Misfit

0 4
Avatar for Maryam07
3 years ago


Another one of my poetry prompts. The word for this one is ​misfit​​​​. I hope it finds you well.






I have words in my mouth, 


Tiny pieces of sounds sitting blank, 


Emotions struggling to spill, 


All light and heavy at once. 


There’re things I wish to say, 


About people and opinions, 


About options and situations. 




I have a song in my head, 


A sad melody humming softly, 


Waiting for the right moment


To get loud and be heard. 


An opportunity to be free, 


Not in mockery or fake courtesy, 


Rather in love and appreciation. 




I have questions for the world, 


Jumbled thoughts I fail to grasp, 


Moving like a merry go round, 


Knowing it’ll come out wrong. 


Day after day it sits in fear


Of being judged by the crowd, 


Yet impatient to be let loose. 




A child is born naked and innocent, 


His laughter sweet and real


Till he takes his first step


And gets mocked for falling. 


Then he grows up wondering, 


Carrying with him unspoken phrases, 


Questions no one will answer. 




I have struggles I yearn to speak of, 


Flaws I'm impatient to show of, 


Insecurities I've made peace with.


I wonder why everyone demands perfection


And make mockery of those they believe to be out of place. 


It's like a crack on an egg,


Unfixable by a hand or a machine. 

8
$ 0.00
Avatar for Maryam07
3 years ago

Comments