Stop Procrastinating Before It Stops You

1 24
Avatar for Marts
Written by
1 year ago

While in college, I believed that the closer I got to my projects' deadlines, the more creative I got. So deadlines don't bother me because even if I cram, I still deliver! My motto was, "deadline is the best inspiration."

But things were not the same when I entered the workplace. Deadlines are not suggestions. It can be a "dead-end" if I fail to deliver. As we grow old, we ought to put the PRO in procrastination. 

As a chronic procrastinator, this feat remains a challenge. Though I already have years of experience trying to work ahead of schedule and manage my time wisely, I still need visual and intentional reminders to stop procrastinating. Here are some lessons and hacks that might help minimize the pull of procrastination. 

Five-second rule 

I learned this while listening to Fitz Villafuerte's podcast. The five-second rule goes like this: as soon as you think about a task, you need to act promptly, within five seconds, because if you hesitate, you will lose interest in doing it. 

For example, you're watching TV with your family when you remember you have a pending assignment to do. Decide what to do on that prompting in the next five seconds lest you lose interest, and procrastination will take over. It is a make-or-break, quick-response scenario. 

Five-minute rule

Another learning I gleaned from Fitz Villafuerte's podcast is the five-minute rule. Some tasks tend to be boring. That is why we try to stay away from doing them until later. But this five-minute trick asks us to consider working on it for just five minutes. FOR JUST FIVE MINUTES. After that, it's up to you whether you'll continue working on the task or park it until some later time. 

The rationale is to trick our minds into gaining momentum to finish a pending task within that five minutes. It might work or not, but it is worth trying. 

A visual reminder 

I put my calendar stuffed with deadlines and notes in a very conspicuous place in my work area. It serves as a visual reminder that I have pending tasks to finish and how many days I have to finish them. It also helps me manage my schedule so I know when to decline an invitation and when I can stuff in some more. 

Seeing your calendar often helps you plan even without intentionality. 

Break down tasks into smaller chunks

One reason why we procrastinate is that we get overwhelmed with our tasks. A book project seems more overwhelming than writing 8-10 chapters about a topic. Instead of thinking of a whole house, think of a living room, dining room, two bedrooms, bathrooms, and a porch. It will be less intimidating, and finishing chunks will always feel like a win. 

Tip: Always tick off or cross out tasks you have finished. It will give you the satisfaction of overcoming your giants, that is your big project, whatever that is. 

Celebrate milestones

Celebrating milestones is an effective trick to overcome procrastination because it energizes you to finish your pending tasks. The celebration doesn't have to cost money. If you're at home, you may challenge yourself to take a bath when you finish a chunk of work. Or you can take a quick walk to the pantry for a refreshing drink. How about ice cream or soft drinks? It is up to you! I usually treat myself with naps because it recharges me and prepares me for the next chunk of work. A single anime episode can do the trick too!

Procrastination is a bummer, especially when you see how many accumulated hours get wasted when you procrastinate. But when you learn how to work around your schedule, cramming will no longer be an issue. 

5
$ 2.61
$ 2.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Oikawa
$ 0.02 from @Talon
+ 1
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Thank you. Such a motivation and you gave ideas to me. As for my reminder, I have a board where I stick some notes of the things and tasks that I need to do on specific time. Thanks for this. And yes, I will not let procrastination stop me. 🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago