Part I : Fascinating things on the Road

12 39
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
2 years ago

Hmmn. Though probably everyone of you are aware with these things I will mention. But let me discuss some of the things that will probably bore you but fascinating to me. No one can stop me from being silly. Lol. While many girls are amazed by flowers and with the beauty of the nature and would capture those-- I am on the other hand actually less attracted to those. Seeing unusual maybe, like, 2 petals in a flower would attract me. Lol. :) He loves me. He loves me not. Lol. I am the destroyer of flowers. I used to get them and count petals.

Back to the topic. I have these huge fascination on roads because when I was a kid, the road in our area isn't concreted its just a yellow road with rocks and it becomes muddy when it rains. I used to walk myself to school on the same road and it sucks when it rains. The mud, sticks to my school uniform and it is pretty nasty. And when I get to touch Manila, I have become more interested in road signs and structures and properties, because why not?. Road is everywhere! And I want to share the terms or what they are called and if I am mistaken. I would acknowledge some correction just comment down below!

Everyone here knows that the road is a wide space joining places to places and is used to transport goods and services. Roads on remote areas that aren't developed yet are made of flexible sand or muddy and big rocks. While on the City roads are made up of concrete pavements and sometimes on highways, the top coats are made up of asphalt. But what interest me the most from watching and familiarizing the roads are those that is very little but creates an impact on either aesthetic or the contribution of each part in the road structure. And heres the following;

Road Joints

Well yah, you probably seen this on the road while walking. And if you haven't knew or wondering what is the purpose of those pavements gaps, it is to separate each block of pavements in preparation for the concrete expansion. They must be sealed with hot sealant(bitumen) allowing flexibility on movement. One thing that amazed me with concrete is that they shrink and expand depending on the climate change. These is one of the essential part of the road. It also helps to prevent not to damage the entire road once one of the span start to cracks and deteriorate.

If you wanna know more about road flexible expansion joints you can read more here and let's discuss!

Road Stud - reflectorize/solar lights

I know you all know these but when I was a kid whenever I commute I always saw these on the middle of the highway, since I am not much commuting on nights I would always hate it on morning whenever the tricycle I ride with will bump on that block, and my head will bump on the tricycle, metal thingy. Later did I know that it guides all the drivers at night by simply producing lights, and aesthetically giving a runway vibe at night. I always saw these things whenever there are no road island or barrier separating two way roads. The are visible on the mornings! You might wanna see!

Road Traffic Island

Image source from usplashed

If you've seen this things on the road. Whether your walking or driving, it is called traffic Island, the one where people stay when it is not yet the time to cross the street. Also those things like circle or those with trees and plants are also called traffic Island. Its not only the sea that has island we also have on the road!

The purpose of these Island is to regulates traffic -mostly on areas prone to congestion. You can see it on crossing and sometimes as a barrier from a two way road line. To avoid sudden u-turn and such. Previously, I wasn't really aware about how it was called. I just know there are trees on the middle of the road to provide aesthetic view. But yeah that was one thing.

Road traffic speed bumps / humps/cushion/table

Well I mostly hate this one as it always hurt my head whenever it bumps on the tricycle. These one is really bumpy! Haha. But yah the purpose of this one is to lessen the speed of vehicles for safety purposes. I always see this on roads that are narrow and is sloping. Moreover, it was first discovered and designed by Arthur Holly Compton in 1953! To know more about the material used and other related stuff you didn't know about speed bumps, check here and be amazed!


I still have many things to share! But I will leave them for the next article! Haha. And I wanna know if you are also fascinated by the roads structure! And let's exchange some knowledge!

Thanks for reading! Btw I made a gif when I was bored! And I'm loving it!

11
$ 1.83
$ 1.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @carisdaneym2
$ 0.10 from @Idksamad7869
+ 5
Sponsors of Meyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Napaka observant mo hahaha. And people who are obsevant and curious are often smart ๐Ÿค“

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! Hindi sigurooo kase lagi ko nakikita talaga. Tapos hinahanap ko ano mga name nila haha ๐Ÿ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ngayon ko lang nalaman yung sa traffic Island hahaha sabagay wala yun dito๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dati di ko din alaaam haha wala din sa amin nyaร n haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some Roads in my country are not good.They have holes,and I Have to avoid them.Highway is well maintained.There we can reach huge speed,around 140 km/h,this much is allowed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

same here some of the road are also has holes hehe not much improved haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabi, di talaga ako maka relate haha. Rocky road ice cream lang alams ko ๐Ÿ˜•. Saka ako di mahilig sa flowers, pero sa pagkain talo talo na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha sarap nga ng rocky road haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahaha the best yan oi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahhahahajaja Rocky Road sarap naman๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buy kana caris caris, dapat sabay kayo ni @crypto.maniac para date na ๐Ÿ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saka na bumili pag may bahay na ako hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago