Commentary: There is no change if you do not change yourself

0 31
Avatar for MarkyDaily
2 years ago
Topics: Commentary

As much as I can, I keep quiet, especially ‘when it comes to officials or politicians. I restrain myself and keep my mouth shut when talking about murders, the fight against drugs, and any other hot issues. I don’t want to be called biased or biased.

My heart bleeds for the families of those who died. My chest tightens because of what I read. The country is full of anger, my heart is bleeding at the soldiers who died in Marawi, it hurts me to see the families who lost their loved ones because of the fight against drugs, innocent or not, they were part of the number of collateral damage and victims.

It is painful to think that most of the Filipino people are already full of anger, where sympathy for our humanity is disappearing. Almost all Filipinos are divided into two colors. Yellow and red. The Bayanihan is slowly disappearing.

In all circumstances, I should not blame the administration. I do not blame President Duterte. But, all I can focus on is myself. In my hands was the blood that flowed in the concrete passages. I am also responsible for the innocent deaths in the fight against drugs. And I am also one of those to blame for the terrorisms that occupied Marawi.

I was responsible for the circumstances, just because I kept my mouth shut. I did not speak about the hardships, violence, and violent events in the country. I just wish I had done something, or I wish I had done something that would have produced a positive result.

I chose to keep quiet and go blind, ignoring the things that needed to be focused on. I just stood in the corner, looking forward to the unacceptable events even as my fellows were suffering. I wish I had done something to make a difference, but, I had to change myself first.

As I write this blog, the only thing that comes to my mind is the blood that has been shed. There was a lot of blood when President Duterte sat down. Although I want to express my resentment about the massacres that are happening, it is unlikely that it will happen just because I am afraid of being reprimanded for being yellow. I am not yellow or red, I am Filipino.

Whatever the Reason, They Are Dead

The massacre in the country since President Duterte took office has reached 7,000. It all happened in just one year. Will I be surprised? Not sure, but what else can I say? I can't wait for the news. All the news that comes out always has a political or biased opinion.

Most investigations into the killings are irrational. He said, the neighbor said, they said, just like speculation. But the sad truth of the events is that even if it is speculation, the victims are still left unfortunate.

Yes, there are criminals who deserve to die, but there is also more that needs to be investigated because it is not yet certain. But for now, there is no process, direct massacre. Criminals are not the only ones involved in the massacre. What about the victims of alleged collateral damage? What about the suspects who have no opponent but have overkill? Those who even fell down were still killed.

Who are you to say they deserve to die? Who are you to dictate to who and can't die? Why do we have to choose the victim of violence and the criminal?

Every Citizen Has Become Full Of Anger

We, as Filipinos, have become hard-hearted by the events. Everyone has lost the ability to empathize. That it was in everyone's mind that the wicked deserved to die, and even got to compare the death of each one. Can't we all just be victims of violence?

2
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of MarkyDaily
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MarkyDaily
2 years ago
Topics: Commentary

Comments