Things I Learn from Our Wedding Preparations

17 51
Avatar for Marts
Written by
1 year ago

Last Saturday, while doing my usual stuff, it dawned on me – “this is the last week that I’m a bachelor! This is my last week of being single!”

And even as of writing I still relish the idea that this is the last week that I am still single because in a few days I’m getting married. I’m excited, anxious, and hopeful at the same time. It feels surreal!

While I have an ideal married life and we have somehow planned things for ourselves, I cannot shrug off the idea that there are lots of things unexplored and surprises that await us. Soon enough, we have to figure things out for ourselves. There may be a lot of tips, hacks, and advice available, but we have to write our marriage playbook. It all boils down to our partnership and commitment. 

I want to share some of the things I learn as we prepare for our big day.

There will be friction – a lot!

A wedding requires a lot of choices and decisions. It will bring every couple up on their toes. And if one of them is indecisive, or both are so aggressive in making decisions, expect arguments and friction. It is a period of testing where your trust and submission, leadership and sacrifice, will be pushed to the edge. 

Frictions are expected in any relationship. Arguments are normal. But this gets heightened during wedding preparations because of the invested emotions – a mixture of excitement, pressure, wanting to please the guests, available working budget, preferences, etc. However, at the end of the day when the couple comes into an agreement, they will discover a lot about themselves. They will have a glimpse of their likes and dislikes, values and irritations, etc. Wedding preparation is the beginning of a lifetime of discovery.

There will be a shower of love

I learned that people love weddings! They get excited when couples get to engage and commit to marriage. When you commit to a lifetime together, people will shower you with good wishes and there will be gifts! 

Honestly, I do not patronize the idea of others that weddings can be an excellent money-maker. The primary role of sponsors is to serve as relationship advisers, not financers. However, I still acknowledge that this is a cultural thing. Especially us, Filipinos. We are generous and lavish when it comes to the people we love and care about.

And weddings sure open the faucet of blessings! As I mentioned in my previous post, there will be people who will extend help if you allow them to. I still believe that the default in people is to love. And I have proven that! I receive messages, pledges, and gifts from people days before our wedding. I know, I am surrounded by loving and caring people.

Take that first step

Our wedding is supposedly set for December, but we have to move it this August due to some schedule changes. It was an unexpected but welcome change. And because of this change, we have to expedite our requirements. And to our surprise, it doesn’t take that much time and preparation! At least a month will do if you are aiming for a simple and intimate wedding.

My fiancée and I realized that the idea of a long preparation is only for those with the luxury of time and resources to spare. But if the goal is simply to get married, it can be done if you just take that step. If you've decided to do it, just do it. Take that first step!

Indeed, wedding preparation is a wonderful season. It is full of surprises! Until next time!

12
$ 6.75
$ 6.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @foryoubtc09
$ 0.02 from @Itsfarah
+ 4
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I attended few weddings already mostly relatives. Yeah, weddings are very hectic. There will always be a delay, a hiccup, etc. But in the end, everything will be all right.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Best wishes in advance for your marriage Have a happy life after marriage with your partner..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much! Means a lot!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are absolutely right, to get to the wedding day, there is a lot to be prepared, starting with mental, physical preparation, and of course money. by the way congrats to you guys.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes. Marriage is more than the wedding. We need to be prepared in all aspects 😊 thanks buddy!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congrats in advance sir for your upcoming marriage, yes when a person is about to marry, there is a mixed emotions like excitement and anxious at the same time. I just wanna share that during our preparations we have fought and almost had a break up,. Yes friction is always, but as always if the Lord is between the both of you, love will surely outgrown.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohh that must have tested your relationship greatly! But glad that you both overcame 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

agree with you.. those who want luxurious weddings need a lot of time

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakastress siguro malala ate hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woah! This is exciting my friend. Congratulation and Best Wishes in advance. 🎉 I noticed it too, that my friends in here are getting married and like Ms. Eybyoung who got married last month.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you! It's nice to know that people are getting married!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh gosh! It seems some of the writers here are getting married and some are already married last month. Good luck bro.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha sunod ka na rin sa byahe! 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Best of luck to your upcoming wedding and advance congratulations! I just got wedded last July 23, exactly one month already and I know how it feels in preparing for the big day.. but both of you get through with it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations Eyb! Soon, mapapalitan ang lahat ng stresses ng relief kapag natapos na ito hehe.

Thanks for the warm wishes! Welcome sa married life sa atin haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also prefer simple wedding. I pray your married life be filled with blessings.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

thanks farah! yes, it's also practical :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago