Culture

0 7
Avatar for Maryam07
3 years ago


Still on the poetry prompts I'm working with. The word for today is ​culture​​​​. Take a loook

I want to tell you storie

About my life and things I’ve seen. 

About people and places I’ve been.

I have a lot to tell. 

Tales both beautiful and ugly. 

Would you like to hear 

The things I did in my youth, 

Little actions I secretly regret. 

Or the ones I do in my old age, 

Those I don’t intend to give up.


I want to tell you about children, 


Little humans running around naked, 


Hiding behind trees pointing at strangers. 


Girls with firewood on their heads, 


Boys with hoes on their shoulders. 


Would you like to hear 


How they peep at adults 


While they take a bath, 


Or how they roam the streets after rain, 


Catching and frying termites. 




I want to tell you about women 


Living in service to their husbands. 


Smoke puffing from their kitchen, 


Trays balanced on their heads, 


Hips swinging in rhythm. 


Would you like to hear


How they make an innocent person 


Confess to killing her husband, 


Or how they go round the village 


Stripping her naked and screaming shame. 




I want to tell you about men, 


Sitting and laughing at unfunny jokes, 


Smoking pipes with stained teeth. 


The oldest breaking colanut, 


The youngest serving palm wine. 


Would you like to hear


How they touch their daughters


And make a man blind with juju, 


Or how they beat their wives 


And take from her while she sobs. 




I want to tell you about a people, 


Accepting a certain way of life. 


Generations go by them


As they hold on to nothing, 


Wallowing in accepted ignorance, 


Would you like to hear 


How they murder 


Whoever that throws a challenge, 


Or how they close their eyes 


While their children suffer.



7
$ 0.00
Avatar for Maryam07
3 years ago

Comments