Conch Blue Prison

36 51
Avatar for Meherab007
3 years ago

Humayun Ahmed

01. Get off the bus

Introduction - Conch Blue Prison (1973)

After reading Indura, a wonderful short story written by Somen Chand, there is a strong desire to write a story about the lower middle class. I almost immediately wrote three different stories called Nandit Narke, Shankhnil Kargar and Mansubijan. The writings have been hidden for a long time due to lack of self-confidence. Anyway, the happy hell in the interest of Mr. Ahmed Shafa and friend Rafiq Kaiser was published six months ago. This time the conch blue prison was published.

This story has nothing in common with the happy hell. Both stories are told in good men and the story of the neem middle class is without this miltuku. I have kept the name Dham almost the same in both the books. Firstly because I could not find a new name, secondly because I am terribly weak towards these names. Just as some people have some weaknesses without implementation, so too.

Despite sincere efforts, some printing errors remained. Mistakes will escape the eyes of the oblivious reader, which is a faint hope.

Humayun Ahmed

01.

I got off the bus and was shocked. Everything was washed away in the rain. Streams of water on the streets. People are not moving, the lights of the light post are off. But even where I was ten minutes ago, there is no smell of rain. Dry knocking is all around. What a surprise to think, the rain has come, a small place has been soaked and gone. And this is how this region known as Ashishab looks so ghostly. Walking makes the body creepy.

It was not even nine o'clock at night when Rashid's tea stall was closed. Modern laundry has also beeped. At one point I thought maybe my own watch was off. The night is getting dark, I can't feel it. As soon as he held the watch close to his ear, Montu's voice was heard.

The barber is sitting motionless in one of the small toolboxes on the side of the road. I didn't notice it for so long because there was no light. I said in surprise, what happened to Montu Ray?

Nothing happened.

Montu came up from the toolbox with sponge sandals in his hand. Muddy water. He said in a hushed voice, "I slipped, my sandals were torn."

What were you doing outside so late at night?

I was sitting for you, why are you so late?

Has something happened at home, Montu?

No, nothing happened. My mother kicked me out of the house and told me to beg.

Montu wiped his eyes with the long sleeve of his shirt.

I was at Tulu's house, Tulu's master came. That's why I'm sitting here.

No one came to pick up?

Rabeya Apa came and went with the money brought by the thief, said you should actually go home with you.

Montu took my hand. A ten-year-old boy has been sitting outside since evening, it has been raining inside, people have fallen asleep with the lights off. There is a lot of cruelty in everything. But nothing can be said about the mother. When Dad returns home at ten o'clock at night, he will be even quieter. You will walk around with a black face and maybe one day you will quietly show a movie as compensation.

Grandpa, Runu is also locked by his mother. In the room that has the trunk, there.

What has Runu done?

The mirror is broken.

And what did you do?

I did nothing.

Jhunu sat quietly on the verandah to get wrapped up. He looked at us and stood up.

Grandpa, why are you so late? Which looks bad.

What happened, Jhunu?

How much has happened, you Rabia ask you.

Kushbeya came out at the sound of his voice. The expression of fear in the eyes has become evident. He said in a hushed voice, mother's pain has started, baby Ray, father is not real yet, tell me what to do?

Since when?

Not even half an hour. I will open the door with the key from my mother, Runur, that's why I went - let's see this situation.

As soon as he set foot in the inner room, Runu called out, "Grandpa, listen." What happened, grandfather?

Nothing happened.

Why are you crying?

Mother will be the son.

No. Grandpa, open the lock, I'm scared.

Wait a minute, Rabia is coming with the key.

Mother's vague cries can be heard from here. There are some tears, which are not just an idea about the pain, but also the amount of pain itself. I started to have that kind of trouble.

Rabea came and unlocked Runu's room. Rabia Bechari is terrified.

You're so late baby, tell me what to do now? I told Overseas' uncle's wife that she was putting her son to sleep. You come to eat with everyone, only dalvat. Which happens all day, when Radhab? Mar's mood had never been so bad before.

After talking, Rabia went to the kitchen. You have to go to Kalghar through the front porch of Mar's house. Leaving quietly, the mother called out sharply, baby.

What mother?

Is your father here?

No.

Income inside, why are you standing outside?

The pain has probably subsided. Breathing easily. There are no signs of illness other than a drop of sweat and pale lips on the mother's face.

Baby, is Montu here?

Has arrived.

And Rabeya has opened Runu's house?

Gave.

Which, come with them.

Runu Jhunu and Montu stood motionless in front. Mother said in silence for a while, why are you crying Runu?

I'm not crying.

Well, wipe the eyes. Have you eaten rice?

No.

Go, eat rice and go to sleep.

Montu said, Mom, will I stand on the street for Dad?

No-no. Go to sleep. Runu mother, are you crying?

I'm not crying.

Nothing happened to me, everyone go, go to sleep. Go, go.

As soon as I left the house, I felt bad. This is our poor house, my father's low paid job. Inside, the mother seems completely incompatible.

When he got married to his father. He has 3 M.Sc. A. Give the test. And the father is sheltered in their house. B. from the village college. A. He came to the city to look for a job. Be a relative of them.

After the marriage, two people came to this house. Mar was not tested. Some days he has done mastery in one of the schools. Leaving that, he also took a job in a bank. He quit his job. Following my birth. Then one by one Runu Hall, Jhunu Hall, Montu Hall - mother wrapped herself in herself.

We have got some of her little looks as she has left everything and come to our poor house. Some of his childhood cherished tastes (albeit small fractions) have been transmitted to us. Only for whom I have been awarded, no one has received that love. He has no attraction to any of us except a deep affection for Rabia. Marie's disrespect was felt at a very young age, as I got. Runu Jhanu must have got it too. But we all don't like my mother.

There is a telephone in the lawyer's house. From there I called my younger aunt's house. The younger aunt was not at home, Kitki picked up the phone.

What happened, baby brother?

My body is not good.

What happened to the aunt?

Going to say what happened, he was going to cut off his head in shame, meanwhile Mr. Ukil is listening to what I am saying again. Somehow I said, my son will be Kitki.

You have a lot of fun, how many brothers and sisters. I'm all alone.

Kitki will ask her aunt to come home once in the morning.

I will say yes. I will come too.

We have some contact with this one family within the people of Mar's house. The younger aunt came occasionally. Kitty's birthday, the doll's wedding - are invited to such festivals. Runu-Jhunur.

When I returned home, I saw that my father had come. Overseas uncle's wife has come, midwife Suhasini has also come. The lights are on in the kitchen. Rabea is busy and wandering around. Dad is lying in an easy chair on the inner porch, smoking a cigarette frequently. Seeing me seemed to get a little stronger. Did you tell your little aunt, baby?

Yes. When did you come I was a little late. Do you remember Aziz Khan? There was a watch shop that was very friendly to me. He died suddenly. Went to his house.

It was as if my father was giving me an excuse, as if Aziz Khan's wife was getting fit more and more. Once I thought I would go. Luck was not good, such a big danger in his own house.

Danger father of what?

No. The danger, of course, is not. But I had such a bad dream at night. Whenever I feel like it, my hands and feet get cold. I told Rabeya about that a while ago.

What dream?

No-no, does anyone dream at night or not? Which is you, go to Rabea and sit down.

There are a lot of animals awake in the house though. Yet all around is very quiet. Nothing can be heard in the kitchen except the sound of a couple of dishes being stirred. Dad, of course, muttered something from time to time. He has a habit of speaking alone. Sometimes when the mood is very good, the humming song is also a song. This line can be heard vaguely. Rabeya says, father's night music. Rabyata is such a fadil.

I went to the kitchen and saw water boiling in a huge aluminum saucepan. Rabia's sleepy face was red with flames. He looked at me and smiled a little. I said, are you laughing?

That's it. Do you know what name I gave to Suhasini Aunty?

What's the name?

Aunt Kuhasini. My body burns when I hear his smile. What he said a little while ago. Don't touch

What did he say?

Stay, there is no need to listen.

Don't tell?

Say, today your mother has come, one day I will come for you too girl. Rabeya lowered her face and smiled as she spoke. He seemed to be ashamed to say it. Suddenly Mitsofe got busy and started looking for the key. I said, looking at 3's attitude, I think you are very happy to hear.

You are an ass.

Braveya blushed in shame. I was unprepared and said what happened to be ashamed?

Go! Where I was ashamed, your words! Anyway, let's see if Runu-Jhanura left the mosquito net and slept, which is a mosquito!

Rabea is five years older than me. At this age girls think of marriage very much. Laughing about marrying their intimate girlfriends. Rabia doesn't even have a friend. I am his only friend. Maybe that's why Suhasini aunty said that to me. And I'm such an ass, I put him to shame. Girls are so unprepared when they are ashamed that there is no limit to the discomfort of the one who is ashamed.

Rabeya is very shy even though she is very noisy in the house. Let's stop going to college. Suddenly one day three years ago he came and said, Dad, I will not go to college anymore.

Dad was surprised and said, why mother?

That's it.

Mother said, Rabia, did anyone tell you anything?

No mom, no one said anything.

Gave a letter or a boy?

No mother. Why give me a letter?

But why not go to college?

That's it.

No, not at all. Tell me what happened to you?

Rabea suddenly sobbed and cried, "Mother, the boys call me mother Kali."

Rabei was not the only color in us. As much as the mothers are black, the girls say Shyamla, Rabeya is even blacker than her. But the boys only saw the color of the skin?

He is a boy.

I looked and saw Suhasini aunty. The color of the skin is pale, there are mismatched glasses in the swollen eyes. I got up.

Your father woke me up, it's too late. Not before nine.

I remained silent. Suhasini aunt said, where is the girl? The tall girl?

Come now, why?

I used to ask her to give me a cup of tea.

Rabea smiled and said, Dii, will you sit here?

No, I'm a little sleepy inside the easy chair.

Rabeya looked me in the eye, do you need a cup?

Give.

Then give five cups. Dad a cup, my own two cups.

Rabea started arranging tea utensils. Accustomed dexterous hands, good to see. I said, how old is my aunt?

Lots. Everyone is in his hands except me. I don't think so, do I?

Hmmm. The pain seems to be a little less.

Mother suffered six times. You are happy, the trouble is with the girls. To have a child in the womb means to keep one foot in the grave.

I said, if men were suffering, would you be happy?

I don't know.

Rabeya suddenly started laughing at what she thought. With a wave of laughter, the milk of the cup went to the camel, and fell to the floor.

I was surprised and said, what happened to the laughter? Why are you laughing so much?

I remember a story, so I'm laughing.

What story?

Bad story, but very funny. You will laugh when you hear it. Listen?

Tell me.

A group of girls complained to God. Why should the pain of their children be only girls? From now on the boys will have to, the share of pain will be equal. He said, "All right, so be it." Then listen to what happened. The pain started for the president of this group of girls. But what a wonder the poor husband is wandering around, there is no pain. Meanwhile, the driver of their car has applied for leave, or he has suddenly started having severe pain in his stomach.

Then?

Then what again? The girls said, "God is at your feet." I don't want to share the pain anymore. Our trouble is ours. You don't smile at all, have you heard before?

No.

But?

Dirty story, so don't smile.

Oh.

Rabea went out with a cup of tea in her hand. She has been very unprepared. The eyes are wet with shame. I felt bad. Other times I would laugh a lot at that story. Couldn't do it today. Maybe I was thinking about my mother. As soon as I came to the verandah with a cup of tea in my hand, I saw Montu coming out on all fours.

Kiri Montu?

I can't sleep. Grandpa.

Why?

Runu Jhunu is asleep, I am scared alone.

Fear of what?

Ghosts.

Rabea was going back to the kitchen, Montu called, Apa, I will have tea.

I want a drop of tea at three o'clock at night. Do you need cigarettes or grandpa? Dii brought from the father?

Apa, it will not be good.

He brought a cup from home. You see, don't leave it alone.

Dawn is coming, crows are calling. The hens are chirping in the hen house, the moonlight has faded. Standing and watching the dawn. Dad came out of the inner room, called out in a frightened voice, baby.

Yes,

Your mother thinks so. It is better to take him to the hospital.

Why? Suddenly?

No, I mean Suhasini said. Whether it is old now. Without it -

What else?

No, I mean nothing. Why do I feel bad? I saw the dream as if I was in a room.

What's in a room?

No no, no one dreams at night.

Dad was startled and kept quiet. Mother's screams are no longer heard. From where two cats are coming and fighting. Precisely thd said, baby, I went to the hospital and informed the ambulancYou do, I go.

33
$ 0.00
Avatar for Meherab007
3 years ago

Comments

Conch Blue Prison is my favorite topic..... I am very pleased of your article..😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very helpful story and i get some knwolgdes i like it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks a lot, bor...❤️❤️❤️ I hope and pray you will able to gain more... and I want to like as you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very nice post brother keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Brother, you have written well, it has been a beautiful post, thanks for making such a post, the story was very lively.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow.i loved the article.it is so good article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Super

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. thats it really amaizing article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just amazing.It is very helpful story. Thanks for sharing this story.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have given such a beautiful post outside of Dharona

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Humayun ahmed is a great human being.. one of my favourite personality

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have given such a beautiful post outside of Dharona ...!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very helpful

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good story ❤️ brother

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very nice story. brother

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow I love the awesome story. Write more life stories like this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was just amazing brother.Very cool

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice post brother

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice pick

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice upload ❤️ the other side

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice post bro

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are writing a perfect article ....

Done with the article ... The article is very nice ...

Keep giving articles like this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice brother

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your Story is very Beautiful. I like this your article. Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good write brother keep it up much love from me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good write brother keep it up much love from me ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am 3rd

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Posts that don't speak the language, and are instructive

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Interesting writing!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice post 😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago