Don't read the black book

0 6
Avatar for Maxdine
3 years ago

Have you ever experienced death? Sometimes it doesn"t hurt, but sometimes it feels like you are a sweater, and your strings are slowly being unraveled, leaving you cold and alone.
I can"t remember how many times I"ve experienced death. Hundreds? Thousands? It"s all just blended together at this point. I just hope my message reaches you somehow. And if it does, don"t stop reading. Your life depends on it.
You need to remember this one thing for me, *don"t touch the black book.*
I made the mistake of reading it myself, I fell into the trap that it drew me towards, and since then, I"ve died every day.

The black book seemingly has a aura. In fact, it doesn"t even look black at first. It looks heavenly, but the contents inside are anything but that.
I can"t remember at what time I first saw it, but I remember *how* I saw it.
I always loved reading old, rare, books. I hoped to one day find the oldest book that was ever created, one so old, that it"s not even recorded in history, and very few people knew about it.
When I found the old library, my dreams came true, or, so I thought.
When I arrived, the first thing I heard was, "we don"t get much visitors these days..."

I turned around and saw an elderly woman with a wrinkly smile and short, curly white hair. "Is there anything specific you"re looking for?"
I forgot to speak for a moment, it"s like she appeared suddenly, out of nowhere. After a minute of silence, I spoke. "Oh- Yes. I"m looking for a specific book. It"s very old, but not many people have heard abot it. libro nigrum."
"The Black Book?" The elderly woman asked, still holding that smile on her face.
"Y-Yes! You"ve heard of it!" At this point, I was feeling slightly unsettled but I brushed it off as pointless anxiety. "Do you have it here?"
The old lady thought for a moment then nodded. "Yes, I believe it is in the storage room. The book is very advanced, and I usually don"t let the few people I see down there, but you seem to be a smart cookie. I"ll let you take a look."

The old woman led me down some stairs into a dark room. I was terrified for a moment before the lights were turned on. The entire basement ceiling was covered in cobwebs, and there were shelves of even older books.
"You see that book in the back? That is it." The old lady pointed to a book that was enchanting. All of these thousands of years and the book seemed to be in perfect condition.
"You may have it, if you like. I"ve no need for it anymore."
I smiled and ran over to grab it. "Thank you so much!" I checked my watch, then realized that it was getting late. I was there longer than I thought. Weird.
"It"s getting late! I need to study for university! I"ll be back tomorrow, if you want."

The old lady stopped smiling. "You won"t be back." That made my hair stand on end before she smiled again. "You should run along! No need to skip your studies!"
I handed her some spare cash that I had in my wallet, as my home wasn"t too far from here. "That"s all I have in my wallet." I smiled. "Take it!"
"Thank you dearie." The woman smiled, taking the money before I ran out.
When I got back to my dorm, I placed the book on my bed before I began to study, but my thoughts kept drifting to the book. I tried to ignore it until I couldn"t anymore.
*"just a page or two."* I thought to myself. *"couldn"t hurt, right?"*

I sighed and grabbed the book, opening it up. On the first page, there were 3 words in Latin that were clear as day. *ire in gehennam*
"ire in gehennam?" I said out loud. "Doesn"t that mean Go to Hell?"
I kept reading it out, but the words seemed scrambled.
This seemed like a perfect opportunity for my Language arts class. I needed to write an essay on the topic of my choice, but I hadn"t figured it out until now.

I closed the book before going over to my laptop and opening Google Docs. I opened a new document, but there were already 3 words there. "ire in gehennam."
My heart seemed to stop, and I suddenly felt lightheaded. I stumbled back before everything went black.
(LET ME KNOW IF YOU WANT TO SEE MORE, AND I"LL COMPLETE PART 2)
EDIT: PART 2 WILL BE OUT WITHIN NEXT FEW DAYS

1
$ 0.30
$ 0.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Maxdine
3 years ago

Comments