Heart Break

0 7
Avatar for Mcgabby07
1 year ago

Why in this world must I have a heart break💔.

They made me understand love was a natural part of life. I loved the idea and I ventured into one.😄

What they didn't tell me is that it was best to test the water before diving.

It all started when I first saw her in the church. Her beauty was what caught my attention at the first.

“And who on earth is this?,” I wondered.

It took a while(probably a month)before we got to know each other, since it wasn't easy for me to reach her.

We introduced ourselves, And we became acquaintances. As time went on, we graduated from acquaintances to friends, and from friendship level, we stared developing feelings for each other.

One day, she made a post on her WhatsApp status which went as thus:”Have you ever loved someone until the point you cried?”. What she never knew was that she was describing exactly what was going on with me. I had been overwhelmed by love for her that at a point that morning I cried.

As times went on, my love for her grew. I couldn't manage to contain it, but somehow, she was able to contain hers. At some point, she would act as though the whole love things were only going on with me and not both of us. She was way much coordinate and collected in her approach with the matter. Little did I know that she was a bit older than me.

At some point, I would see signs that pointed to her being older than I. This would spark up some fear and tension in me.

“What if this lady was older than me… My goodness, that means it all over?” I would wonder.

I tried hiding the subject of age, not until she, one day, told me directly that it was either I told her my age or it was over.

Alas, here it was-The long dreaded fear of losing the one whose love made me cried. I had no other than to tell her. But as soon as I told her, I, of my will, started kicking myself out from the relationship before she does it herself.

But to my greatest surprise, she had no issue with the age thing. She told me age was just a number. This got me thrilled-That means my fear was conquered. No more worries.

However, like I said, the people who told me love was a natural part of life never told me it was best to test the waters before diving into it.

Time went on. Days turned into months, and months to years. We kept on. And even when we were, by constraint of furtherance of life, had to leave each other to various parts of the country, we still kept in touch with each other. Our love was still strong

Yes, there were times of unity and laughter and there were time we quarreled over some issue. But, all in all, our love for each other stilled bloom.

There came some moments when she brought up the issue of marriage, but my response was still though optimistic yet uncertain. Yet, we still loved each other.

There came that 'fateful'' day. I woke up from sleep to go to the restroom to urinate, when I had the voice of my mum.

She called my name and said, "come and see”. I eased myself, left the toilet and went to straight into her room, only to find a wedding invitation card. And it read :

[So and so]

Weds

[So and so]

In a holy matrimony.

I had almost cleaned my eyes to take a second gaze just to be certain my eyes were not deceiving me. I looked at the names properly to verify.

Lo and behold, it turned out to be her getting married to another guy.

BOOOMM.!!! I was trucked with shock--the long dreaded fear just came to reality before my eyes.

Immediately, I encouraged myself, “It's ok. It's no problem. I won't cry. I'm a grown up. I can withstand this”

I battled with the feelings of heart break. Trying to be a man.

OMG… I never knew the moment when I burst in to tears, crying uncontrollably. I cried like a baby. All the manliness I was trying to play out didn't work. I cried and cried…. Sorry to those who's gone through heart break 💔…the feeling is mutual here😄

That was when my eyes got opened. And I grew wiser and more matured.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Mcgabby07
1 year ago

Comments