Today, I'm Angry

1 7
Avatar for Maryam07
3 years ago


It all began last week. First, it was the viral video of Amy Cooper calling the police on an African American man, her exact words and acting all hysterical over the phone about how he wanted to hurt her. While this was on, the man in question was calmly recording the whole episode. He never touched her. He didn't even raise his voice. The video eventually got out. She got fired from her job and also lost the right to provide shelter for the dog she was busy choking to death. The same dog the man in question asked her to put on a leash before everything started. This happened at Central Park.




A day or two after that, the news of George Floyd's death broke. I refused to watch the video. I also refused to look at the photos. I tried to avoid but it's everywhere and it gets in my face whenever I go online.

Race talk is one thing I avoid like a plague. People who knows me know that the person at the receiving end of the conversation gets burned. It makes me very angry. And no, gone are the days when you say it isn't happening to me so I won't say a thing. You're enabling. People have lost their loved ones because of the inhumane acts of another human being, a law enforcement officer who should know better. Why? Because he believed he could get away with it. The privilege. The power. Makes you wonder how many he had gotten away with before now.

On Saturday, another news threatened to shatter the Nigerian internet. Two actually. A 22 year old undergraduate was attached with a fire extinguisher, raped and then murdered when she was studying. This all happened in a church. A freaking church.

Oh, I told you it's two. Wait for it. A 12 year old girl was gang raped by 11 men. 11 GROWN MEN. ADULTS.

So you get it when I say that I'm angry. There aren't any tears left to shed this time, just anger. And there are the rape apologists who wants to know what a 12 year old child was wearing. And of course those who tells you all men are not the same.

Just shut the fuck up. You're part of the problem. And please don't call them animals. They are MEN. Grown men. Fathers. Uncles. Brothers. Sons. And they defiled and took from a child. All 11 of them. Call it what it is or shut up and sit down.

For a long time women have lived in fear. It doesn't matter how old or young you are. You just aren't safe.

And of course the stupid press release from the institution of the young lady, calling on every student to be mindful of where they go and the company they keep. Victim blaming, now of all times. Tells you alot about the world we live in and how alone you actually are as a woman

When will it end? 


Will it ever?

9
$ 0.00
Avatar for Maryam07
3 years ago

Comments

Cool byb 😇😇

$ 0.00
3 years ago