Marky Stories: Dark Wings

0 10
Avatar for MarkyDaily
3 years ago

Like many provinces who lived in Metro Manila to give the family a comfortable and prosperous life, Pauleen and I were excited when Easter came because we were going home to my native barangay in Bicol. Vacation is not a problem for us because she has not yet given birth to our first child who she is six months pregnant with.

"Carl, I'm terrified and my hair stands on end when I remember the story you told of a husband who roamed your area when you were young", said Pauleen while we were on the bus.

"What are you afraid of?" I asked my wife next to the chair.

"I heard a story that smelled like a baby in the womb", Pauleen replied stroking her bulging stomach.

"It's been a long time", I replied. "And if that story is true, that husband is probably dead!"

As I said, Pauleen felt at ease that because she was not used to traveling far, she leaned on my shoulder to fall asleep. It was late in the afternoon when the bus we were traveling in arrived at our remote barangay near the national highway and because my parents already knew we were coming, a delicious dinner was prepared, fried native chicken called "hubod".

After a hearty dinner, Pauleen and I slept soundly on a mat made of wild plant leaves. But at midnight, he woke me up with a loud shaking, he said he heard the flapping of the wings that he suspected of being the wife.

"To scare the husband, I will make the sound of this whip made of the tail of the page", I said waving loudly the weapon feared by creatures from the world of wonder and darkness.

"I hope that wife left," Pauleen replied. "Maybe when I sleep soundly, slip the elongated tongue into the roof and pull the baby out of my stomach!"

"That will not happen, Pauleen", I said. "All right, go to sleep and I will watch to make sure that plague does not come near you!"

Unable to travel far, Pauleen fell asleep soundly with her rosary shield wrapped around her hand against the creation of the world of wonder and darkness. The next day, I opened the window near the place where my wife heard the flapping of the wings and I laughed at what I saw.

"What the hell did you hear last night is not fast", I said like Pauleen, looking at the banana tree whose heart was blooming. "Big bats burning in the heart of the banana!"

"You are right", Pauleen replied immediately agreeing with what I said.

But even though I made sure that the wing flaps that Pauleen heard last night were not made by the asuwang, I did not prepare the weapon only with the whip of the page, if not even mentally and with a bamboo spear. In the corner of my brain, there is still the stored dread and fear of the created soul which is also called the plague of darkness that was planted deep when I was young.


I have a belief that every writer eventually finds their voice as a writer. We start out in this beautiful moment where everything is possible. As newbies, we’re in it for the stories — not for the complexities of the market. Every good story starts with a spark of inspiration, an idea. What matters to the new writer is not who is going to read that thing, but instead crafting that idea into something people will want to read. Marky stories are not only for children, but adult may want to read this also as if the stories have love, fiction, epic and many more, I'm not only focusing in one theme, because every day, readers want something new, something that is not published before.


Enjoy reading?

Please subscribe it's free and you can also change your mind, if you want to read more please kindly visit my website here: https://markydaily.weebly.com/

Support me via these awesome platforms!;
Read.Cash: https://read.cash/@MarkyDaily
Lbry.Tv: @MarkyDaily


Want to send a letter?

Follow me on noise.cash and comment on the latest post here: https://noise.cash/post/1gmz0jk1

3
$ 2.46
$ 2.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of MarkyDaily
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MarkyDaily
3 years ago

Comments