How to Respond to an Insult

15 45

It irks me whenever I hear insults whether directed toward me or others. I can't stand hearing people belittle others just because of differences in economic status, physical appearance, educational background, or anything that makes one feel superior to others. While I acknowledge that there will always be a gap to close between people, I also believe that we are not entitled to make others feel so little nor do we have any reasons to do so. 

But insults will always be around. That's a sad reality we have to live by. We are living with harsh-tongued people who do not filter their words and do not even consider what others may feel about their statements. And perhaps at times, we are just like these people! I admit, there are times when I blurt out words I regret saying. And no matter how I try to revert the words, the damage has been done. 

So what I can do now is to watch out for my words. I can no longer take back the insults I have said before, but I can always filter the words that will come out of my mouth next time. 

Suppose we are being insulted, and no matter the intention of the other party, we find ourselves at the end of the stick receiving verbal lashes. How shall we respond? Here are some of the things I can think of. 

Do not take rudeness personally

One thing I do whenever I witness rudeness directed towards me is to not take it personally. I believe that the mean words we say reflect our insecurities and who we are on the inside. When we belittle others, make fun of them, or make a fuzz of something about them - it's because we want to hide something from others. We don't want them to see that we lack something or we are incapable of doing something. When people's attention gravitates towards another person, at least there's a little chance of them looking at us. 

Think of it this way: you are in no way less of a person just because someone insults you. People tend to throw rocks at a prolific tree. Don't give them the benefit of getting entertained by insulting you and getting the best of you. Just brush off their snide remarks. 

Stay calm, even if it's the hardest thing to do

It is easier said than done. As they say, patience is a virtue - because it really is! It is developed over time, and the best way to develop it is to be exposed to situations that will test our patience. 

When a person tries to get on our nerves and squeezes our remaining patience from us, try to increase your threshold a little more. As much as you can, do not play fire with fire. If a person is being rude, try to be gentle. This is not to promote one becoming an emotional doormat, but because you wanted to be the bigger person. And the bigger person is someone who tries to understand the situation that is being thrown at him.

If you can't stand the heat, leave

If you don't want to get scorched, leave. There's no shame in leaving the situation that doesn't bring out the best in you. If the situation drains you out, it's wise to stay away from toxic people. 

Rudeness thrives on attention. If there is no one who will absorb the insult, the rude behavior, and the destructive criticisms, then insults will never take root and grow into full-grown emotional destruction.

It's self-care to stay away from situations that do not contribute to your growth. 

How about you, how do you respond to an insult?

11
$ 7.76
$ 7.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
$ 0.02 from @DennMarc
+ 1
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Whenever I'm insulted, I usually overthink about what did I even do wrong haha. I express myself to someone like ang of my siblings and ask their thoughts about it to calm myself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

that's one good reason to have a healthy support system :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also think soo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

it's hard to give grace when things like this happen but that's what we are called to do!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

a very challenging call :p

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa totoo lang i hate argument so they can insult me they want, magtatahol pa sila jan and I wont mind. Mga ganyang tao ay di na daoat pinaglalaanan ng atensyon ee lol. Pero if minsan di maiwasan na mag react, onw time lang ako magbbgay ng sagot and that's it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

di natin sila bati. lol. pero may mga tao talagang ganun, sakit sa bangs. our only consolation then is kaya sila ganun mambato kasi mabunga tayo :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You know the whole staying calm part is legit a good strategy, also the heat thing but I realised that there are a lot of people. Who just tip the line and they keep on getting worse and worse until you just have to stand your ground.

But the problem is sometimes confronting someone is better than letting it slide or acting grown.

It's almost like cats, they play and play and of you they don't like something they draw the line. Actually a lot of animals do that. But society keeps on telling us that be the bigger person... Well sometimes it's better to be the bad one because they'll never mess with you ever again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes, some people need to be confronted head on. but if nothing happens after that, perhaps it's better to not deal with them anymore

$ 0.00
1 year ago

what's the advantage of having your own website?

facing an insult is very difficult to deal with,. I once faced on e and cannot help but cry.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

nothing, unless it's monetized. it's just for personal fulfilment on my part. I haven't visited and updated my website in months, actually.

insults and harsh words cut deep, especially when it comes from people dear to you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Response in a calm way,because the more you get annoyed the more they will attack you.the best response is silence.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

they get their pleasure from annoying you, so don't give them that

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nako red flag sakin ang mga taong ganyan kuya. For sure, hindi ko na yan kakausapin since toxic people shouldn't be minded.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hehe kapag toxic, ekis agad yan sila. nakakawala ng peace of mind hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago