My Trust, Fast Becoming A Fantasy

3 18
Avatar for Methion
1 year ago

It's another weekend. For the majority of the guys, that can only mean one thing; FOOTBALL! All the European leagues return to give us the most exhilarating (and quite frankly, the most heartbreaking, most times ) football. Depending on the team(s) you support, it can be something you look forward to or something you await with a kind of dread. I happen to fall in the latter group.

If you guessed that I must be a Chelsea fan, you guessed right. For a team that has splashed over £270m in the transfer, Chelsea has been worse for it. I always expect that the exit of Ibrahimovic was going to spell a few years of struggle for Chelsea, but I never envisaged it will be this bad early, with a complete lack of any policy or strategy as regards the philosophy or direction of the club.

To put my outlook on Chelsea in perspective, of the fifteen players in my FPL team, only one is a Chelsea player. Still, after watching their first two matches and considering how disorganised the defence and midfield are, not to mention their willingness to ship goals, I have been thinking of removing that one since game week two.

My FPL team has been a little short of disastrous; is. I've has barely been able to amass 40points per game week on average. It's shaping up to be my worst FPL season yet. Looking at my team, I wonder how I spent the 100M, cos there's very little quality in it. My strategy was to go for a few big names, sure point takers if you will. The shore the team with fairly average players

I couldn't have gotten it more wrong. All my big-money players have mostly drawn blanks these past few weeks. Mohammed Salah has been disappointing, and Hue-min Son hasn't done any better. My defender has been turning blanks as well, seeing as all the big teams aren't keeping clean sheets anymore, instead, their defenders now think of themselves as wingers and forwards.

My captaincy choices haven't faired better either, but of course, that's because the team, in general, is bad. Of course, there's the one player who turns up, but it's rarely the one I pick. For this game week, I have decided to stick with Salah as my captain, hoping he gets his mojo in this match, not that it matters what I hope.

I decided to bring in Newcastle's Isak, giving him the vice-captaincy. I can't say I'm optimistic, but I will just wait and see this week, and if things don't look up, I'm going to have to use my wildcard. The games will be starting soon. So, fingers crossed. Have a great weekend folks.

2
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @Olasquare
Sponsors of Methion
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Methion
1 year ago

Comments

FPL has been messing with a lot of us too hahaha. I don't have any Manchester United player on my team too. Chelsea's struggle is shocking to say the least and hopefully with Aubameyang joining, let's see if they will look like a decent side again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am definitely not that hopeful. I don't think it's the players, but the system

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's right. They need to find the right system for them to thrive.

$ 0.00
1 year ago