Blog: My Friend's Experience

0 26
Avatar for MarkyDaily
3 years ago
Topics: Series, Short Story, Blog

Since I post a lot of Marky Stories, I would like to post this blog of mine, It's been a while since I posted a blog, yesterday while I and My friend have a conversation, we talk about our old lives when we didn't know each other yet, my friend asks me "Did you believe in superstitions or beliefs", I said "NO" then he tells a story of him.

This incident took place deep in my mind because it related to what I studied when I was assigned to a rural midwife in a remote barangay in our province in the central part of Bicol. Because it is a remote area, there are still many superstitions or beliefs in life that I think many people still believe in remote villages.

Among the things that have to do with superstition or belief in an area that has intrigued me so much are the papers that have been folded up in my view, something important that has been wrapped up. But what amazed me the most was, if something important was wrapped in folded paper, why was it hung on the roof across the stairs where so many people came in and out.

"Which Pacing, what are the contents of these folded papers hanging from the roof across the stairs?" I asked the owner of the house where I will temporarily live while in the barangay.

"My children's navel", replied Aling Pacing.

"Your children's navel?" I asked again.

"Yes", Aling Pacing replied. "Wrapped in the paper by Tandang Goring, the witch doctor, and midwife who gives birth in this barangay."

"You have nine children", I said, after counting the papers folded by the square.

"You are right, Agnes", Aling Pacing replied. "My late husband and I have nine children, five girls and four boys!"

"Why did Tandang Goring wrap your child's navel on paper and hang it across the stairs?" I asked again.

"I don't know", Aling Pacing replied. "I did not bother to find out what Tandang Goring did and I did not interfere because I am sure there is an important reason!"

Because of my strong desire to know the reason for what the witch doctor did and what the midwife did to Aling Pacing's children, I meant Tandang Goring's house because since he was old, he was no longer a witch doctor and a midwife. Even though his eyes were blurred, he welcomed me to their house in a remote part of the barangay.

"You want me to know why I wrap the umbilical cord of the baby I gave birth to on the paper and hang it across the stairs?" Tandang Goring asked.

"Oh," I replied. "I'm so surprised you did that!"

"That is the belief of those who preceded my witch doctor and massage therapist to quickly and comfortably the next births of the landlord", explained Tandang Goring. "And I have repeatedly proven this superstition or belief true!"

Because again, I was very intrigued by what the old witch-doctor and the midwife said, I secretly asked about the births she did in their barangay and its neighbors and I proved it to be true. Currently, I work abroad but I have never forgotten the superstition or belief of hanging the umbilical cord wrapped in paper across the stairs for a comfortable and quick delivery by the homeowner.

This is the story of my friend, It could possibly true or not, because here in the Philippines our native places Like Bicol have superstitious stories, and even events, My old parents also said that to me, but still we can't just believe if we didn't see them, I hope you like this story.


Blog: My Blogs will be here, I thought of making this blog to make some information and also give my experience in life, I also make this as my diary, in this series, I will list my entire experience and some knowledge I know thru writing blog


Enjoy reading?

Please subscribe it's free and you can also change your mind, if you want to read more please kindly visit my website here: https://markydaily.weebly.com/

Support me via these awesome platforms!;
Read.Cash: https://read.cash/@MarkyDaily
Lbry.Tv: @MarkyDaily


Want to send a letter?

Follow me on noise.cash and comment on the latest post here: https://noise.cash/post/1gmz0jk1

3
$ 3.08
$ 2.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @GulaManYOW
Sponsors of MarkyDaily
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MarkyDaily
3 years ago
Topics: Series, Short Story, Blog

Comments