When Saying NO to Others Means Saying YES to Yourself

0 10
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

I was asked to translate in Tagalog the discipleship material we're using in church. After assessing the content, I did not hesitate to accept the task. I thought I can finish it before 2021 ends. However, I was overwhelmed with my overlapping duties and personal errands that I failed to deliver the translation. Though it was just a personal deadline and there were no consequences on my part, I still felt bad about it. 

As soon as the euphoria of festivities waned off, I tuned in to my laptop, and night after night, I focused on my pending translation task. I'm not sure if it was due to the placebo of New Year or the feeling of wanting to prove yourself, but nevertheless, I was able to finish in less than a month the work that was given to me for a whole quarter. 

Admit it, there are times when like me, you've been bombarded with a seemingly endless list of things to do. This occurs when we are too accommodating of requests from people or we just crave too much work in the name of productivity. It may look challenging, but in the long run, it will lead to possible losses. 

The quality of our work is compromised

Some jobs are impossible to be done overnight. Take thesis writing for example. There is a reason why it is to be done at least a semester-long. Data needs to be gathered, consolidated, analyzed, synthesized, and processed to become meaningful information. Only then you can have a verifiable and scholarly conclusion. Tons of reading should be made. Days and nights of research have to be done. As my friends have said, "you can't cram the RRL" [Review of Related Literature, just in case].

But when time is maximized to the fullest, and no part is done in rush, at least the writer will be confident in his efforts. People often say that haste makes waste. I believe those that adhere to this adage are those who learned that anything done in haste is either wasted or the quality is compromised. 

You're letting other opportunities pass

When I committed to working non-stop with my translation work, I have to give up other things: reading books, watching movies, writing blogs, etc. It's not that they are all worthwhile compared to what I am doing at that moment, but the point is when you're too occupied in doing something, you're missing out on other things. 

Imagine cramming up for a back job that should have been finished days ago. While you're doing that job, you missed out on an important family dinner because you're working overtime. Or perhaps you have to let go of the opportunity to earn from a potential side hustle because you need to attend to your back job. 

You will push yourself too hard

When we fail to maximize our time to meet our schedules, the tendency is we'll end up stretching our remaining time just to catch up. Time is a great equalizer. Everyone, no matter the status, is given the same 24 hours. But when we're not wise enough in using this valuable resource, it's either our health, pockets, emotions, or relationships that will be at stake. The 24 hours that should be our great asset, will no longer seem to be enough anymore. We have to unnecessarily stretch ourselves - something that could have been prevented in the beginning.

These possible losses could have been prevented if we manage not just our time, but all the more our tasks more efficiently. Focus on what's important, don't let distractions overtake you. If there are favors asked, be wise in choosing which to accept and which to decline. There is no harm in saying NO. It is an expression of self-love. In choosing to say NO, you're saying YES to yourself. 

Image credits: Unsplash.com

1
$ 0.89
$ 0.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

Comments