When a Song Heals You

1 13
Avatar for Maryam07
3 years ago


Have you ever done a ​send me a song​​​​ on any of your social media accounts? I did sometime ago and a friend sent me ​You Say by Lauren Daigle. ​​​​​​​​​​I wrote this while listening to the song. It was one of the songs that helped me through the previous year. Most of my joys and pains are put into writing. It's the only way I know how to express. The link is at the bottom of the post. I hope it finds you well.






I found my voice


Amidst cracks and patches, 


Croaking in the beginning


Like a frog in a dirt puddle, 


Wiggling it’s weak tail. 


I found the words 


Amidst debris and stones, 


Written in unclear letters, 


Hidden under the soil, 


Waiting for me to come through. 




I found my feet


Amidst sore joints and muscles, 


Struggling to stand upright


Like a new born.


Falling without aid.


I found them 


Amidst worn boots and jeans, 


With holes on each pair,


The threads and pins sitting beside them,


Waiting for me to stitch them up. 






I found my strength


Amidst feeble muscles and sinews, 


Stretching warily in the morning


Like an old chair, 


Creaking when stepped on. 


I found it


Amidst lost hope and dreams. 


Each looking me in the eye, 


Pleading in mockery, 


Daring me to make a move. 




I found my pen


Amidst shredded books and rat faeces,


Dusty and rotten with age,


Like an abandoned castle 


Covered with cobwebs and peeling paint. 


I found it


Amidst weak papers and smeared ink, 


Splattered as if on purpose, 


Blurring the letters and numbers, 


Awaiting my arrival.

9
$ 0.00
Avatar for Maryam07
3 years ago

Comments

Very amazing article dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago