A Lie Birth A Thousand (and more)

6 22
Avatar for Maxline
2 years ago

Love was the only currency that had us spent on that floor, soaked in each others’ sweat. The colourful lies that we baked in each others’ company were fascinating. And I realized, the promises were nothing but pictures captured in the heat of the moment. Apparently, my hands are buried in my face.

My name is Gideon Adewale but my friends call me G-boy. It’s not just a name. If you knew me, you would know that it is indubitably so. It is called packaging.

Although, I don’t have an inkling about how the street works. One thing you should know about me is that; I’m a fashion freak. Like literally. Plus, I’m that guy who can lie my way out of anything. Yea, the only way you won’t be moved by my persuasive speech, is if you don’t give me audience.

There is no story without a HER, right? One thing you should know about me, I respect my dad, a lot. Why? He is the reason why I can write with tears of pain and joy on my face. Let’s take it back.

When I was ten years old, I caught my mom with my dad’s friend. To crown it up, she asked me to cover up for her. That shit really messed me up. Yea, it wasn’t a “one time thing``. And it wasn’t a “one guy thing. ``

My mom was a super woman. She successfully perfected a messed up childhood for me. It was more like a routine. Different men when dad was away. Even as a child, I hated infidelity. To put a clip to the Long story, I told my dad. And that was when I started picking the shredded pieces of my family.

My brother stayed with my mom after the divorce. While I stocked with to my dad. He’s a great guy. Yes, he’s not perfect. Although, he’s more like my map to life. Basically, he’s my navigator. Why am I tell you all this? I like being explicitly detailed about events.

When I was in my early twenties, my dad looked me in the eyes and said, “My son, I know your hormones are all over the place. And you will want to try stuffs and do them. I’m not against it. You are a grown ass man.

Although, I want to tell you something. If you must get in bed with that beautiful girl without protection, market that date on your calendar.” Those words echoed hard in my thoughts.

Look, I’m not that into girls. Hell no!! I know what you are thinking. I’m as straight as an arrow. I’ve been with way too many girls to be drafting or marking a calendar. I mean, am I in the seventies? Although, one thing is certain: Experience was an advantage my father had over me. And I respected that. Blablabla…. Now, the story…

On that gracious Saturday, Tony hit my place. You see, Tony happens to be one of those guys who has the money but doesn’t look it. Although, he was looking a thousand dollar rich today. So, we decided to hang out at Chicken Republic, an eatery.

We made our orders and as we began eating, something happened. A shabby looking guy approached this hot chick. OK, I guess, I exaggerated. Although, he wasn’t looking… you know? You’ll figure it out.

“Ten thousand naira, that girl will embarrass the guy.” I said to Tony.

“ I’m in.” he reply abruptly.

So, we watched as the whole incident was going to play out. The guy approached her.

“Hi! I’m Jack. You have a lovely hair. Do you mind if I sit with you?” He made an attempt to sit face to face with her.

“Really!! What are you? Dude!! you smell, like literally. And you wear one hell of a cheap trash for clothes. Hey! Let me do you a solid. Because you look like a gold digger. Drop your account details, let me upgrade your wardrobe and compliment it with some perfumes. Geezzz!!! Yuuuuk!!! You are gonna make me want to puke!!! Get up!! Please, you dirty thing.” She shouted.

The young man stood up with all eyes surveying his appearance. It was a pitiful sight to watch. He rushed out of the place like his ass was on fire.

I won the bet. I kinda have a thing for tough girls. They spark my interest. So I made another bet.

“ Another Ten thousand naira, I will date that girl. I love her but the money will be an icing on the cake.” I said.

“ I’m in” Tony said.

I know a thing or two about such girls. So, walked to her table and sat directly opposite her. I stared at her and smiled.

“Hello, lioness. Waitress, bring your most expensive wine.” I ordered. She smiled.

“ So you are one of those guys, ehn! What makes you think I can be bought?” she asked with a smile.

“ Take it easy on me, my lady. Or would you rather I dropped my account details too? I mean, I would oblige.” I said with a smile.

“I love your guts, I’m Omolara, Omo for short and you are…”

“I’m Gideon, G-boy for short. Can I have your contact? I am in a hurry.” I stood up and paid her bills, after I dropped my card with her. It’s not like I was busy. It’s the code. I didn’t want to give her the impression that I’m deeply into her.

“ Call me, so we can have a proper date.” I told her and zoomed off with Tony.

That was how I started dating òmó! It’s been three years since then. We’ve never had enough of each. We were always together. Rich girls and fun are inseparable. We visited the most exquisite hotels in town. I believed our feelings were deep rooted down the ground. Like very deep, I mean the marriage kinda deep.

On that gorgeous Sunday, Òmó visited me. She was crying. I didn’t understand why she was in tears. I spotted a letter in her hand.

“ I’m pregnant, babe. “ she said in midst tears. I looked at her and smiled. “ Wow!! So, I’m going to be a father. Yes!! Stop crying!! We should be celebrating!!!” I was quite ecstatic about it. Until my eyes caught the paper. Something apprehended me. She was three weeks gone.

That’s impossible. We haven’t made love for about a month. I quickly tossed the ring back into my pocket. My expression changed.

“ Babe, tell me the truth. Who is the father?” I asked calmly. I tried hard to control my anger.

“ It’s you, babe. I swear, I love you and you alone. I’ve been with just you. You met me as a virgin, didn’t you?” she asked me.

“ Ehn! This is emotional blackmail. And I won’t have it, in as much as I love you. I won’t be dragged into a lie. You had better take your bastard child out of my house,” I finalized with a deafening look.

Òmó left my house in tears. I felt my heart shred into tiny pieces within but I couldn’t go after her. If only she could trust me enough to come clean. I won’t mind accepting the baby. I couldn’t sleep. I kept rolling on my bed. I went to my calendar and checked. I was right about it. I had marked down the last time we had sex and it just didn’t tally.

The next day came like a lightening. I heard a knock on my door and when I opened it, the cops stood there. I smiled.

“ Are you Gideon Adewale?” the officer asked.

“ Yes, I am. What is the problem,” I asked with a straight face.

“ You will have to follow us to the station. You have be accused of impregnating one Omolara Ogunwale,” he said, and brought out handcuffs. I followed them angrily.

To be continued.

What will happen to G-boy?

Was G-boy responsible for the pregnancy?

Was Omolara right for getting G-boy arrested?

*Watch out for the final part.*

2
$ 0.13
$ 0.05 from @GarrethGrey07
$ 0.02 from @gwapojohn
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
+ 2
Sponsors of Maxline
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Maxline
2 years ago

Comments

She shouldn't have used the police to arrest him, is a family thing, they will together to iron it out. Well, let me wait for the next episode

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are those who would say that's her only option

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True though but that isn't at all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm very sure Omo has cheated on Gideon and brought home another man's baby, this sort of thing happens in our society

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why e sure for you like that?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Because e sure for G-boy 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my! I am lost too. I felt sad for Omo but what if Gboy was right that he was not the father since he marked the calendar or perhaps there's an instance he just forgot to mark.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's always that possibility

$ 0.00
2 years ago