Google Map saved our Day; Internship Hunting

2 39
Avatar for Mayiee
Written by
1 year ago

Hello everyone! How are you? I hope that you are doing well. I'm glad that there is still few writers who continue to write here despite of platform's situation. It is a proof that it's not about gaining earning anymore but it's more about our passion and expressing ourselves. If I'm not mistaken, I didn't write anything here for two weeks. It's because I take a break and enjoy the Holiday break with my family. I had a blast during that quick break.

After the long celebrations, now we need to go back to reality. Oww, I guess some of you already go back to their work since January 2. Some still have work during holiday right? But for me even though the second semester still not begins, I'm already busy preparing for it. It is the last semester in my college life. As a requirement, we need to find a company or bank that would accept as an intern / OJT. Me and my college friend took a chance last Friday to look for a bank because we really want to experience working there. It's not what we expect. It's so hard finding a company or bank. Most of the bank said that we need to go to their main office and send our resume there. We are clueless where the exact location of their main office, all we know is some of them found in Ortigas. Without hesitation, we ride in MRT and we go down to the Ortigas. After that, we open our Google map to get direction of that particular bank. Fun fact, I lived on the same city where Ortigas located but I'm still not familiar on that place. It's too large for me to memorize every corner of that city. So we just follow the arrow and tadaa, we already found the location.

Another struggles we've encounter is the weather itself. When we are in Quezon City, the weather is so hot but when we at in the Ortigas, the rain is so heavy. We are already wet but we continue to go our destination. On the first bank, we are sad because we didn't allowed to go inside. They say that we need to get an antigen test before we can inquire inside. We actually understand them so we refuse to push ourselves to apply there. Even if we send our resume on that bank, there's still no assurance that we accept as an intern. So we just find another banks nearby. Some of them said that they will call us if there' s a vacancy or after their HR evaluating our resumé. It's already 3PM and we decided to eat our lunch. We also lost hope that we can find a bank that will accepts us. Suddenly we saw a Land bank branch and it seems that someone push us to try on that bank. Do we asked the guard and we are surprise because he immediately assist us to talked to their manager. We are too shy because we are already wet that time. The manager is so nice and he entertain us. He asked few questions then said that we can start on Monday which is tomorrow. We are happy to hear that finally ,someone accept us.

But there's a problem. Even we want to start tomorrow, we can't because there are still no official statement from our University. They said that we need to attend the seminar first before deployment. We said it to the manager that our target date is by February. He understand but he really need interns now. He get our resume and said that he will call us if there's still a vacancy but sorry to say, if someone apply there this week, probably they will choose that instead of us. So it's like that our happiness suddenly turns into worry. It's like a 50-50 chance again. We decided to apply on other companies and banks again. We are praying that we can still find some that will accept us as an interns. We also hoping that there are still vacancies on that particular branch by that time. We eat our lunch at almost 4PM and now I have cough. My feet is also so pain because we walk so much.

While applying, I realize some things. If applying for internship is hard, what's more for applying in a job right? I think it's more harder. Even if you prepared to work, some will reject you. Not everyone will accepts you immediately, we need to be patient and determined enough until we find the right job and company for us. I also learn a lot of lessons last Friday. I questioned myself if I'm already ready for the corporate world after I graduate. It's seems that I will enter to a new world again. But I should not stressed about work now, I should focus on finding for internship. We hope for the better outcome of it.

~~~~~

I guess that's all for tonight. Have a great evening everyone!!


3
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
Sponsors of Mayiee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mayiee
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Aguyyyy, ang hirap naman makahanap ng pwdng pag ojt-han jan. Ang dami pang anek anek nong iba di nalang sabihin na ayaw nila, charrr haha. Pero sayang man sa Landbank ay. Sana ni allow nalang ng teacher kaso kapag naman di nyo naasikaso yong need asikasuhin baka naman ma sira sched nyo sa pag intern nyo sa bank, aigooo. Fighting lang, makakahanap din kayo nyan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga ate eh, sayang po talaga yung Landbank eh. Sana po talaga makahanap pa po kami next time

$ 0.00
1 year ago