Doing your Best in the Midst of the Pandemic

2 17
Avatar for Marvz
Written by
3 years ago

March… April… May… June… July… August… September…….

Many months had passed in our grasp. Many days of our lives seem to have been stolen from us. All the fun just faded because of this party pooper disease. All the time we hope to be spending with our friends at school or at work is all but just removed from us. The plans we made before the year even started for the summer vacation was all but nothing now. We are locked at our homes, enjoying the company of our family but sometimes this is just not enough to satisfy our social needs.

Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and many other social networking sites are there to pacify our burning desire to shove open the door and go outside.  It’s truly enjoying, there was even a time when I did nothing all day but browse my feed and shower all the posts with my “holy heart reaction” and to my folly realized that’s it’s already 11 PM (haven’t even had my lunch and dinner). I did that for many months, I will do first a little of my paper works and then dive to the addicting world of social media.

The time came and passed. I lose weight and get sick because of my inability to limit myself in the usage of social media. Then, I asked myself, did I gain anything from liking my friends’ posts, watch videos after videos, and browse memes after memes? Of course, a tiny bit of joy. But, was that enough for me to waste my time and body and life for? No.

This was the time when I transformed my social media time into a skill learning time. And for this article, I am going to talk about new language learning.

So, why did I choose to learn a new language? An easy question that has a lot of answers: First, I chose to learn a new language because it’s fun. Acquiring a new language is hard – and can be very hard depending on the language you’re trying to learn – but finding myself being able to understand, though sometimes I tend to digest it erroneously, articles written in Spanish is thrilling. And that is the primary reason why I’m so eager to learn and advance myself in Spanish.

Second, in this ever-changing world, being multilingual is an advantage especially in the world of business and in the scope of the academe. Being able to understand and communicate different languages not just only expand one’s social world but also could land you your dream job or expand your target market if you are starting a business. Also, language teaching is an in-demand job as many people want to learn a new language (especially English) but having a hard time or cannot learn at all with one’s effort alone.

The third reason – if the first two reasons are still not enough for you - and the best reason to acquire a new language is to understand different cultures. Understanding one’s culture leads to less prejudice and hate and eventually leads to peace. All country has different cultures thus different beliefs, and being able to understand the root of those beliefs leads to respect, and respect is sometimes all we needed to end turmoil and hate.

If you want to learn a new language you can try many free platforms that offer language learning. This is the two of the best learning app out there for me that is proven and tested by many people and had helped me advance myself and my friends in this endeavor.

Duolingo

I use this the most because it’s just like a game. I use this for at least fifteen minutes a day and together with it read some free textbooks that are all over the internet that are waiting for everyone to enjoy.

Babel

Some of my friends use this and recommended this. Haven’t actually tried it yet but I believe this is just as good as the one above.

 

You can also join many groups on Facebook where people from different countries join and help each other for the same goal of learning a new language. Just click your search bar and look for some groups such as “Learn Spanish” and many more. With it, you can chat or even talk to native speakers of your target language while at the same time adding friends and having a fun time.

 If you like this article please click the subscribe button and be updated to my daily article posts.

Gracias y hasta pronto!

#SelfImproventMondays

5
$ 0.00
Avatar for Marvz
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I will try duolingo, this might help me in writing adticles here in read. Cash..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Duolingo is very good, at least on my experience. It's very friendly for new users, also it has very clear information about the rules (semantically and syntactically) written on the tips which can be seen before starting a lesson. Goodluck to your language goals!

$ 0.00
3 years ago