How are you

0 12
Avatar for Mdsayeed
3 years ago


English Basics: How to answer “How are you?” correctly

  

Watch this episode now!

How to answer “How are you?” correctly

Has this ever happened to you? Someone says “Hey, how are you?” and then you start talking about your life.

“Oh, today is horrible. I have so much to do, and my son is sick, and I saw the price of gas is going up again, and…..”

Clearly, telling your life story is NOT the correct response to “How are you?” And today, you’ll learn different ways to respond to “How are you?”

In the US, you’ll hear “Hi, how are you?” or “How are you doing today?” or if you’re in the south “Hey, how y’all doin?”

You’ll hear this ALL the time! The server at the restaurant, the cashier at the store, your colleague you pass on your way to your desk. Everybody asks “How you doing today?”

And if you’ve noticed, nobody really answers. I mean a real true answer.

There’s really only one correct answer to “How are you?”

Do you know what it is?

Well?

The correct response is “Fine, and you?”That’s it. Fine and you.

Or some variation, like “Good, how about yourself?”
Or “Doing fine, and you?”
Or “Good, how about you?”

Click the image for details

A quick & positive answer

Basically the idea is to just give a quick, positive answer. Even if your dog just died, your car died on the way to the store, and your iPhone battery just died.

If the cashier at the store asks “How you doing?” as you pay for your things, you should respond “Good, how about you?” or “Doing fine, and you?” or “Good, how about yourself?”

And they’ll respond with… yep, you guessed it: “Good, thanks.”
Or “Fine thanks.”
Or some other positive response that doesn’t really answer your question.

Why bother with “How are you?”?

So why ask a question if you don’t want a real answer? I can read in your thoughts… “Because Americans are soooo superficial!”.

No, it’s not because Americans are superficial (though some are, I’ll admit, yes…)

But…. You know the song “It’s a Wonderful World”, by Louis Armstrong. Romain, you know that song right?

There’s a line where he says “I see friends shaking hands, saying “How do you do?” They’re really saying “I love you.”

“How are you?” is the way Americans say “Hello!”

This little conversation “Hey, How are you? Fine, how about you? Good, thanks”is just Americans’ way of being friendly and polite with the people we interact with.

It’s especially the case in service transactions, like with a server at a restaurant, the cashier at a shop, a receptionist, etc.

I know it can be hard to not give a real response. Maybe it feels a bit fake, a bit superficiel. But nope.

That’s just what’s “normal” for this type of conversation. A real response, especially with lots of bad things, that’s uncomfortable.

You should just smile and say “Good, thanks, and you?”

To be truly fluent in English, you need to master these “little conversations” and everyday expressions. Personally, I like thisapp for learning English, and definitely recommend it!

Watch how to answer “How are you?”  in this week’s episode of Speak English with Christina TV:

Zero width embed

Now, what about you?

How do you usually respond to “How are you?”
Have you ever made the mistake and told the person all about your day?

Share your stories in the comments below, because I’m sure they’re funny! And there’s no shame, because everyone makes mistakes in a different culture, especially me.

All the best to you,
Christina

P.S. There are lots of other Speak English with Christina episodes to help you learn irregular verbs, phrasal verbs, and past simple vs. present perfect simple. They’re just below!

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service

GET YOUR FREE WEEKLY LESSONS

More good stuff...

Click the image to learn more

68 Comments

  • SIDIRLEI says:

    3 June 2018 at 12:43

    HI CRISTRINA, HOW ARE YOU DOING?
    I LIKE YOUR LESSONS, I AM TRYING LEARN ENGLISH MYSELF.
    I JUST START NOW, PLEASE, I AM SORRY MY MISTAKES.
    SEE YOU SOON!

    Reply

    • Christina Rebuffet says:

      14 June 2018 at 20:19

      Hi Sidirlei, I’m good thanks! And thank you for the compliment. I’m glad that you’re learning English with me here! Welcome to the community! And don’t worry, you don’t have to apologize for your mistakes. It just means that you’re learning. No one speaks perfect English, not even native speakers.

      Reply

    • Jot says:

      18 May 2019 at 19:12

      Hi Christina, How are you ?
      I have been in U.S.A just a year.
      During that time, I faced difficulties like listening and I communicated with someone I had short of words. Can you improve my listening and communication skills..

      Reply

      • Christina Rebuffetsays:

        18 September 2019 at 09:15

        Hi Jot, How was your stay in the USA (other than the listening difficulties)? And yes, I can definitely help you improve your listening and communication skills (I can’t do it for you, but I can guide YOU to do it!) Are you looking for something specific for listening skills, or more speaking practice? Or both at the same time?

        Reply

    • Sabina Khatun says:

      9 September 2019 at 17:45

      Hi Christina,
      How are you?
      I like your videos and your way of study. I try to learn your lessons which is very helpful for my fluency.
      Thank you.

      Reply

    • Josie Metzger says:

      2 October 2019 at 00:54

      Hi Christina! How are you? I think this is my lucky day because few days ago l told my husband that l would like to take some classes to improve my English. Somehow, your Website just popped up before my eyes. After reading some off others
      comments l begin to realize l am not the only one on this planet that having difficulty on speaking English on proper level. My biggest problem is even this day l still have difficulty on how to put my sentence on correct way. My biggest mistake is when l start writing sentences is l do not know how where to correct my grammar, quotation marks. I do get very embarrassed lots of times.
      Need your help! XOXO
      Josie Metzger

      Reply

    • Neris says:

      14 October 2019 at 04:13

      Hi Msr Cristina thank for opurtunity too me in your classvideo l think it is excellent point of openin a lot bring at the world thanks l will present it like

      Reply

  • Susina says:

    17 June 2018 at 13:06

    Hey Christina
    How you doing?
    Thanks for the lesson it’s a good way to learn Americans’ way of interaction, for my case that’s what I used to answer, but was not sure if I’m right or not, I’m wondering if we have to tell our story when it comes to speak with people who are a bit more closer, I mean with colleagues during a coffee break?
    Thanks.

    Reply

    • Filip says:

      8 August 2019 at 23:13

      I always says something another and I don’t care.. I’m oryginal and always make a small if somebody Ask me how are you Filip.. I say something like Oh friday Im in love or Im still looking for my grandpha from Katar becouse I don’t want to work anymore

      Reply

  • upendo says:

    26 June 2018 at 12:38

    Hi christina,

    Thanks for the lessons. am a new learner too. I want to know how to respond if somebody ask you how was your night?

    Reply

  • Terehaso says:

    1 July 2018 at 04:22

    This will help some.

    Reply

  • Abhijit Debnath says:

    4 July 2018 at 06:58

    Hey Cristina, How are you doing?
    I have just started to learning English with you. So please re correct me if I done any mistake. And please please give me some procedure to learn English so quickly.
    Thank you

    Reply

  • Abakar Brahim Abakar says:

    14 July 2018 at 14:22

    Hello my teacher!
    In English conversation, when someone is greeting me like Hi, how are you? I will answer him I am fine thank you, and you?
    Sometimes like how are you doing. In this case I will answer like I am doing well.
    Thanks a lot

    Reply

  • Nivedita says:

    16 July 2018 at 12:32

    Hi Christina, today’s lesson was so nice. Especially the American accent (how ya doin’ today) and big thanks for making me

    Reply

    • Christina Rebuffet says:

      19 July 2018 at 11:58

      Hi Nivedita,
      Thanks so much for the compliment, and I’m glad this lesson is helping you with the American accent. Are you more focused on understanding the American accent, or trying to speak like an American?

      Reply

  • Jayeshkumar says:

    21 July 2018 at 15:57

    Hello , this is a good lesson, what would be the answer for “ how do you do? “ Jayeshkumar

    Reply

  • KANTE karamogo junior says:

    22 July 2018 at 14:26

    Thanks Christina I’m so happy for the lesson of today

    Reply

  • Aba says:

    25 July 2018 at 17:17

    Hi Christina, how are you doing today?
    Is the same way in Algeria. We answer fine and you? or not bad, how about you?

    Reply

  • Leandro Roberto says:

    27 July 2018 at 16:45

    Hi Christina.
    How are you doing today?

    Thanks for the tips. With them, we can join into the American English.
    I’m from Brazil and love speaking English. But sometimes I’m afraid of speaking English with a native American (or from other countries)
    I think it’s normal at the begining, right?
    Step by step, I have been improving my English using your tips.
    I really appreciate your help.
    Thank you.
    See you next time.
    Bye.

    Reply

  • Taku says:

    30 July 2018 at 00:58

    Hello, Christina.
    How are you doing today?
    So sorry for late greeting. Cause I have so many odd tasks everyday.
    Furthermore I’m not accustomed to mailing that enough. Through learning English daily, I’m feeling progress
    securely. That’s thanks to the coaching staffs around the world like you Christina.

    Reply

  • Alia Soni says:

    6 August 2018 at 08:44

    I like this app for learning English, and definitely recommend it daily mail rewards login.

    Reply

  • Anup says:

    7 August 2018 at 12:27

    Hello Christina how are you today. I’m new ambesdor learning English. It is good the way that you teach English. If like you we have the teacher before now then we could become a good native fluent English speaker. I don’t mind now you are.
    Thank you. I request you to if any mistake their then convince me and can you speak above in your way.

    Reply

  • ASHRAF HUSSAIN KHADER says:

    23 August 2018 at 00:04

    Hello Christina.
    How are you doing today??.
    I like watching your videos. It’s wonderful.
    Now I am correcting my mistakes mainly grammatical by viewing your videos.
    Please help me out in learning English fluently.

    Reply

  • Franckjoel says:

    24 August 2018 at 18:05

    Hi! Christina
    How are you?
    thanks for these lessons they’re so good, so nice etc…. i don’t know how to say that, thanks you really. It’s true i’m making mistakes but i’m proud of myself to be able to tell all that. what i really want is to understand american english

    Reply

  • Valery says:

    31 August 2018 at 17:09

    Hello Christina! I hope you´re doing great.
    I really like your videos and the way you give the lessons.
    Could you give your advice for people who is teaching English as a second language?
    Thank you!

    Reply

  • joseph says:

    19 September 2018 at 00:55

    hi cristina

    hoping that doing well if anyone asks how r u can we answer I am the best is the right answer

    pls reply

    regards
    joseph

    Reply

  • Gabriela Ferreiro says:

    24 September 2018 at 15:18

    Hi Christina,
    ” How are you doing today?” In Argentina, we generally answer ” I´m fine and you? ” to this question, we ´re quite friendly no matter all the difficulties we have… and we have a lot lately!!!

    Thank you for your constant help and assistance.

    Reply

  • Prachi goyal says:

    24 September 2018 at 17:51

    Hey christina
    I am very good after watching your video lesson .how are you doing?

    Reply

    • MOHAMMAD IDRIS says:

      8 April 2019 at 16:55

      Hello Christina,
      I’m Very excited to learn more about English language with you Many thanks.

      Reply

  • Silas Palolon says:

    1 October 2018 at 15:57

    Hi christina! How are you….
    I’m Silas from Indonesia… would you like to help me improve my english speaking?
    If I can….. I want to learn speak directly with you… but how I can do it? Can I get your phone number or….

    Reply

  • Nazik GUNDOGDU says:

    19 October 2018 at 09:11

    Hi Christina! How are you? I’m Nazik (it’s mean in English -polite-) from Turkey. I try to improve my English. I study everyday, while working-cooking-running etc. Because I love learning English. I graduated a famous universyt in here and I am a social worker. Last summer me and my son went to Nederland, so funny. we decided that we will go next summer. But when we were in Nederland, I could not speak English fluently. It was big problem for me.
    I watched you videos in Youtube very every day. Your energy is very positive, your expression is very funny. Thanks for everything. See you.

    Reply

  • buamil says:

    31 October 2018 at 07:36

    Hello,
    I have heard one of my friends were asking ” How is you doing ? I want to know is that correct use of speaking or not?

    Reply

  • Latifah R says:

    6 November 2018 at 00:37

    Hi Christina! Thankyou so much for the lesson! Sometimes someone says this to me ‘hey whats up!’ what should i answer? Thanks

    Reply

  • Comri says:

    13 January 2019 at 10:04

    Thanks for the clarification. So, next time I’ll answer with “I love you, too!”

    Reply

  • Paul Romuald says:

    4 February 2019 at 15:49

    Hi Christina,
    thank you very much for your help and what you are doing for the people on the word. may the bless you more in Jesus name.

    Paul~

    Reply

  • Anabolik Steroid says:

    28 February 2019 at 04:26

    Thank you for your content. I wish you success.

    Reply

  • crazy says:

    14 March 2019 at 03:25

    Im sick of hearing how are you?. Because the other person doesn’t really want to know and it forces you to lie about it. Saying your fine is a lie if your not . hOW ABOUT JUST SAYING HELLO AND ADDING WHAT EVER YOU WANT.

    Reply

  • Kathleen says:

    29 March 2019 at 16:52

    Is i’m very fine correct in english?
    J

    Reply

  • Sentissi Hamza says:

    5 April 2019 at 04:06

    Thanks Christina For Lesson

    Reply

  • Sunkyu says:

    12 May 2019 at 10:49

    Hello. Christina.
    I saw your video to learn english. Today subject is “How are you doing?” Which mean our contry ”
    What happened today?” I already have known this meaning and agree your opinion. Sometime it make me puzzy.
    Thank you for making your kind video. Thank you

    Reply

  • Ольга says:

    20 May 2019 at 13:28

    Thanks Christina for lesson. I’m Olga ,from Ukraine. I do not speak English well, but i really want to learn.
    Hey, whats up? Good,how about you?

    Reply

  • Mhamed Benamara says:

    12 June 2019 at 18:33

    Hi Christina,
    I am not a good English speaker but i can survive, and i am fine by the way, what about your self.
    I like your lesson how are you because plenty of peoples they makes mistakes when answering this simple question and I am one of them specially when you are talking for example to the american people because the accent is different the the UK or somewhere else. But I am going to start with why not I need to improve my pronunciation also. so thanks to simplify these things for us.
    see you soon.
    Mhamed Benamara

    Reply

  • Carlos Lastre says:

    5 September 2019 at 22:24

    Hi Christina
    how are you?
    I am in English intermediate level. I want to improve my speaking and listening skills. I started watching your videos and I like the way you teach.
    I hope to follow all your videos.

    Reply

    • Christina Rebuffet says:

      11 September 2019 at 11:00

      Hi Carlos, I’m good, how about you?
      Congrats on having an intermediate level already! And I’m sure that you’ll improve as you follow the videos! What are the reasons that you need to improve your listening and speaking skills?

      Reply

      • Carlos says:

        12 September 2019 at 12:10

        Thank you so much for your response. This important for me to express the reasons that I need to improve my English.
        I have many reasons:
        1. participating in international congress and being clear in the language.
        2. Getting confidence to speak when I explained some topic.
        3. Study and work in countries with English native language.
        4. Enjoy to speak English.

        Best regards,

        Reply

  • Neris says:

    30 October 2019 at 18:30

    Hi Msr Cristina thank for opurtunity too me in your classvideo l think it is excellent point of openin a lot bring at the world thanks l will present it like

    Reply

  • Dickens Odongo says:

    11 December 2019 at 05:39

    Hi Christy,
    Much thanks for your good work.Being a Non Native English speaker i have always lacked confidence in speaking in English around people,particularly the Natives as i have always had this notion or rather mentality that am not good enough!
    Well,there is this Course exam that i wish to undertake( IELTS and TOEFL) that really just the thought of it gives me goosebumps!
    Hope that you would be able to help me overcome my fears,be confident,fluent and above all pass the tests.
    Thanks.

    Reply

  • Claus says:

    19 January 2020 at 14:42

    Great article.

    I learned this the hard way when I stayed in the US a long, long time ago.
    I later learned that in the UK the correct and only response to “How do you do?” is “How do you do?”.

    If you ever visit Denmark though, beware, cos “How are you?” can be am invitation for conversation. It is perfectly
    alright to answer: “Stressed out, overworked and absolutely not on the top”, but you can brush it off with a “FINE, and you?”.
    You never really know, so be prepared for a surprise.

    If you don’t like surprises just go for the “Hi…Great to see you 🙂

    Reply

  • Communication en anglais says:

    4 February 2020 at 15:38

    there is many ways to answer for this, but always need to be perfect for situation

    Reply

    • Christina Rebuffet says:

      20 February 2020 at 14:00

      That’s right, good communication is about adapting to the situation! Even more so than having perfect grammar or vocabulary! It’s all about being a good communicator, not a grammar perfectionist!

      Reply

  • Luciana says:

    20 February 2020 at 21:36

    Hi!

    How are you doing?

    So, we cannot answer: “I’m not good or Bad…”?

    Reply

    • Christina Rebuffet says:

      24 February 2020 at 11:07

      You could say something like this as well, and in this case, we would use the expression “Oh, same old, same old”, which means “nothing special, not great, but not bad either”. And for pronunciation, we don’t pronounce the “d” at the end of “old” here, so it would sound like “same ol’, same ol'”! Good question, thanks!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Name * 

Email *

Website

 Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment.

Improve faster and feel more confident with my free English lessons. Sign up today.

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service

CLICK HERE TO SUBSCRIBE NOW

MOST RECENT EPISODES

RESOURCES

Get a free English lesson each week. Sign up below:

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service

 CLICK HERE TO SUBSCRIBE

ENGLISH PROGRAMS

CONTACT INFO

Office hours: Mon.-Fri. 9am-6pm (France time)

© 2020 Speak English with Christina - English Coaching.

Privacy policy / Terms and conditions


1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Mdsayeed
3 years ago

Comments