The Intrigues Of Married Life: Introduction

0 20
Avatar for Methion
1 year ago

Holla folks. It's been a while since I wrote anything on here. It's been a while since I wrote anything at all. It's like the writer in me has gone for a long break/vacation. Having not written anything substantial in a good while has its blessings and its disadvantages. My general creativity and vocabulary development has always been tied to how much and often I write as I'm not much of a talker. So, you can guess both have suffered in recent months.

Lead image : Jonathan Borba

Anyways, I would like to make a return, but that would generally require a reconditioning of my mind, which has never been an easy task for me at any time. But hey, you don't know until you try, right?

Lately, I have been doing a lot of reading, albeit on other platforms like a Nigerian forum nairaland.com. It's quite fun and interesting there. One of the most interesting groups of writeups I enjoy there has to do with marital and relationship issues. It's just funny how youths and people in relationships see marriage as something that they can just walk into. There's almost this general belief that you can work a marriage the same way you work a relationship.

Relationships lead to marriage, hence can be seen as a sort of extension/crowning glory of it. But as much as they have a lot of common elements, they also have a lot of differences that set them apart and sometimes make them seem so apart and different. These "differences" are chiefly responsible for the conflicts that arise in marriages.

You would think with the number of generations of marriages we have to look back and learn from, we would know to do better by now. But instead, the divorce rate is rapidly increasing, especially in the "developed" world where the comforts of life are easily afforded them. You would think the opposite would be the case.

Africa as usual, is hot on the heels of the "developed" world in the number of marriages ending in divorce and the number of partners cohabitating, just like with every other negative thing that has come out of the lack of moral customs and norms in the western way of life. This is happening in an era of human existence where there are millions of "qualified" marriage counsellors and therapists, who themselves are the worst at holding a marriage down.

This is what has prompted this series for me. I thought about it; my thoughts on the matter and the sub-matters and returned to writing. Two birds, one stone. It would be folly to pretend anything I write on these things could pass as authoritative, as I am not a marriage counsellor, therapist, or priest. I'm not even married, hell, I am in my first relationship (and my last, God willing).

This series will be simply the wording of my thoughts on these controversial matters. It will centre on what I think of the problems plaguing marriages today and possible remedies.

Disclaimer: This series would only be stating my thoughts and ideas on these things. By no means is it marital advice or anything. As a matter of fact, it's for entertainment purposes only. So, stay tuned friends.

5
$ 1.17
$ 1.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Methion
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Methion
1 year ago

Comments