Writing poem

0 20
Avatar for Mdgolammoula
3 years ago


 HOME ABOUT WRITER BEWARE® CONTACT US GUEST POST POLICY COMMENTS  POLICY ▼

April 11, 2012

Poetry.com Returns

Posted by Victoria Strauss for Writer Beware

Once upon a time, there was an infamous vanity anthology company called the International Library of Poetry, also known by the name of its website, Poetry.com.

The ILP advertised free poetry contests in newspapers and magazines, with cash prizes for the finalists and publication in a hardbound anthology for finalists and semi-finalists. The contest wasn't a real contest, however. Just about everyone who submitted a poem was declared a semi-finalist, and offered the "opportunity" to buy the anthology in which their work was to appear (with, of course, a discount for multiple purchases). If they stumped up for the anthology, they were bombarded by offers of other ways to spend money: yet more contests, their poems embossed on coffee mugs or enshrined on plaques, memberships in poets’ societies (which demanded $100 or more in annual dues), attendance at poetry conferences (which cost as much as $600, travel and hotel not included).

In 2009, the ILP finally went bust, and the Poetry.com domain was acquired by self-publishing service Lulu.com (I blogged about this when it happened). Lulu kept the functionality of the Poetry.com website--including the thousands of poems published by Poetry.com participants over the years--but discontinued the vanity anthologies and the merchandising aspects of the business.

Good news for poets--though of course there was no shortage of similar schemes to take the ILP's place.

Now it appears that the Poetry.com domain has changed hands again. The new owner is a company called Newton Rhymes, LLC, which filed a trademark application for the Poetry.com name in January of this year. Virtually no information on Newton Rhymes turns up in a web search, other than the fact that it is a brand-new business based in Massachusetts and licensed in New York, which also owns a rather neglected-looking website called TRCornelius.com that advertises writing contests.

Former Poetry.com participants found out about the change via an email solicitation at the end of March, inviting them to "claim" their poems on the re-launched Poetry.com website and "share your message with the world!"

The new Poetry.com--which is already drawing participants--features a points and badges system, allowing poets to earn points for activities such as providing critiques and promoting Poetry.com on social media. Poets who amass 25,000 points earn an ugly pin. The poets who earn the most points for doing various things that boil down to promoting the site are promised an appearance on national TV (no details on when or where).

Though the junk mail-style tone of the solicitation email and the tacky look of the re-vamped website don't bode well, membership in the new Poetry.com is free, and there's no sign of the contests, anthologies, coffee mugs, or other cheesy methods by which the ILP extracted cash from poet-participants.

There also doesn't appear to be any advertising--which raises the question of how the new Poetry.com pays for itself, and what's in it for Newton Rhymes. A hint, possibly, can be found in the Privacy Policy (my bolding): "We will receive and store any information you enter on the Web Site or give us in any other way that personally identifies you...By submitting this personally identifiable information to us you agree to receive email and postal mail communication from us and our marketing partners." In other words, anyone who signs up for the new Poetry.com website should expect to be solicited.

I'll be keeping an eye on the new Poetry.com, and will update this post if anything changes.

UDATE 9/13/17: From a comment just left on this post:

Poetry.com appears to have a new owner (Hold Gold, LLC, based in Park City, Utah) as of September 1st. Sadly, the archival database of user-submitted poems no longer seems to be available. The site looks like it's starting from scratch, with a new design and no former poems available on it. See https://www.loc.gov/rr/program/bib/contestpoems/#ilp and, for a name affiliated with the company, https://secure.utah.gov/bes/details.html?entity=9651457-0160.

UPDATE 7/18/18: After changing hands yet again in 2017, Poetry.com appears to have vanished from the web. Writer Beware has heard from many poets wanting to find the poems they posted on the site--again, the site is gone, but here's a possible idea for retrieving your poetry: using the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine to search archived versions of Poetry.com.

Try this: Open up Poetry.com at Archive.org

Archive.org takes snapshots of every single page on the Internet. They have approximately 461,880 pages saved from Poetry.com over the past 21 years.

I suggest picking a date near the mid 2017 as they were the most likely to load for me and see if you can find your public profile.

You WILL NOT be able to log in to your old account. Remember, this is just a snapshot of what the website looked like at a certain point in time. It is NOT a functioning website. The search feature will NOT WORK either.

You can also try opening poetry.com/poems/ to see the full list of poems.

If you happen to have a URL bookmarked where your poems were once stored, plug that URL directly into Archive.org instead.

This will be your best chance at recovering your old content.

If this works for you, please leave a comment here to let me know.

Also: the Library of Congress maintains an informational resource on vanity poetry anthologies, with general information on a number of the biggest vanity anthologizers, and in some cases, suggestions on how it may be possible to find your poems.

UPDATE 12/9/19: The Poetry.com web domain is back in existence, though the page has no content other than a "coming soon" message.

Share

89 comments:

  1. Unknown4/11/2012 1:13 PM

    I was published through them several years ago and I would say that your view of how they used to be is accurate. Spent quite a bit for the edition I still have, mine is the first poem in the book. No, they are not the only one. Most of the poetry publishers are actually worse than ILP was from taking a look more recently. Just look around for getting a poetry book published of your own work, those prices make ILP look like a bargain. That is something you should be writing about.

    Reply

    Replies

    1. Anonymous4/15/2013 1:07 AM

      So this is pretty legit? I write alot. And i wanna get my writting out there and was wondering what would be the best website to go to.

    2. cindy roman10/23/2015 12:10 AM

      @ Brain I was also published years ago thou. But I was just a kid then. Was never able to get the book.. would you happen to know how I'm able to find this copy

    3. Unknown10/26/2016 12:34 PM

      I also had a poem published and would like to find this copy.

    4. Unknown1/16/2018 5:14 PM

      Please I'm looking for my work, my name then was Shelley Caudle. If anyone has any please contact me at shellrydixon@ymail.com. The poem Lost was written in the 80 and I have no copies of it.

    5. Unknown1/25/2018 7:37 PM

      I also had a poems published too I need to need the book and my poems where could I find them I need help

    6. Marsha Eberhart2/07/2018 11:41 PM

      I submitted my poem "Cry A Tear For Me" around the beginning of 2017 and it has completely disappeared. Please, if you find it, that poem was written for my father who passed away 5 years ago this month. If you find it, please email me at shyblue222@gmail.com

    7. tracy williams or tracy camp6/03/2018 11:41 AM

      i had several poems published with my married name and maiden name i would like to have them back. i have some under tracy camp some under tracy lynn camp and under tracy lynn williams or tracy williams. thank you.

    8. Reply

  2. Unknown4/11/2012 1:32 PM

    The Poetry.com anthology, from what I remember, cost $60 per copy and was marketed solely to the poets included. Having them publish a book of your poetry was something closer to $1500, I believe.

    Lulu will print you a small poetry book for under $8 a copy.

    Take a look at Victoria's excellent link. There were and are several better options for poets than vanity anthologies.

    Reply

    Replies

    1. mattramzzz...5/10/2017 2:55 PM

      Publish your own.

    2. Reply

  3. none4/11/2012 5:16 PM

    Ah yes. In the heady days of our youth, my husband sent a poem to the UK branch of what I believe was these very same folks, the original poetry.com.

    When the suggestion we buy the book, plaques, and other merchandise arrived we realised what was really going on. However, my mother-in-law bought a copy of the book and often said that she derived great pleasure and comfort from reading the poem on the opposite page to my husband's. So it wasn't all bad.

    Reply

  4. Mozette4/11/2012 9:58 PM

    I remember years ago, I was contacted by them to 'publish in their book of books for poets' where I could find my works amongst other great poets like myself. However, I had to fork out over $60 (postage not included) to buy the damned book and then, when I was offered to attend their 'Poetry Conference', I had to pay for my accommodation and airfare myself... forget that I was getting in for free; where the hell was I going to stay? On the streets? How was going to get there, on a witch's broom all the way from Australia?

    Well, one of my friends went through with the whole she-bang and she was royally ripped off. The book was crap, and she couldn't find her work in it (but found mine; and it looked like crap and wasn't set out the way I had sent it). The trophy everyone had received was great, but when she arrived back here in Australia, customs took it off her, opened the box it came in the pulled the whole thing apart and didn't put it back together, just handed it back and said 'Oh... no there's nothing wrong with it.' and left the bum off the bottom of the trophy and kept the box it came in. She couldn't afford to get the trophy fixed up properly as they had been rough on it and the whole base had to be replaced.

    When I was asked again to enter, I told them get lost.

    Reply

  5. Paws with Iona4/12/2012 11:00 AM

    Great post. You asked what was in it for the owners? The clause you pointed out is not just about receiving solicitation and advertisements. The web site owner may well be selling the information about folks who use the site to marketing groups. This is frankly where the big money is in internet web sites. The 'Numerati' collect information, and use it to create profiles about individuals and groups, a lucrative business. Thought I'd pass this thought along, hope it isn't too 'geekalegal'.

    Reply

  6. Jennifer Ruth Jackson4/17/2012 10:08 PM

    ... you grant Poetry.com a royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable, non-exclusive right (including any moral rights) and license to use, license, reproduce, modify, adapt, publish, translate, create derivative works from, distribute, derive revenue or other remuneration from, communicate to the public, perform and display the content (in whole or in part) worldwide and/or to incorporate it in other works in any form, media, or technology now known or later developed, for the full term of any Rights that may exist in such content

    Above is from their website, please tell me it doesn't mean what I think it does.

    Reply

  7. Sgtlowe4/28/2012 8:59 AM

    I just received a letter 4-27-08. From the new poetry.com website. It has the feeel of the old site letters I used to receive from them back before it changed hands. The letter states that I can buy a book (50 dollars) with my poem in it. Sound falimar?

    I will say that I have posted and reviewed a lot of peoms on the site. Really just for other users feedback.I surpased the 25000 point mark and did reveive a free poetry.com pin. It came in the mail quickly and was fairly well made.

    We will have to see how this site goes. Any other feed back would be great to hear.

    Reply

  8. Victoria Strauss5/01/2012 9:06 AM

    Sgtlowe, would you please contact me? beware [at] sfwa.org. I'd love to have a copy of that letter.

    Reply

  9. Sgtlowe7/20/2012 10:46 AM

    Sorry I trashed the letter after I reveived it. I figured the trash was the best place for it!

    Reply

  10. Unknown9/03/2012 11:25 PM

    hi my name is mae lavoll,and i am looking for my poems from 2007,8&9 i was in the semi contest at the riveara in 2008 i won a medal and a trophy from the international society of poets an i need to find my poems i have over a hundred or more..who do i contact ? if you can help me email me please mae_lavoll@yahoo.com

    Reply

  11. Anonymous3/07/2013 2:37 AM

    The home page for Poetry .com right now has a banner ad to The World Poetry Movement. The banner is labeled an advertisement but if you view the source you can see the banner is hosted on Poetry .com server which is highly unusually for a high traffic website.

    Me thinks the new ownership of poetry .com and The World Poetry Movement (WPM) are connected. WPM has been associated with Eric Muech, former part owner of the original Poetry .com.

    Here is a quote from Library of Congress website regarding Eber and Wein's connection to WPM
    "According to the Pennsylvania Department of State, the president of the company is Rachel Mueck, who may be related to Eric Mueck, a former employee of the International Library of Poetry.
    Eber & Wein publications share the same ISBN prefix (978-1-60880) as World Poetry Movement publications. In addition, the subscription database Global Books in Print indicates that World Poetry Movement anthologies are published by Eber & Wein. Consequently, the two companies appear, at the least, to be affiliated."

    If you're up for it I think some serious investigation is called for!

    Reply

  12. Lilyitha3/09/2013 9:40 PM

    Ive done investigation, and he new poetry.com is not only legit, but well-run by a team of people who received it from a bunch of morons who don't know anything but business but how to cheat people out of their money. Since the new takeover, there has NEVER been a single scam put out to get money, but rather rewards for practicing the art.

    People need to realize that all organizations have different operating methods. Rather than blasting the past, try poetry.com again to see if history will repeat itself. This time, it won't.

    Reply

  13. Unknown4/03/2013 10:15 AM

    I think even the most hard-headed self absorbed writers knew that there was tons of fishy about the original site. I read an account of a man who who tried an experiment with the original poetry.com site. He had his five year old write some chicken scratches that were readable to the word but definately not to the sentence. The poem was accepted joyfully by poetry.com as a semi-finalist and published along with all those folks that pour their heart and soul onto the page. It's neat to look at your work in print, but you have to give it the credit that it is due. No publisher in the world is out advertising like those guys were because not everybody in the world is a writer, but many want to be. The good thing about it, it made people feel good about themselves and probably kept them writing in excitement. Poor writers kept writing and became average. Average writers kept writing and became better, and great writers went and got published by a real publishing company.

    Reply

  14. Anonymous4/19/2013 5:41 PM

    My poem was "selected" to be in a book as well. They sent a letter that said they would be selling the book at Borders book store and Barnes and Noble and I could buy it from them cheaper. I didn't bite the hook though. I think $45 instead of $60. I shouldn't have to pay money so they can make even more money.
    The letter said something like; Your poem "___" was selected to appear in the book "___" for the world to see! Our panel of judges selected yours from the googolplexian poems that have been submitted and felt it was worthy of publishing. Buuuuuuutt....... You have to pay like 40 or 50 bucks to get a copy (it was 2003).
    When I didn't pay for it I received another one that said something like; Your poem "___" was SO FREAKING AMAZING that it will now be added to the audio book"___"!!! Poets everywhere are jumping off skyscrapers because they don't have this opportunity, BUUUUUUUT you have to buy it. People will worship you! Your a god...
    Ok, I guess I over elaborated but you get the point. I was happy with the copy they sent to me. It was pretty. But I wasn't going to accept a reward on the other side of the country if I had to pay to go there. Pay to stay there. Then pay to get into the "Poetry Conference", just to read the damn thing to strangers. I sent them a letter (in the envelope they sent for payment) and asked them to just send my trophy. And guess what? I never got it. Lol What a bunch of crap! I just joined the NEW Poetry.com. I am waiting for another letter! :o

    Reply

  15. Anonymous6/01/2013 1:07 AM

    I was supposed to have been published by them too, but I didn't buy any copies of the book, so I doubt that they bothered to include my "Winning Poetry". It would be interesting to find out if they ever did. Some pals of mine and I, as a joke, spent part of the day in the library once all writing and sending them intentionally hideously BAD poetry. They emailed all of us that they loved the poems and they supposedly published all of them too. I liked that they even asked you to pay for the trophy they were going to send you as a prize for being such a good poet.

    Reply

  16. Anonymous6/01/2013 8:55 AM

    So once we submit our poems to poetry.com your telling me we give up all rights to our work. That they become the intellecual property of poetry.com?

    Reply

    Replies

    1. Anonymous6/07/2018 6:08 PM

      Technically, yes.

    2. Reply

  17. Victoria Strauss6/03/2013 9:51 AM

    Anonymous 8:55: no, Poetry.com never took copyright. Copyright always remained with the authors. By submitting a poem, you granted publishing rights--but your intellectual property did not transfer to Poetry.com.

    Reply

    Replies

    1. Anonymous6/07/2018 6:13 PM

      Considering the fact that if you did not buy the book and do not have a copy of your work, and cannot get a copy, then they do "own" your poetry. Unless, you can prove it is yours.....

    2. Reply

  18. Temporary1/23/2014 3:44 AM

    Basically, just about anyone can claim poems, but then they will not let me retrieve my own profile with poetry.com despite giving them all sorts of national photo ID proof that I am the original poet. Now, I deleted my former e-mail ID and they are giving me so much trouble and not helping me retrieve even my password using my new e-mail ID.

    Reply

  19. Anonymous1/23/2014 4:04 AM

    Also, they had sent my award to one of my addresses. I have changed 3 addresses, but many times - went to live with my aged mother for 4 years from 2004 and then, returned to my permanent address indicated on the passport to stay from 2005 to 2007, then 2007 to 2008, stayed in another address and then, went to my own house in 2011 due to personal problems at home. Poetry.com had sent me my award to my mother's address that has already been sold to someone else. Now, I don't want them asking me for one ID after another under the pretext of copyright. I have done this last year too and nothing worked out. They did not even bother to help me retrieve my password even after this had happened.

    Reply

  20. Anonymous1/25/2014 3:43 AM

    Kindly remove the comments not relevant to this blog. Thanks.

    Reply

  21. Anonymous3/24/2014 7:25 AM

    The following comment contains some wrong information:

    Anonymous said...

    Also, they had sent my award to one of my addresses. I have changed 3 addresses, but many times - went to live with my aged mother for 4 years from 2004 and then, returned to my permanent address indicated on the passport to stay from 2005 to 2007, then 2007 to 2008, stayed in another address and then, went to my own house in 2011 due to personal problems at home. Poetry.com had sent me my award to my mother's address that has already been sold to someone else. Now, I don't want them asking me for one ID after another under the pretext of copyright. I have done this last year too and nothing worked out. They did not even bother to help me retrieve my password even after this had happened.

    Kindly delete it.

    Reply

  22. Anonymous3/29/2014 4:40 AM

    This is the fifth time I am requesting you to kindly delete my comments. I wonder why it has not been done yet.

    Reply

  23. Victoria Strauss3/29/2014 2:59 PM

    Anonymous,

    You are anonymous. So are the comments you're asking me to remove. Since I have no way of verifying that you are actually the person who made the comments you're asking to be removed, I am leaving the comments in place.

    Reply

  24. Anonymous3/31/2014 12:05 AM

    I have specifically told you which comment to remove and that is my own comment and the comment requesting you to remove the comment. Both have to be removed.

    Reply

  25. Anonymous3/31/2014 12:06 AM

    Besides, why would I ask you to remove anyone else's comments? Thanks.

    Reply

  26. Unknown5/19/2014 11:53 AM

    I was surprised to find a poem I wrote in high school on their website, since I didn't upload it or give anyone permission to do so.

    Can anyone offer any advice on the best way to get a poem removed from their site? I have sent them multiple take-down requests (with all necessary information) without any response.

    Reply

  27. Anonymous8/06/2014 2:34 AM

    Can someone Who already has a login for poetry.com check if there is a poem in the archives written by Jolihan mills called the shrinking shadow? Wrote it years ago and to be honest can't remember it very well. Just wanted to see if it's still on there. Cheers

    Reply

  28. Anonymous11/26/2014 5:10 PM

    This is for Jolihan Mills...
    Shrinking Shadow

    By Jolihan Jonathan Mills...

    Here is your poem, from Poetry.com.

    "Living in a shadow of those who look up
    destruction of your prominence or chance to shape up
    should life have you in the place of role model
    or will you fade away passing on knowledge
    a soul forgotten under the light of a shining star
    or a soul appreciated for the tinder supplied"

    Reply

  29. Unknown1/28/2015 9:26 PM

    Does anyone know where I can retrieve my poems that were published on poetry.com? I had one of my poems published in a book years ago. I also cannot remember my username and password. If anyone could shed some light, that would be great!

    Reply

  30. Victoria Strauss1/29/2015 10:59 AM

    Melinda--

    To find, claim, or remove your poems from Poetry.com, you need to click the Where's My Poem? link on the Poetry.com homepage (it searches for poems submitted before 2012--it's a pink rectangle on the right-hand side). You can then type your name into the search box, and your poems will come up if they're there. You do have to register with Poetry.com first.

    I've heard from people who have been able to find and remove their poems this way, and from people who haven't been able to find their poems at all. Some of them fear their poems have been stolen and removed by someone else--but I think that's really unlikely. It's far more probable that in the transfers of ownership (from the original Poetry.com to Lulu.com and then to the current owner), some of the huge database of poems may have gotten lost or corrupted, and that's why some poems can't be found.

    Reply

  31. Jax Rhapsody4/02/2015 7:58 AM

    I was more or less a kid when I joined, with some pretty crappy poems. I thought it was stupid how limiting they were with them. I've been trying to get my poems from there for years now, and never got in contact with anyone,the email I had back then was through a social network site, through mail.com, and my account, as far as I know nolonger exist. The site itself doesn't seem to be working, yet my poems pop up in google results, and I've grown tired of these games, it's the only site you can find my real name, and shitty first work. I don't know what to do, I wish I had never submitted anything.

    Reply

  32. Anonymous7/07/2015 6:21 AM

    I submitted a poem to Poetry.com and was sent a email and letter in the mail around the year 2005 that my poem was being published in a book called Endless Love or something with that name in the books title. I did not buy the book at the time and I wish I would have. The poem I submitted and wrote was called Erique by Shanda Mills. If anyone here has the book with my poem in it I would love to know, it would mean a great deal to me. I already wrote the site if they know how I can acquire a copy of the book myself. If someone on here see's my poem Erique in the book from 2005 and can submit a snap shot of my poem in the book ( If that is allowed), that would mean so much to me and I would be so very grateful. Thank you for reading this post.

    Reply

  33. Anonymous8/08/2015 6:52 PM

    Is Hot Pink Publishing a similar scam? It appears sketchy. https://www.facebook.com/hotpinkpublishing?fref=photo

    Reply

  34. Victoria Strauss8/09/2015 9:36 AM

    I checked into Hot Pink Publishing and they appear to be running a paid anthology scheme, where you pay a fee and your chapter gets included in an anthology. I've written about these kinds of pay-to-play vanity anthology schemes before: http://accrispin.blogspot.com/2011/05/pay-to-play-anthologies.html.

    Reply

  35. BOSSdog7910/17/2015 8:05 AM

    I submitted my poems in the late 90's and received letters claiming I was published in book ISBN# ######## in the library of Congress dadadada I still have at least one of the two letters I believe in my box of peoms if I can find it. I am going to search that ISBN number and see if I can find it. I found both poems I submitted on the poetry.com website today but couldn't find anything about them being published.

    Reply

  36. Anonymous1/03/2016 4:56 PM

    Poetry.com Won´t even be allowed to go to hell, that´s how unpoetic they are

    Reply

  37. Anonymous1/08/2016 10:02 PM

    Y Pagan, wrote I have retrieved som of my poetry written before2012
    Ihave reviewed many poems lately, but wh en I try to post my new
    poems i receive a message that my post can't be saved, because
    my post is blank (which it was not)
    I have tried to contact this website by e-mail(to no avail), my
    messages are all returned to me," as can't be delivered"

    Have you received any other complaints like this?

    Reply

  38. Unknown2/22/2016 11:59 PM

    So I am the owner of Hot Pink Publishing and I would like to say you all need to get a life. Not one of you actually researched the good things that Hot Pink Does via it's paid anthologies. Like for example, the young lady who had severe brain injury or the two writers with Cerebral Palsy. We charge money in order to coach them, transcribe dictation because they can't type and help them get their story out through the tears. 99% of what we do is in the mindset and we use writing as a coaching modality.

    Yall need to get onto something else and get out of this chicken war and leave my company out if it. Or I will find you one at a time and sue you for slander. Got it!!!

    Reply

  39. Anonymous5/23/2016 5:41 PM

    Carla Hall - nobody said anything bad about you or your company. They were simply inquiring if your anthologies were legitimate. And this looks really poorly on YOU.

    Know how I found this? I was considering working with Hot Pink Publishing after doing some research today. . . until I found this incredibly telling little tirade. So, no thanks! You just lost a potential customer.

    Reply

  40. M3nac3r11/26/2016 2:14 PM

    Recently joined. I have posted six poems and reviewed many. The site forces you to review two poems before posting, even if you have already reviewed two or more. I have as yet had a poem reviewed, so the 60 minute thing is trash.

    Most of the reviews I see are all 4 or 5 star, and the comments are "great poem". A pointless site.

    Moving on to test allPoetry.com next. Somehow it seems like the same engine. :(

    And if you have to pay for publishing, it's a scam. What these people claim as benefits are just claims. The truth is they make money off you and you get nothing but a tiny bragging right nobody who knows anything will appreciate. Pure vanity.

    Reply

  41. Unknown3/23/2017 11:45 PM

    I have poems on both the new and hystorical archive of poetry.com. I didnt get sucked into kicking out money from the old site, but was an avid participant of the site because whenever you entered a poem they provided you with an artist proof and a copywrite in your name.... was this copywrite legit?

    Reply

  42. Anonymous9/13/2017 2:56 PM

    Poetry.com appears to have a new owner (Hold Gold, LLC, based in Park City, Utah) as of September 1st. Sadly, the archival database of user-submitted poems no longer seems to be available. The site looks like it's starting from scratch, with a new design and no former poems available on it. See https://www.loc.gov/rr/program/bib/contestpoems/#ilp and, for a name affiliated with the company, https://secure.utah.gov/bes/details.html?entity=9651457-0160.

    Reply

  43. Victoria Strauss9/13/2017 4:06 PM

    Interesting--I checked maybe a month ago and it was still the old Newton Rhymes website. As before, I really wonder what this new owner plans to get out of it. Bears watching.

    Reply

  44. Anonymous11/03/2017 1:31 AM

    Im so upset that my poetry is lost. I lost the originals in a storm that flooded our home and now poetry.com has lost them as well. Heart breaking

    Reply

  45. mohan11/28/2017 12:30 PM

    I am unable to trace my poems on poetry.com as the website is non accessible as robot.txt all my poems hence are lost.

    Reply

  46. Unknown2/03/2018 2:47 PM

    I didn't even know that the site went down an now wanted to find my poems to show family an friends but can't find them not a happy bunny

    Reply

  47. Anonymous2/16/2018 7:45 AM

    I too had a poem published back in 2007/2008. "Immortal verses" i believe the publication was tentatively called. The piece was 'a souls touch'. I love to find it

    Reply

  48. George Voorhees3/25/2018 5:23 PM

    I can't login to my account anymore. I press forgot password and it says check email for confirmation link but it never came. I got emails in my inbox from Poetry.com Notifier, and it says your poem has been read and reviewed. I click on it and doesn't take me to my poems. It takes me to someone else's profile, named Blondie. I want my poems back, idk how to get em.

    Reply

  49. Unknown4/17/2018 6:26 PM

    I recently accessed my archived poems on poetry.com (within the last year). Now everything is gone. I'd always thought whatever you put out there on the internet stayed forever but apparently I was wrong. Can't find my poems anywhere and although I have some of them written down, many were not. Thought I'd saved copies electronically but apparently not. ):

    Reply

  50. Vincy5/03/2018 12:45 PM

    Maybe they are making a restart again like they have in the past... I do hope so cuz many poets like me put very meaningful material on there and now lost it...

    Reply

  51. Unknown5/07/2018 12:42 AM

    hi, i have posted my poems to poetry.com since i believe 2016 under the name Nur Aisyah Sidhu Bt Abdullah. my poems are receiving god reviews untill oneday all went missing. now how do i get my poems back? they gave a new link but nothing is happening. i have a whole of poems posted on the site and i want my poems back. how do i go about it? please anyone could you please explain the procedure? i am from Malaysia by the way and i even have my photo up on the website. the new site they have now looks fake to me. yeah.

    please get back to me soonest +60175027781. i need to those poems back..

    Reply

  52. Unknown5/09/2018 5:15 PM

    What new link were you given? I don't even have that. The company that bought their domain only bought that and not the business to go with it so no idea what happened to everyones poetry though a few people have posted that some of their work has turned up elsewhere under someone elses name. I think it's all gone, gone, gone. Poetry I had from years back.

    Reply

  53. Anonymous8/21/2018 12:20 AM

    I'm not sure if this article reads as whether Hold Gold is the current owner or sold again. When I took a look at Hold Gold LCC on the Utah.gov I found this information:

    https://secure.utah.gov/bes/details.html?entity=9651457-0160

    So I googled Matthew Hutchinson and the addresses on file for that Hold Gold and found this:

    http://dadlaw.net/attorneys/matthew-b-hutchinson/

    https://hlhparkcity.com/portfolio-item/matt-hutchinson/

    https://www.zillow.com/homedetails/3220-Meadows-Dr-Park-City-UT-84060/68852705_zpid/

    This article says poetry.com was purchased by Hold Gold on Sept 1st of 2017, but the company expired its cert in April 2017 by not renewing.

    Does it make sense for a lawyer in Utah who lives in a 2.5 million dollar home would buy and sell a website like this? Demolish thousands of people's work in the process...

    Something doesn't add up in this whole situation, it makes no sense that someone would erase all of this information thinking that there would be no backlash.

    Reply

  54. Hugbunney8/24/2018 11:54 AM

    I cannot tell, but I would very much like to know, who last had ownership of the actual content belonging to the website poetry.com because you are right in that it makes no sense that a lawyer would buy and then sell the website without any understanding of potential backlash. I never received any email advising me of the website being closed or to make sure I saved my poetry in some other way or lose it nor do I believe all that work doesn't still reside somewhere.

    Reply

  55. Anonymous11/29/2018 7:12 AM

    I am British but lived in California from Oct 2000 - Oct 2004. Whilst I was there I had 3 books that had my poems in them, and 1 CD that had another poem read on it. I haven't written any poetry for around 10 or so years and haven't even thought about going on the site until today 29th November 2018 when it was all closed down. I have been reading comments and things but all I can say is that whilst I was having my poetry put into books and on a CD it made me feel important. I of course still have them along with the certificates and I smile as it reminds me of a certain time in my life when I felt SPECIAL. Regards Jan

    Reply

  56. Katy12/15/2018 7:40 PM

    Any updates on how to possibly retrieve poems from the old Poetry.com?

    Reply

  57. Bronko12/18/2018 11:45 AM

    What legal action can we take?

    Reply

  58. Unknown12/18/2018 8:14 PM

    I wrote to a copyright lawyer who wasn't interested in any class action suit nor would they give me any idea of what could be done. I cannot find anything on the aechive siite which is just awful to get through. Evething is by date.

    Reply

  59. Unknown1/08/2019 10:16 PM

    I wrote a few that they published but I brought one so you're telling me they own my writing and I have no right to them so if I decide to make a book I cannot use my poem please write back to me

    Reply

  60. Anonymous2/15/2019 2:48 AM

    After reading the comments and pleas for help and/or answers...I wonder what's the use of doing so? I left a message on this website too asking for help. Do I just end up on the blogging page along with the numerous others who are looking for help? If you all do try to help writers of poetry...great. If I just happened to have an idea or solution for any one of the comments made on this blog; how would I get in touch with them? I have reason to believe that there are many publishers that you cannot trust. And to be honest with you, you people who are looking for your poems and want to retrieve them? Maybe you should gather all the poetry you have written (past and present) and see if you can self publish a book of all the poems you have. Don't assume that a few of your best works will make you any money. The only way you could possibly get a publisher to publish your poetry is if you do it by volume. Forget about these contests and wanting your poem and name in a book. There are many, many writers that are just as talented as anyone else. What some publishers are looking for is a written agreement (contract) with you where you are able to give them an ongoing flow of your works. Are you frequently inspired or does your inspiration come in spurts? You could try your hand on writing articles of interest in magazines, newspapers, etc. Maybe you could be a free lance writer. You can give someone a sample of your work and along with that send a query. Then, go onto the next publisher. I used to be naieve and thought that I somehow would make some money for my poetry. There is not much money to be made in the field of poetry. One of the few famous poets that I know of from centuries ago is dead. William Shakespeare. Anyway, May God bless your endeavors and I wish you well.

    Reply

  61. Amber C.3/12/2019 3:44 AM

    What really hurts is I had poems published on poetry.com from around 2000 or so and I was so excited to print them out and frame them to show my children and future grandchildren and now I will never have that chance, none of us can ever get that back and it is so important to myself and others who also had poems published on that website. I had the certificate that had the poem on it but lost everything in a house fire. I am very upset over this and I am sure each and every one of you are as well. There has to be something we can do if we all come together as one and take the necessary action towards who is responsible for this. We should not just forget about it and consider it a lost cause, lets come together and do whats right and get the justice we deserve. These were just "poems" to the idiots who caused our hard work to just vanish but to us those poems were a part of our lives. Whos with me???!!!

    Reply

  62. Unknown3/21/2019 2:59 PM

    I realllyyy would like my poetry back any updates yet guys? Or no way to retrieve the poems yet?

    Reply

  63. Anonymous7/19/2019 12:31 PM

    Update on Poetry.com from https://www.loc.gov/rr/program/bib/contestpoems/#ilp: "In July 2019 the Poetry.com home page once more became available. A message on the home page notes that "a new Poetry.com is launching soon." It is unclear when the fully redesigned site will launch. Information about the current owner of the site is unavailable at the time of this writing (July 19, 2019)."

    Reply

  64. Unknown9/10/2019 3:56 PM

    My sister has a nice 2004 copy available for sale. Evidently more than 1 book was published in 2004 because she was looking on Amazon for the one with my poem in it & received a completely different book - published in the same year. If anyone is interested in her copy contact Dee @ dee.burgess@rocketmail.

    Reply

    Replies

    1. Unknown12/09/2019 3:30 AM

      Is there any poems by Disney Corinne Shrader in it?? Or Disney C Shrader?? I can't remember how u put my name.

    2. Reply

  65. CAYALUASIA12/04/2019 8:49 PM

    I entered a contest in 2003 was told I won and had to go to Florida to resite it. I asked if I could use some of the money that I won on travel they said no. How can I find the poem that I won with?

    Reply

  66. Unknown12/09/2019 3:23 AM

    I had a poem published in one book. I bought it. It's a great book. Got award too. Well paper award. But I also got 5others that were published. In 3other books. But couldn't afford them. How do I get a copy of those books now?? I still have my library of poetry book with my one poem that was published. It cost me $75. I bit the bait. I never knew anything was up til today. Guess I've been under a rock. I'm glad a legit poetry.com is coming. I have lots of new work and love to be able to share. I would love if someone could help me understand how to get the other books my poems are in if possible. Thank you.

    Reply

  67. Anonymous12/09/2019 7:58 AM

    I used to make up some of the dumbest “poems”, just to see whether Poetry.com would post them. Sure enough, posted. And, not only offers to buy leather bound books with my entries, but invitations to the annual conferences to hear my poetry being read aloud. I think the room would have busted out in laughter at some of the most idiotic and flagrantly disrespectful language I used. Well, if anyone actually attended, that is.

    Reply

  68. Victoria Strauss12/09/2019 12:43 PM

    Just a reminder for commenters: If you're looking for the poems you published on the Poetry.com website or in one of its anthologies, please read my entire post, including the updates, one of which describes a procedure for--maybe--retrieving your poems. But be aware that Poetry.com is gone, along with its archive of poems, and it may not be possible to find your work again.

    Reply

  69. Jax Rhapsody12/27/2019 5:16 AM

    I had actually a few years after my comment above, had gotten on there and removed my work. Around 2016 it had a new owner that still had server acccess and they gave you the option to claim and remove your work. Now with the 3rd or fourth owner; none of the original content is there. There are better sites to post on.

    Reply

  70. Unknown1/07/2020 8:00 AM

    My mother in law also entered a competition and I was wanting to find the book for her she mentioned a book called quiet moments but if anyone has a book with a poem called who'll care for me by susan o'rourke/Lawson may be the other way round i would really like to try get the book for her if possible

    Reply

  71. Anonymous1/21/2020 9:32 AM

    I have a Book Called: An Ever-Growing Wonder by The International Library of Poetry; this book was published in 2001 by the staff of Poetry.com, it was proudly manufactured in the United States of America by; Watermark Press One Poetry Plaza Owings Mills MD 21117. This books of poems has 221 pages poems start on page 3 ends on page 221 and has one poem per writer. The senior editor was Melisa S.Mitchell, also Jeffrey Franz Publisher P.O. Box 704 Owings Mills MD 21117. Good luck to all of you looking for Your poems.

    Reply

  72. Unknown2/16/2020 6:02 PM

    I loved poetry.com because it inspired me and my husband to write many poems...I would love to see the game part come back where the list of words were given to us and we would write our daily poems and submit them...my husband and I won best poem a couple times...it was so much fun...hope it comes back again

    Reply

  73. Unknown4/16/2020 6:04 AM

    Poetry.com had ran off with my once published poems. I am trying to locate my hard work.

    Reply

  74. Everything BUT the Kitchen Sink5/16/2020 12:01 AM

    Any update? I would LOVE to recover my work. Thanks. Hope everyone is doing well.

    Reply

  75. ann19685/27/2020 1:57 AM

    I had over half dozen poems on poetry.com any idea
    on how to find them?

    Reply

  76. Maria Purcell6/02/2020 9:28 PM

    I am trying to find my poem called Dying it would be under Maria Foster. I dont remember ex3when i wrote it but it was oubkished in a book which was stolen. I can not remember the name of the book either but i would like to get my poem

    Reply

  77. Unknown6/12/2020 2:42 PM

    I am very sad that my poems are gone. What was the point of even copy writing them on that site? It really hurts after thinking that was a great place to save my works

    Reply

  78. Queen Anne7/31/2020 3:26 AM

    I would love to hear some good news or direction to recover my poetry. I am only looking for two: Ode to Green and My Spirit.

    Reply

Zero width embed

Home

View web version

Powered by Blogger.


3
$ 0.20
$ 0.20 from @Introvert85236529
Avatar for Mdgolammoula
3 years ago

Comments