SWAG #1 - iCloud Launch by Steve Jobs

16 120
Avatar for Meena
Written by
3 years ago

I am telling about SWAG - Stories Worth Articulating Series through some great stories/presentation told by great story tellers. Art of story telling which we can be learned and it is now one of the demanded skill in the world.

Apple WWDC 2011 - iCloud Launch by Steve Jobs

1. The Setup

About 10 years ago we had one of our most important insights and that was, that the PC was going to become the digital hub for your digital life.

What does that mean?

It meant that’s where you were going to put your digital photos, where else were you going to put them? Your digital video off your digital camcorder, and of course your music.

Right, you were going to acquire, in the device or potentially on your Mac, and you were going to basically sync it to the Mac, and everything was going to work fine.

2. The Surprise

And it did, for the better part of ten years, but it’s broken down in the last few years. Why?

Well, because the devices have changed. They now all have music. They now all have photos. They now all have video. And so if I acquire a song, I buy it right on my iPhone, I wanna get that to my other devices.

Right. I pick up my iPad and it doesn’t have that song on it. So I have to sync my iPhone to my Mac. Then I have to sync my other devices to the Mac to get that song but then they’ve deposited some photos on the Mac so I have to sync the iPhone again with the Mac to get those photos and keeping those devices in sync is driving us crazy. So we’ve got a great solution for this problem. And we think this solution is our next big insight. Which is we’re going to demote the PC and the Mac to just be a device. Just like an iPhone, an iPad or an iPod Touch.

3. The Villain

"Can anyone tell me what MobileMe is supposed to do?" Jobs barked at the team responsible. When he received answers, he snapped back, "So why the fuck doesn’t it do that?"

MobileMe tarnished Apple’s reputation. we have a solution emerged from the ashes of MobileMe.

[Like Great Storyteller, Knowing what could be there in some critics/audience mind and involving them in story. Background - MobileMe was service charged $99 per year to store address books, documents, images and more in the cloud, and then distribute the data to other devices.]

4. The Headline

And we’re going to move the digital hub, the center of your digital life, into the cloud.

Because all these new devices have communications built into them. They can all talk to the cloud whenever they want. And so now, if I get something on my iPhone it’s sent up to the cloud immediately. Let’s say I take some pictures with it, those pictures are in the cloud, and they are now pushed down to my devices completely automatically. And now everything’s in sync with me not even having to think about it. I don’t even have to take the devices out of my pocket. I don’t have to be near my Mac or PC.

5. The Humor

Now some people think the cloud is just a hard disk in the sky. Right, and you take a bunch of stuff and you put it in your Dropbox or your iDisk or whatever and it transfers it up to the cloud and stores it and then you drag whatever you want back out on your other devices.

We think it’s way more than that and we call it iCloud. Now iCloud stores your content in the Cloud and wirelessly pushes it to all your devices. So it automatically uploads it, stores it and automatically pushes it to all your other devices. But also, it’s completely integrated with your apps and so everything happens automatically and there’s nothing new to learn. It’s just all works. It just works

First 7 Min of the above video and transcript used to represent Art of Storytelling used by some greats like Steve Jobs.

Signing Off. Coming Next with some SWAG Story of one of the superhero - Keep guessing till then... 😎

27
$ 0.00
Avatar for Meena
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

This is great,thanks for the update.keep it up you are doing good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the information really helpful

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for share this article. Keep it up. I will always support you. You also support me as your wish.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very Good carry on

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for sharing this article!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good idea

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Subscribe done.subscribe me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Here is the moderator of the community (short) stories/tales. I am sure you know the difference between a tale and what you copy-pasted here. This is not the community for you.

May I point you at the information moderators see: Parts from the article were found at the following locations:

68% https://cloud-computing-today.com/2011/0... 68% https://cloud-computing-today.com/tag/dr... 68% https://cruckos.tumblr.com/ 62% https://seesaawiki.jp/snowman_university..

Plagiarism is not allowed on @Read.Cash I advise you to write an article about the same subject in your own words if this is not written by you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There is no plagiarism in article

As written in end of post it is transcript of Steve job(i.e. Steve job words as it is)

Those u point out all are it's words.

Article was about analysis how to write story that you cannot find in any link above.

Read before saying anything

$ 0.00
3 years ago