My greatest skills

4 36
Avatar for McAdeleye
2 years ago

How it began


At times we do think of what we are good at, and most time we don’t find answers to them. But one perfect thing is that every human on the earth's surface surely has a specific reason for existence. A specific reason to live on and a reason to move on.

Everyone is talented in one way or the other. What we never realized is to discover the hidden talent inside us. But it’s certain that when discovered we have less to worry about. Drawing, photography, teaching, writing, carving, and so more, just take the time to focus and bring out the best of yourself.

Right from childhood days, I realized that I would love anything that deals with nature and I get more attracted to things of such. Most times when I see animals and plants growing marvelously my heart grows closer, and I would want to expect what could be the source of it growing and growing each day. In other words, I would say I put more interest in natural stuff and also love the pure science of agriculture. It was like a dream come true.

Image source

I was at age 10 when I saw it from a textbook on how to germinate beans plant. I was so overwhelmed to see it grow gradually at different phases till it started fruiting. But this was just a theoretical aspect, I wanted to put it to practice. There is always love in doing whatever you love and having the peace of mind that there would surely be a success at the end of it. In no time I found myself mixing up soils together and adding them into small cans after I perforated some holes at the bottom to serve as drainage. It was one of the happiest moments I had, I wanted to see the magic that would happen to the dried beans seed and how it would come out alive and growing another seed.


On to the next phase

Gradually I moved those cans to a corner of the house where no one would see them and also an area that would be free from the disturbance of the chicken in our surroundings. Days passed by, and I decided to check them after a week, it was so amazing to see them germinate into little seedlings with their fresh and glowing leaves on them. I could wait to see how it would start up its fruiting stage and can’t wait to reap the fruit of my labor.


I started to imagine how much I would harvest from them after it comes to success. Furthermore, I decided not to check on it for more than a week, so I could see the huge changes from it. 3 weeks passed by in no time. I almost forgot I had an experiment in the backyard, I hurried over there to take a look but this time around I met something entirely different from my expectations.

I expect to have my crops grown beyond the seedlings 🌱 stage to its fruiting stage as had been explained in the textbook. But all I could find was my soil and some sort of dried plants on them. Anger ran through me, so I threw them away and started to wonder what could be the cause? Why would my plants 🪴 dry off all of a sudden?. Then I went back to the textbook to read all over again. After reading and reading over again.


I never got a point that could have been the cause of the dry-up. Then I went to school to ask my class teacher after I told him about the experiment and the result I got, he then asked me; Did you water them after the first week of inspection? My eyes got widely opened then I answered NO!. He said; the reason your crops dried off was that you never gave them enough water to grow, just like we humans can’t survive without water 💦 so do the plants too. They are living things and also need water for a perfect growth

Image source
I was so disappointed in myself, but I was also happy I learned something new in addition to what I had learned. One thing that is much more certain about life is “Experience stand to always be the best teacher” the more you learn, the more you know and get more exposure.

To be continued…

3
$ 1.01
$ 1.00 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.01 from @Lusipir
Sponsors of McAdeleye
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for McAdeleye
2 years ago

Comments

I love this. It's good to always learn something new and if we are confused about them, it's better to seek for help just as you have done by asking your class teacher. Now, you already gained an experience which you can't forget in case of next time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah thanks so much ma’am. You are like a mentor too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very inspiring and a practical one. I wish I have also skills that I can make myself proud.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe You surely have one All you need to do is to sit back and discover them

$ 0.00
2 years ago