Presenting: Our Loving Dogs

0 22
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

"The love of a dog is a pure thing. He gives you a trust which is total. You must not betray it." - Michel Houellebecq

I watched a short video on Facebook about a German Shepherd left by his owner in the airport. The dog tried to run after her owner but to no avail. For a long time, the dog waited and waited until she contacted arrhythmia. Fortunately, a little boy took care of her. This lad also lost a loved one, just like the dog. And just when the two are developing a strong bond, the original owner came to recover the dog. It was an emotional rollercoaster! The dog has to choose between the one he once loved and the one who stood for her. But in the end, the dog ran and stayed after the little boy.

Upon researching, I discovered that it is a Russian Film titled "A Dog Named Palma." 

If you are a dog lover like me, you probably have watched other dog-centered story films like Hachiko, A Dog's Tale, and Balto. Dogs are so special! They say dogs are man's best friend. And true enough, because dogs are wonderful furry friends - and more! 

I have two dogs: an Aspin and a Japanese Spitz. They are both energetic and loving. I love it when they wag their tails like crazy whenever I arrive home. They kiss and hug and jump over to get a kiss! I love it when they urge me to rub their belly or their head. Aren't they lovely?

But there is more to them than just being cute furry animals. They are wonderful creatures of love and grace.

"I think dogs are the most amazing creatures; they give unconditional love. For me, they are the role model for being alive." - Gilda Radner

They are creatures of loyalty

Just like Palma and Hachiko, dogs are naturally loyal and loving. They will stick with you no matter what. They don't care about your economic or educational background, your failed dreams nor how bad your day seems. They are loyal creatures, more loyal than any other human I can think of. 

I searched about why dogs are loyal and I was given at least three reasons:

  1. We give them food. Perhaps it's an instinct that you get fond of anyone who gives you something. In the case of dogs, they receive shelter, food, belly rubs, and companionship from their owners. So they just reciprocate it with loyalty. 

  2. They are pack animals. They stick with family, and they consider their owners as family. They never leave their family because they feel stronger when they are in a pack. 

  3. They are capable of loving. In the case of Palma and Hachiko, it hurts to know that they have waited for so long for their owners, especially Hachiko who had to wait for his owner for nine years! There is no other worthy explanation to this than love. Even humans have a lot to learn from them in terms of loyalty and love! 

They guard what is important

Dogs are territorial and are always on alert. Their heightened sense of hearing goes in full effect whenever they hear threats and treats! They bark, they growl, and remind everyone that they are in charge! And when you mean harm towards its owner, you are in trouble!

When it comes to protecting what's important, we can learn a lot from our canine friends. They will fight for the sake of their loved ones. They will guard what is entrusted of them. How are we guarding the things that we deem important to us? 

Final thoughts

Among my favorite things to watch on social media are videos of dogs being rescued from abandonment. These poor creatures only want love from humans but some just give them the opposite. Some dogs were poured with sticky liquid that forever scarred the animal. Some were drowned. Some were smashed with a bat. Some were tricked into abandonment. I can't even imagine the horrors these poor creatures must have felt from humans. They just want to love and to be loved back. 

If animals like dogs can love unconditionally, I believe there's nothing that can keep us from doing so. We can do it even better!

"Such short little lives our pets have to spend with us, and they spend most of it waiting for us to come home each day." - John Grogan

Hi, I am Marts! Aside from read.cash, I also run my blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I plan on growing my readership while learning to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Carpe Diem!

1
$ 0.28
$ 0.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

Comments