After Twenty- Five Years…

0 16
Avatar for MesesMylen
2 years ago

Sponsors of MesesMylen
empty
empty
empty

After my high school graduation, it was in 1994, I went to college, but as I shared to you on my previous article, I didn’t finish college because I am not happy and satisfied with my course of Bachelor of Arts major in Psychology because what I want is to take up Mass Communications for I want to be a famous news caster but we cannot afford to pay tuition fee on private school and I went on public school which has no mass communications, so I ended up to be college undergraduate, I’ve just finished my second year on that.

That was a long and sad story. Since I was already eighteen years old on that time, I’ve decided to find a job to help my family. I left our province and went to Laguna just to apply for work. Many told me that there are many industrial parks there and so many factories to apply for. Fortunately, I was hired in a garments factory, then I resigned due to low cost of salary. I then applied to a printing company which was then had an illegal closure, so I tried and to apply then I was hired in an electronics company. There, I stayed for eight long years. I was happy with my job and my schedule there is always six to six, I always have overtime, one month day shift and one month night shift alternately. So that means that I earned a lot more that I gave financial support to my family. I’m always busy there, that I went home to my town rarely. I never had the time to bonding with my old time friends and classmates. I just went home for one day and then go back to work, then I had my new sets of friends, all of them are my co- employees. I’ve never seen my former classmates for long long years.

Believe it or not, I have no facebook account until now. I don’t want to. Because for me, just my opinion, it’s not necessary. Do you know that in writing these articles, my daughter is the one who typewritten and publish this. I just write this in a scratch paper then she’s the one who takes care of everything, thanks to her for being understanding to me.

Not having facebook account may be one of the reasons why I never had constant communication with my dear classmates and friends. I settled my own family, some of them too, and I never had a chance celebrating with them our new journey, I go along with my husband in his place and there, we stayed. I just went home once a year only every summer vacation with my family.

After twenty- five years of being away from my high school classmates, I heard that we will have our 25th reunion, that is when I got back home. I went to my best friend (which is also my classmate) and get connected with them. She told me everything about the plans, I want to go, I want to catch up with them.

The reunion happened last April of 2019. Held in a famous resort in Quezon province. It was an all day and all night of happenings. Bonding, laughing, chatting, singing, dancing, joking reminiscing, and drinking (of different types such as beer, vodka, tequila). So many delicious food to eat. We had our batch t- shirt which was pledged by our classmate who’s working overseas. Foods, drinks and the venue rental was pledged also by our classmates who are very successful now. Some of them are nurses, engineers, teachers, there’s an accountant, business man, pharmacist, few didn’t finish college, just like me, but despite of that, they never treat me bad. Some who are oversea workers who are not able to attend tried to have videocalls. We look like we are on or teenage years when we were in high school, nothing changed except for we aged and matured. We done parlor games and raffles. What a beautiful experience it was. No matter how long we didn’t see each other but the good relationship we built still remain in our hearts.

We planned to have more gatherings but unfortunately, this pandemic happened. Maybe some other time after we recover from this pandemic. Hopefully by God’s grace.

2
$ 0.84
$ 0.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for MesesMylen
2 years ago

Comments