Knowing My Personality

10 31
Avatar for Methion
1 year ago

There's this 30-day challenge thing that stumbled upon when I read @Ellehcim article a few days back. I really found the question interesting. She should be on her day four by now, you might want to check her out. I've decided to also take,up the challenge. Of course, I won't be doing it on a streak, but I intend to go through all of it. I'm starting off today with the first question there, which is all about personality.

Describing my personality it's not really an east task. I know a lot of people would say that if you can't easily define your personality, then you do not know yourself and the consequent blah blah blah that follow, but that's incorrect. A typical description could something like 'I'm a kind, smart, independent, intelligent young lady with a passion for the arts. I'm always positive, hence I see opportunities where others see problems etc'. Beautiful right? Well, my personality isn't that simple to highlight. Take for example, I'm usually very kind, but when other will bring about the greater good, I can be a necessary brute. So, how do I define that? Kind, but necessarily unkind, see the problem. Anyways, I still have to try though. My personality can be summed using some of these characteristics.

Kindness

When it comes to kindness, you are going to find only a handful of people on this planet that can,very more kind than me, I can say that with absolute certainty. Even when I know my kindness is being taken for granted or being used against me, it hardly ever stops me from showing it. My kindness is both in action and in words, but a lot of people around me would disagree that I'm not kind with my words and I totally understand why they would say so. If I see a thing, I say it as honestly as it is, regardless of how it will seem. This is because, I honestly believe a person who cares about you will always tell you the truth the way it is and no less, cos they want to help you by showing you the problem, so you can fix it. So, by popular opinion, my kindness doesn't extend to my words.

Smart And/Or Intelligent

Most of my friends like to say I'm one of the smartest and most intelligent person in any room I find myself, and I like to think so. This is not me being boastful, but I'm hardly ever average in terms of intelligence and/or smartness. I remember a time when I was quite a manipulative person. It's not like I was doing it for any gain or to harm anyone, it was more of a mental sport, a hobby to me. Trust me, it's not as easy as it sounds. All through my life, I've always been at the top of the chart in terms of my academic performances, although that is gradually reducing.

Independence

I'm totally an independent person. I'm my own man in so many ways. Even when I was just say, five years old, I already had a mind of my own, a dangerously inquisitive one. I don't remember a time I ever took anything just the same way I was told or taught, without looking at it critically for myself first. I was so independent growing up, that I had almost no relationship with anyone, including my parents. Over the years though, I've learned how to maintain relationships and still keep one's independence. I'm finding it hard, but I'm doing it, trying to get the best of both worlds.

Tolerance

As a child, I was quite intolerant of things that went against what I had been taught was right. I was a moral extremist. I used to classify people and judge them on the basis of what they wore, the head cut they had and such trivia things. My mother was extremely worried about our moral standings, so she kind of drilled morality into our brains, so much that if I saw a girl and a boy standing alone, talking and laughing, I'd have concluded they are spoilt children, that they are promiscuous and are the bad eggs of the earth. But over time, I learnt that life isn't so simple and that's not the way to go. When I got into the university, my tolerance level starting growing rapidly, so much that you can be doing something i hate so much beside me, and I'll just pretend you're not doing it or I'll politely walk away.

That's not to say I'm always like that. There are some things I still don't tolerate from people, especially when I'm in a position of leadership over them. I might not stop you from doing it, but as long as it is wrong, there will be consequences for it.

I could go on and on, but I'm going to leave it here as my intention isn't to bore you to death.

Thanks for taking out time to get to know my person by reading this article. I really appreciate it.

7
$ 2.89
$ 2.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ellehcim
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 2
Sponsors of Methion
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Methion
1 year ago

Comments

I really appreciate you joining the challenge. This is a nice way to describe your personality. I enjoyed reading it. :)

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks for the compliment

$ 0.01
1 year ago

To be kind is a gift I am happy I have cos helping people makes me happy for ever

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To be sincerely I'm a kind person and always ready to help as long as I can afford whatever you want

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me too

$ 0.00
1 year ago