Mount Banahaw and My Experiences on It

0 12
Avatar for MesesMylen
2 years ago

Our country is known for its beautiful mountains and volcanoes. In fact, Mayon Volcano which is located in Albay, Bicol is known and famous for its perfectly coned- shape and for its being very active. Another one is the Taal Volcano, said to be the smallest active volcano in the Philippines who erupted recently and caused many destructions and casualties in Batangas and nearby provinces.

Talking about mountains and volcanoes, I am very much familiar with Mount Banahaw, an active volcano on Luzon in the Philippines. The three -peaked volcano complex is located at the boundary of Laguna and Quezon Provinces. It is the highest mountain in both provinces and CALABARZON Region, dominating the landscape for miles around. Its elevation is 2,170 m and its prominence is 1,919 m (SOURCE: WIKIPEDIA).

When I was a kid, around 4-5 years old, my father goes uphill there oftentimes because he had many animals there like horses, carabaos, goats, and chickens. He also planted sweet potatoes there. At times, my older sister and I go with him uphill. We rode on a horse. He had a horse who is very intelligent. That horse can go uphill and downhill without any guide from my father, he knew the right direction and path maybe because he always goes there. Going uphill, we brought some foods like biscuits, noodles, rice, and sardines, and of course drinking water. We place it inside the bakid, a rattan made huge basket that is placed on both sides of the horse that serves as a carrier.

It’s never on the peak of the said mountain, it’s just on its foot, but climbing there is very difficult because it’s so far halfway there, there is a lagoon which is the source of water needed for cooking and washing things and also for bathing. We brought empty containers so that when we reach the place, we got water. One thing that I cannot forget in going there is that on the both sides of the trial, there is a running water which is crystal clear, we always drink water using taro leaves and the funny thing is we do always bring a certain candy which is snowbear, a menthol candy that when you sip it and then drink some water, it gives a very cold feeling inside your mouth.

During my teenage years, I sometimes go there to accompany my father, because his religion is K-A-L-K, Kapatirang ang Litaw na Katalinuhan, they had their temple there. I can’t explain anything about this matter because I really don’t know about it. Though my father’s religion is that, never in my life that he lets me know or he never introduced it on us, his children, he lets us decide on our own, it’s never been an issue to our family, as what I remembered, the last time that I went there is when I was 18 years old, I’m 43 now, so its 25 years ago. I go along with my father because they had a gathering. And my reason in going with him is that I want to meet my ninang whom I never see since my baptismal. I was so very excited to meet her. At last, after 18 years, we had an acquaintance. I was very happy then, but you know, that was the first and last time that we saw each other, until now, I never saw her again.

The gathering gives so much joy to everyone because there are many people around who came from different places, they had mini show, talks, and some spiritual activities. There’s a small store provided by a local but it’s so expensive because it’s very difficult to bring those stuffs uphill.

During the event, happened an unexpected incident. There’s a man who fainted, I don’t know what was the reason why. I saw that some men got a blanket and put a wood on its edge that it looked like a hammock. They put the man there and goes downhill so they can bring him to the hospital. I don’t hear any news about him after that incident.

The night was young and the activities goes on. There are some people who introduced by my father to me. I met a lot and I’m happy to see my father’s acquaintances though I never really knew them well. As far as I remember, it last until midnight, what I forgot is where we stayed after the event, I don’t know if we slept or not. When the dawn is breaking, everyone is ready and prepared to go downhill and go home to their respective places.

Those experiences still remembered and Mount Banahaw has always a special place in my heart.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for MesesMylen
2 years ago

Comments