challenge.

The thing is, the more consistent you are, the better you become. When you become better, you can be the best.

Be yourself. Write about your experiences and what you know.

It is also important that you use reliable information and data to establish your character. So you might consider sharing the things you have learned that you know might help other people. This might attract people and can become your consistent readers.

You know, people always rush to the internet to find any possible guides to help them with even the slightest problem. So what are you waiting for? By writing about your experiences and knowledge, you help other people and you create your own brand.

Make use of free online resources. Admit that you suck sometimes. 

It does not take much time to use the free grammar checker and plagiarism checker online. As much as possible, admit to yourself that you suck at grammar (I do) and sometimes you miss a word in a sentence. It really helps, since you want to make your content readable and presentable to your readers.

By going through the plagiarism checker, you are ensuring yourself and your readers that your content is reliable, and by doing so, you are also avoiding future conflict.

 

 

13
$ 7.87
$ 7.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Laurenceuuu
$ 0.05 from @Jnavedan
+ 4
Sponsors of Meyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Agree with these. They're surely effective to become better in writing especially in fighting writer's block which usually happens to me ahahaha. It's been 7 months already since I started here but that's still my problem ahahaha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha well can I assume to say we both suck at being creative

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes meyzee. Tama. We need to accept criticism kasi lahat tayo hindi perpekto and it's normal, we need to accept it and learned from it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed jramona20! 😊 Its another way we can improve.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes meyzee that's true. We learned from it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hi Myazee! Great advice for the writers here. It also shows that you’re applying all you’ve read and learned into your writing too and that sure made you a better writer. All the best 💙

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you! 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm glad that one of my blogs helped a co-blogger! We're improving every day, keep learning 😄

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It does! I'm learning from you and the others. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Critics are our true friends. We can improve from their constructive criticisms.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Its true! Your motivation to do better.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Accepting criticism is part of being a writer.. it's a good problem, it means someone is thoroughly reading what you wrote.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed! As unity say they are our true friend!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Accept critism it will help you to be better.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yep!

$ 0.00
1 year ago